We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manoir Hovey deserves all the accolades it receives!”
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manoir Hovey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Manoir Hovey deserves all the accolades it receives!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had privilege of spending work related 3 day 2 night stay overlooking Lake Massawippi at luxurious Manoir Hovey in N.Hatley, about 1.5 hrs stunning fall drive from downtown Montreal. Since we were 8, we all enjoyed decent cross section of offerings for 2 breakfasts, 3 lunches and 2 dinners, all seated around spacious table with incredible fall view overlooking lake. Everyone commented that food and service were simply outstanding and contributed to successful team meetings. From little touches like 3 kinds of salt on table with fresh butter to shmear on constantly replenished fresh baked rolls/bread to water being refilled seamlessly to sommalier(e)s making very good selections based on small wine budget,it's apparent that attention to detail is very important to everyone who works at Manoir.
Extreme praise to Executive Chef Roland Ménard, he's been at Hovey since June 1981. His dedication to his craft is evident in every dish that leaves the kitchen. Budget permitting, we vowed to return ASAP! And if planning an event and are looking for a perfect setting for a small gathering in luxurious accommodation with out of this world food, Melissa and Julia and the Manoir Hovey can do no wrong.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHabsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    146
    59
    19
    5
See reviews for
133
813
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked a one night stay at Manior Hovey because we were looking for a special restaurant and we weren't disappointed! The food is fantastic and the wine is the best I've had anywhere (which includes several three start michelin restaurants). The location is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. The hotel rooms are nice but feel a bit dated considering the cost of staying - I would suggest removing the wall paper and replacing the carpet. However overall it was a lovely evening and would certainly go back for the food!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LrsLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were destined for Ottawa Ontario from Boston for a nephew's birthday party. We needed gentle pampering after too many of life's stresses and decided that Manoir Hovey might fit the bill. So, from Boston, we picked up 93N and followed it through the White Mountains until it spilled into 91N which then carried us through the friendly Canadian border onto AUT 55 and then shortly to a pleasant side road into North Hatley. Signs to Manoir Hovey drew us down a lovely tree lined road to a pleasant little inn strategically perched above a beautiful lake peppered with kayaks and canoes. Our room, the last available, was modest, clean and comfortable. We wondered the grounds, the beach and the woods before dinner, working up an appetite for what was to be one the best meals of our many years together. The next morning, breakfast was a treat, preparing us for the wild ride through Montreal and on to the Capital.

We highly recommend to anyone who loves food, a gentle, friendly, carefree environment in a quiet setting, to try Manoir Hovey.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake with a porch are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

From the minute we drove up to the Manior Hovey everything we needed was at our fingertips. The views were amazing. We had room 19, which I highly recommend. The food was out of this world and the staff were as friendly as they could be. My husband and I are not wealthy hot shots and this was a very special treat for us, but even though we clearly weren't as well to do as many of the other guests we were treated with the same kindness as everyone else. We took advantage of the kayaks and the bikes. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachkat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent three days at the Manoir. All our guesses appreciated very much the place, the service, the food and the ambiance. The weather was great; it helps in a place like this. The only thing is that people were saying is that the price of wine was too expensive.

The Abenaki Room was perfect for the meeting, full of light and some fresh air from outside.

We highly recommend this place anytime. Many thanks to all the Staff.

Room Tip: All very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have returned to this Relais & Chateau. Food this time around was even better. Breakfast, eggs benedict to die for.

Pool and grounds perfect. Pool temperture was 85F.

Overlooking Lake Massawippi is outstanding.

Very pleasant and relaxing stay.

North Hatley village is a gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here 7 times and we can't wait for our next trip. Relaxing is just the beginning. The scenery is spectacular. The food is amazing. We always get a room with a private balcony overlooking the lake. Our biggest decision of the moment is where to sit next to read. Should we sit by the pool, in the garden, on the veranda, on our balcony....so many wonderful choices. When we feel a little athletic we can try our hand at tennis or take a swim or take a kayak out on the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
6.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
184 reviews
8.7 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
478 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orford
224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge La Chocolatiere
Auberge La Chocolatiere
#2 of 12 in North Hatley
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Property: Manoir Hovey
Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing