We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sure bet”
Review of A La Cornemuse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A La Cornemuse
Ranked #5 of 12 North Hatley B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Booked a couple nights as I was on a business trip in the area...comfortable accommodations, friendly staff and savory breakfasts. Harsh Winter no doubt. Was limited to stay indoors most of the time but this place must be great in Summer or when it warms up.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoolCat962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

The historic and charming rooms, view of the lake and great host were all great points - but the special gluten-free gourmet breakfast beat anything in normal hotels and B&Bs.
The theme was centred on bagpipes (cornemuse) and Scotland, but the food and host were French. We loved the place.
Not cheap but the place still gave great value for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobandMaryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a good choice!Everything was perfect. The food:excellent! I wasn't expecting breakfasts with 3 services and so much taste.The room : very comfortable. The host : always ready to answer our questions on the area or make suggestions. He described and explained to us the history of the b&b in a very interesting way. The house inside is simply beautiful! We enjoy the outside as well, on a beautiful terrasse with a glass of wine, after our bike ride. It was our first stay but not our last one. I look forward going back to a la Cornemuse!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Claude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Upon arrival our hostess inquired about whether we had any restrictions in our diets, and the next morning for breakfast, we had a gourmet breakfast that was perfect for both me and my husband. For breakfast the second morning, the host made another delicious meal. Many thanks! The inn is very interesting with lots of references to Scotland, bag pipers and sheep! And the bed was very comfortable. A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a bedroom which had a handicapped accessible shower and we were given a lovely room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Portland_yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Arrived late during the night, no shop or restaurant were open and we were hungry. Host was so kind she offered food even though this is a bed and breakfast only. Never seen such generous host before.

Many many thanks to the hosts. A very clean place, AAA service, rich historical victorian interior well preserved, delicious breakfasts.

I will return for sure and highly recommend that place ! I liked it so much that I stayed for an extra night.

Room Tip: This place is only a 7 min. walk away from the hearth of North Hatley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Often neglected in favour of the Laurentians and especially the Mont Tremblant region, Quebec's Eastern Townships are well worth a visit for a variety of reasons - ski slopes, picturesque villages, charming country inns and, especially for the quaint intermingling of French and English backgrounds and flavours. Typical of such areas is that around Mount Orford and North Hatley. And, for those who haven't the budget for the splendid Manoir Hovey, you might want to try the very special Scottish flavour of "La Cornemuse," which could be translated as The Bagpipe Inn. It recently won the award of best B & B in the Townships. Over a century old, the inn belonged to a Scottish settler called John Gray and was one of many properties he owned in the area. Hosts Jocyln and Diane took it over in 1999 and accentuated its Scottish flavour, with rooms such as St. Andrew's, Mary Stuart, Robert Burns, Edinburgh, etc. with Scottish flourishes throughout. A hearty four-course breakfast (there are 21 different menus) is one of the highlights and they are proud to make it so personal rather than leaving guests to cope with a buffet. They are very helpful about local attractions and have an arrangement with an excellent nearby gastronomic restaurant for a discounted or "forfeit" dinner, of which we availed ourselves and which will be reviewed separately. breakfasts and afternoon tea for groups can also be served outdoors, overlooking the golf course, but atrocious weather prevented us from enjoying that feature. The room was comfortable and if we had any reproach it was that the inn could do with a bit of internal improvement, which is of course tricky and expensive, given its designation as a historic building. All round, though, a memorable and inviting experience.

Room Tip: Try to book a room facing the golf course, such as the St. Andrews, with balcony and sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Many thanks to the staff for making me fell welcomed to your sanctuary, had a great time at your B&B. Clean, beautiful and comfortable. Stroll to the lake after a sumptuous breakfast made my day. Hope to visit again!
Paul

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hatley
1.0 mi away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
1,197 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
La Raveaudiere
La Raveaudiere
#6 of 12 in North Hatley
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge La Chocolatiere
Auberge La Chocolatiere
#3 of 12 in North Hatley
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Cachet B&B
Le Cachet B&B
#1 of 12 in North Hatley
245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Manoir Le Tricorne
Manoir Le Tricorne
#4 of 12 in North Hatley
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A La Cornemuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A La Cornemuse

Address: 1044 Massawippi, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in North Hatley
Price Range: $102 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A La Cornemuse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A La Cornemuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A La Cornemuse North Hatley, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing