We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't live up to reviews!”

Restaurant la Chaumiere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to reviews!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went to this restaurant last night with my sisters and what a disappointment it was! This is low season so perhaps it may have contributed to our experience. To be fair, some of my family found their main dishes quite good, namely the rack of lamb and the scallops. Unfortunately, the rest of the courses did not match up. The service was slow and inattentive. First course, the butternut squash soup had little flavour and was somewhat watery. I can't say much about my main dish since this was the first time that I had ever order "bravette". Too much garlic on my caesar salad - the fumes overwhelmingly permeated the air. When the creme brulee arrived I was hoping for this last course to rescue at least this portion of the meal. Expecting to taste the warm silky smooth creamy custard instead I was greeted with a granular cold pudding interior.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryA928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best French restaurant in Ste. Agathe des Monts”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

4 of us ate there in Aug of 2012 and it had the best food & atmosphere in town. The quality of food equaled the best in Montreal. It's a quiet place with slow service so you can enjoy the whole experience. Classic french with everything done to perfection

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We found this restaurant through tripadvisor and it is handsdown the best in the whole area. The food is just outstanding, with a very small pricetag. The winelist is very good and features a lot of european choices at decent to very expensive prices. The place is clean, cozy and the service is outstanding. We will be back if we are in the area

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, nice ambiance”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

have visited this restaurant a number of times. The food is well prepared and the menu has good variety. cosy place and this year they added an extension with lots of windows.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, average service”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a delightful meal, and I have no problem recommending. Our only complaint was related to service. Our three course meal ran a full three and a half hours. In that time, our water glasses were refilled once, we poured our own wine (ok - the bottles are not that heavy, but it's a nice touch that's frequently found in lower-priced establishments).

All in all, a much nicer experience than some high volume place looking to push you out the door, but the service could certainly use a little focus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant la Chaumiere also viewed

Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
 
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant la Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing