We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but to disorganized” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7 Star Sushi & Grill - CLOSED

7 Star Sushi & Grill
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but to disorganized”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

So I've been here a few times the owner is great and hilarious but she had no idea what she's doing half the time! And half the time you don't get what you ordered and the good is very slow coming, it's good sushi when it's not busy, but there Chinese food is not good at all, and everytime I eat here I get sick unfortunately

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Advicefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    8
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, Canada
1 review
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was extremely satisfied with the quality of the food and especially the quality of the Tuna (white especially), used for making sushi. It is exceptional to find oriental food like this in a small town like Renfrew. I noticed in one of the reviews that someone commented on the fact that the restaurant was advertised as 'all you can eat' but came with a 'large side of guilt'. May I point out that many buffet-style restaurants elsewhere now have a similar policy regarding wasting their food. Top quality sushi grade fish and the other ingredients needed are quite expensive and I don't mind being asked if I am sure that I have not ordered too much. It is a good way to control the restaurant's costs and keep the prices reasonable at the same time. And 7 Star is reasonably priced by comparison to other restaurants of the same type in bigger Canadian cities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too much good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very good sushi and Chinese food! I had a hard time choosing because of all the options but I guess that's good thing.
Polite service, flavorful food at a affordable cost. A unique treat for a small town.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone passing by, or to anyone that would like to try something different.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't let the pics fool u like they did me.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was quite disappointed because the other reviews made this place seam really good.I suppose it could be if you have nothing to compare it to. They advertise "all you can eat" but it comes with a large side of guilt. The owner was rude in her coments but then laughs it off as if to make what she said ok.The owner tries to be friendly but I find her to be overtly loud. She got visibly upset when we placed a second order, so much so that the other patrons were looking at us and each other in disbelief. This is unaceptable to me as we were respectful not to wast food and ate moderate- minimal amounts. I came with my fiancé and we both felt she hovered not allowing us to enjoy our meal. They "forgot" multiple items checked off on the menu card ( I suppose on purpose). And we did not receive some items at all! She was pushy trying to up-sale us bubble tea, and a la cart options $$. Her sushi menu looks extensive, but in reality unless you order white tuna or salmon....good luck getting your fish because they don't have it. Instead of owning up to it they just bring you what they think you should have, as if you won't notice? Also the food is inconsistent, portions, thickness shape and size. 3 times I've given 7Star a try and 3 times its been very different but never worth the price $$. The owner is Chinese not Japanese, and that's ok! But perhaps her Chinese dishes are a better value then the sushi & rolls? I suggest save your money or go the extra distance to Kanata. This place is just" ok", if you can't settle a craving.But don't expect to be blown away by the service, food or price. Bummer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OttValleyEatsRiview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We travel from Pembroke/Petawawa fairly often just to get our sushi fix. The sushi is delicious and Annie (the owner) is a hoot! If you are a first-timer, don't be afraid to go - Annie will talk you through the whole process. Depending on how busy the restaurant is, you may have a bit of a wait for your food, but it is worth the wait! And unlike some AYCE sushi restaurants, we have never not received everything we've ordered. If you love sushi, GO!! You will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jode88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Star Sushi & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing