We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad by Peace River standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nova Inn Peace River
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peace River
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad by Peace River standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night on a trip north, Hotel caters to oilfield workers and truck drivers. Our room was clean but the whole hotel seemed dirty. Too many trucks parked in the lot near our room coming in and starting up at all hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Nova Inn Peace River, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank-you for your review.
I'm glad to hear that you found your guestroom clean and well kept, and was sorry to hear about the percieved clealiness of the hotel in general.
I would like to assure you that we have taken your concerns seriously and have added a second housekeeping shift on, in order to maintain the cleanliness of those coomon areas in the hotel at all times. Especially during this very busy period.
Thank-you once again for your review. We truly apprceiate it, as we are always striving to meet and exceed our guests expectations. - Mindy Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    12
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
6
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here for a month in March of 2012 for a work related project that was taking place in Peace River. The rooms were average, however the staff was great. The breakfast in the morning is mediocre. There's cereal, milk,fruits, breakfast burritos, and coffee. Overall I would stay here again if i was working out in Peace River, however it's not a place I would want to take my family.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that's not on the side of the bar as it gets quite noisy there at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Nova Inn Peace River, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank-you for your review. It is through feedback such as this that we are able to continue to expand on our customer service and increase our guests comfort.
I am pleased to hear that you had a great experience with our staff and have noted your comments on the breakfast availability. We will certainly look into what other options we can add to it.
Our hotel hosts many families throughout the year and I can also assure you that they receive the same oustanding service and that they are granted a safe environment in which to relax and enjoy the town.
Again, thank-you kindly for your comments. Sincerely, Mindy Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Fantastic place to stay. The rooms are fairly nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nothernworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

several workers filled the nova during the shutdown and am being told for the time being due to a shortage of staff thier rooms can not be cleaned .. but the price still varies between 90 and 140 a night,, One person reported being warned not to complain or could be removed from the hotel,,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

So.... one month of staying at the Nova, pushed me to share this review. Housekeeping once a week maybe twice if your lucky. Not to mention the light switches, main wall by the garbage, doors and knobs were neglected and obviously filthy. The house keeping at the Nova makes BCMI look sanitary. Make sure to re stock all your own towels, sheets and staples from the very friendly night staff. That is sarcasm by the way for that last remark. As for the continental breakfast.... don't bother.... They put out one gallon of milk a day, even when there is no vacancy. I also had the pleasure of being locked out of my room for a couple hours when the batteries in the card reader died. The night staff didn't have any idea where the master key was or what else they could do. Once again management could not be reached to assist with this problem. On a brighter note they were speedy about fixing this problem with lock, four days later..... Yet another issue, they have no on site laundry. So you are forced to use a laundry service that is expensive. One more thing the WiFi sucks! This is the second time I have bothered to use my lap top. The bandwidth is extremely limited, more like rationed actually. Any and all other annoyances with the Nova in Peace River are not worth any more aggravation on my part. Never been more happy to load my truck up and return to my standard of living.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chasowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Hotel lobby reaks of mold! Room is decently appointed with mini kitchenette & fireplace (could really use a side chair though.) bathtub is awesome even though there are cigarette burns in it :( can't blame the hotel just idiot guests! Overall - good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knorthernlyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

I have never been in northern alberta before so I had this image in my head of all oil workers etc. But it wasn't the case... not only was i surprised with how beautiful the town is I was also surprised at the hotel.

The rooms are clean and and pretty spacious. The lobby is really nice as well. The bathrooms are clean and there is even a little mini kitchen area with a fridge and microwave with utensils and stuff. The bathroom amenties are just placed on the counter not even in a little basket or something or on a tray but I guess what do I expect? a 5 star hotel? haha. No.

There is no AC in the rooms... It is a giant machine that is so loud you don't even want to use it anyways haha. And it was pushed right up against my bed. But luckily it wasn't hot outside during the day to actually have to use it, I just left the window open.

I would stay here again though.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank clikypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peace River hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Nova Peace River
Chateau Nova Peace River
#3 of 8 in Peace River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peace River
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn & Conference Center Peace River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Peace Valley Inns
Peace Valley Inns
#8 of 8 in Peace River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Peace River AB
Super 8 Peace River AB
#1 of 8 in Peace River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.5 mi away
BCMInns - Peace River
BCMInns - Peace River
#5 of 8 in Peace River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Inn Peace River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Inn Peace River

Property: Nova Inn Peace River
Address: 8010 100 Ave, Peace River, Alberta T8S 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Peace River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peace River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nova Inn Peace River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Peace Country, 200km from Grande Prairie, Nova Inn Peace River has everything you need to make your stay feel a bit more like home. Conveniently located along Highway 2, Nova Inn Peace River makes you feel welcome the moment you walk through the doors. Whether taking in the stunning scenery or friendly hospitality of our staff, we'll make sure you're well taken care of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nova Inn Peace River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Inn Peace River Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing