We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thanksgiving Dinner in Quebec - Wow.”
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

As residents of North Hatley, we are very familiar with Hovey and are never disappointed. As Americans celebrating Thanksgiving outside the US, we had a midday feast there today and it was an out of this world wonderful experience. We were met in the Le Hatley Restaurant by our friend Catherine who continues to take the art of excellence in being a Maitre d' to higher levels. Superb, welcoming, and understated. My wife and I had the same meal. The squash soup was a sublime blend of flavors and beautifully presented. The Ballotine of Chicken Forestiere was surrounded by a circle of small fleurettes of Brussels sprouts and potato puffs. Everything was drizzled with a deliciously seasoned gravy/reduction that was so good we had to ask for more to make it last until we were finished. It was an effort to put the fork down, take a pause, and not devour the whole dish too quickly. Dessert was a delectable Mousse au Citron with raspberry coulis and fresh berries on top. We started with a well prepared champagne cocktail and had a glass of fine Quebec red with the main course. Bravo. As a well known guidebook says about its highest ranking - "Worth The Journey". I'll say. We will be returning at Christmas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpdame3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I are traveling a lot and we stay in Relais & Châteaux properties whenever possible - that for over 25 years.
We live only 170 km from Manoir Hovey, and we like the location, so we have been to that hotel a few times over the years - especially since they became part of the R&C group.
This charming old manor is located on a hill, overlooking one of the most beautiful lakes of the Province of Quebec - Lac Massawippi. We had a nice De Luxe room on the second floor - facing the lake. Our room was well appointed. Staff members were welcoming and keen to help.
There was a new sous-chef in the kitchen that Saturday night. Our dinner was the best we had so far at that hotel. Their breakfasts are always great! Try their home-made granola... among other things.
Yes, it is a bit pricey but so are most of the Relais & Châteaux properties; they have to keep a high standard.
Only negative comment...- the old shower curtain in room 20 should be changed asap and perhaps replaced by a glass door (suggestion..).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

taking pampering to a whole new level. visited for a solo getaway and couldn't have been happier, maybe it was my amazing balcony overlooking the lake, my in-room fireplace, jacuzzi bathtub and amazingly soft robe to cuddle up in while munching the chocolates left on my pillow. the dinner was amazing and the service impeccable. can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: lake side superior room is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Manoir Hovey hotel is firmly one of the good ones.

We stayed in their top suite - the Heron - which is in a separate "lodge" on the slopes above the hotel. This worked well; within minutes of a phoned request the reception sent a golf buggy to whisk us down to, or back from, the main building - wonderfully simple and convenient - and the two bedroomed suite was pleasingly comfortable. The surrounding woods could do with a knowledgeable tree surgeon to thin them out which would improve the views of the lake, but that's just being picky!

We wandered around nearby North Hatley and drove round the general countryside and, as newcomers, found the area pleasingly interesting. The hotel fixed a lake boat tour for us with a delightful skipper. A pleasing motorboat and a companionable gentleman - we had a wonderful hour or two with him.

The restaurant was good rather than perfect - slightly fussy food and not quite perfect attention to service detail - but our standards these days are pretty demanding. If Relais and Chateaux standard is your norm then I'd think you'll be pleased rather than overwhelmed; if, as we were some years ago, you're only beginning to enjoy these higher standards then I'd expect you to be delighted with Manoir Hovey which is comfortably in the Relais and Chateaux class.

The staff generally were a delight - welcoming, friendly, keen to help, chatty and effective. We very much enjoyed our stay and I'd be surprised if you didn't find the same level of enjoyment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank incomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After staying at the Relais St. Antoine in Quebec city and having had an amazing stay there by the way, we had high hopes for manor hovey. Disappointed. Upon arrival we were ignored by the front desk staff for several minutes. When they finally acknowledged us they did show us to a lovely room. The parking is on a road, while private did have traffic. The lake was lovely but the stairs down to it were a bit shaky. Well worth it though as we had a lovely canoe paddle.
Dinner was a mixed bag. The food, excellent and we highly recommend. The staff, while very pleasant all seemed to have just started there that week. The sommelier was very knowledgable and helpful. The wine, a tad on the expensive side.
Bottom line. If it were not a relais perhaps we would not be so disappointed, but since it is, north hatley is lovely with many other choices of places to stay.
Again, in Quebec city though St. Antoines! Absolutely fantastic.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank joltinjoe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was to be a surprise birthday weekend, and it didn't disappoint!
However there were a few things for future visitors to note.
This is a very refined property, you don't really go here for a wild party
or a girls weekend away. The average age of the patrons is in the baby boomer
category. Not that I have a problem with that, but it's just best to know before
you go! Our first night we were in room 45, all seemed well, then we went
down to dinner (dinner and breakfast we're included in the price) the food was
mainly local, and quite good, but not necessarily sufficient in the portion department.
The service was spectacular, but to get through the service it took over 3 hours...that
might be something to work on, because it's a bit much. Certain entree's and certain dessert
dishes, had an "add-on" cost... When you charge that kind of price for dinner, my advice
would be that you remove the $10 add on here, and 7$ add on there... It doesn't show well.
Again, service was great, food was good, and the bread... WOW the bread was awesome!!
We retired for the night to our room, everything is clean, things are relatively well spaced out given that this manor was built over a 100 years ago. But one thing that may still be from the original construction, was the BED!!! Both of us were fighting to avoid falling into the middle of the bed because the bed was caving in... Now the reason I still have five stars is because it's in-evitable that problems arise when you operate any business in the service industry, the question is HOW DO YOU REACT TO the problem!! We mentionned this issue after breakfast the next morning, and within minutes, actually before we even got back up to the room, the manager and two maintenance staff were in our room!! And within minutes of that, we were moved to another room, #30 which was a major upgrade to our previous room! Now that's the way you get repeat business!
The Breakfast was buffet, and order one dish. It's a very good meal, and walk-ins can come and have breakfast for $25, which is actually quite good, given the location, and the views on the beautiful lake!
The sit for this hotel is impressive, and you should go if you just want to un-wind. The manor has wi-fi which is fast and dependable. There is a nice library with the original fire place, one thing I would suggest is finding a place to put a spa. I am more then sure that there would be alot of business to be had if you did manicure's pedicure's and massages. I know you can order some of these things, but if you offered them on site, you could benefit from the impulse of it all.

Thank you again to the staff, well done, and we'll see you again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WildLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The accommodations and food are not worth over $500 per night. Stayed in a standard room which was less than adequate. The dinners and service were not up to very high standards. The wine list was terrible with over 90% of the wines well over $100 per bottle. Chose quaffing wines by the glass which I rarely do. The breakfasts were by far the best meals offered. We left there after a two night stay feeling cheated with a bill of over $1100.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innviting, Owner at Manoir Hovey, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We are sincerely sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the cost of your stay with us in early October. This is a little perplexing since you state it was your second visit so you were apparently very satisfied after your first. Our rates have changed very little over the past few years in spite of considerable renovations and upgrades.
You stayed with us in a standard room during peak foliage time when high season rates are in effect. Your rate was $390 per day for the 2 of you INCLUDING your room, fine dinners (amuse bouche, starter, main course, pre dessert, dessert and coffee), full country breakfasts (which you apparently enjoyed), gratuities on these meals and free use of the inn's recreational facilities. After mid-October, off season rates go into effect and this same package rate for the standard room category is now $300.
As proud members of Relais & Chateaux, I can only say that our rates are among the lowest in the world among this prestigious grouping of luxury, small hotels. In many 5 star properties, the rate for the room alone well exceeds the Hovey Manor meals included rate.
With regard to our wine list with over 700 references, it is true many selections of our privately imported wine are over $100. but there is also a good choice of wines starting from the low $30's. This price point is rarely found in top end restaurants in Quebec.
Thank you for sharing your concerns but I do feel I needed to offer a little clarification.
Sincerely,
Steve Stafford
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
267 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
3.2 mi away
Manoir Le Tricorne
Manoir Le Tricorne
#4 of 12 in North Hatley
89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge La Chocolatiere
Auberge La Chocolatiere
#3 of 12 in North Hatley
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.p. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range: $182 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing