We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A La Cornemuse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Manoir Hovey(North Hatley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Motel Le Sabre(Sherbrooke)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Le Refuge(Lennoxville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
44
11
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bdianecomfortpackagebathtubbreakfastpresentationhostess
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 57 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Cornemuse in North Hatley many times during the previous 4 years while visiting our son at nearby Bishop's University in Lennoxville. The rooms are simply but tastefully furnished. There also are comfortable common areas. Our hosts, Jocelyn and Diane, run a quiet and clean establishment and the breakfasts are excellent. We always have enjoyed the charm of this B&B and our warm welcome. There also is fine dining in North Hatley and area and Jocelyn can make recommendations and bookings if you desire.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shower stalls and the others have bath tubs with hand showers.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 155019Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jphabs, Propriétaire at A La Cornemuse, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Our returning guests are certainly a great reward. Thanks for choosing our B & B in your list of "Home away from home" . . .

Diane Brisson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We only stayed one night, but it was heaven. The town itself is quiet, peaceful, and lovely, and La Cornemuse epitomizes the town. The home is decorated with perfection -- furniture and little touches show such attention to detail. Our room was sooooo comfortable! I awoke during the night, and was delighted that I had. We had the window wide open, and it was so quiet. I heard a bird or two and nothing else. I didn't want to go back to sleep! My husband thought the bed was a little too soft, but for me, it felt plush and luxurious.

The breakfast was exquisite, carefully homemade, and delicious. Porridge (Scottish-style), Fresh juice, thick waffles with organic raspberries, and chocolate-filled pastries, fresh-baked and still warm. What artistic presentation. Wow!

The grounds are just gorgeous -- lots of space and comfortable chairs for sitting outside and reading, or just drinking in the scenery. It was hard to leave the next day....

We loved our stay here, and could not have asked for anything more. Perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suelovesbaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jphabs, Propriétaire at A La Cornemuse, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for choosing A la Cornemuse B &B. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us !

Diane Brisson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Katie and I have often stayed at Cornemeuse and feel so much at home, being Celts!Diane and Jocelyn are perfect hosts and tuned in to all things Celtic and .....golf (well, Scotland is the home of golf). The wonderful spacious home 'breathes' Scotland and , if Jocelyn has the supplies, there is a wonderful breakfast of genuine Scottish porridge , whiskey (Aberfeldy single malt) and cream. Diane is gracious and just makes things happen in the background. The rooms include names such as poet Burns, St. Andrews, for example, and each is unique and so comfortable. We would not stay anywhere else in the area and we always long to return. It is a place of peace and rest but redolent of the 'old world'. Ken and Katie, Scotland

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celticfloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have traveled to North Hatley many, many times and this was our 7th or 8th trip to A La Cornemuse. This is the only place we will ever stay. It is truly a paradise. On this trip, my parents accompanied my husband and myself. As always, the hosts, Jocelyn and Diane were gracious, kind and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure our visit was outstanding. The view from the balcony off our room is magnificent - rolling hills, beautiful trees, Lac Massawippi and the golf course. We never tire of gazing at that beautiful view. The only sounds you hear are birds and the wind blowing through the trees. The breakfasts are incredible. The ingredients are local products (including herbs from the herb garden at the side of the B & B) and it is obvious that eating well is important to our hosts. The dinning room is beautifully decorated and overlooks the backyard. Bagpipe music plays softly in the background - the ambiance is wonderful.
If you want elegant surroundings, wonderful breakfasts, truly gracious hosts...and to experience French culture - then A La Cornemuse is the place.
We can't wait to return. "Haste ye back".
Karen and Jeff Blackwell
Oakville, Ontario

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This was our fifth visit to beautiful Cornemuse located in a gorgeous setting overlooking Lac Massawippi. The hosts are extremely hospitable, welcoming and very knowledgeable about what the area has to offer their guests. The rooms are tastefully decorated, roomy and comfortable. If you enjoy exceptional French cuisine, you will love the delicious breakfasts. The hosts use local products and herbs from their own herb garden. We have travelled extensively and return every year to Cornemuse to enjoy the beauty, the peacefulness and the warm and inviting atmosphere. This is truly a jewel...simply the best.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews