We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing week-end getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Spa Watel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Spa Watel
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing week-end getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great experience, great food! very nice people! went with my boyfriend for his birthday and the atmosphere was great! stayed in a suite, very nice. The food is very good! enjoyed my stay very much. outdoor spas are a great concept very nice.

Room Tip: do not get regular rooms, the suites are much better, newer, cleaner, better, more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude F, Owner at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Google Translation
Merci Alexandra, nous allons partager vos bons mots à notre personnel, une tape dans le dos, tout le monde aime ça. Lors de votre prochain séjour vous verrez d'autres améliorations dont en autre des lits king au lieu des Queens dans les suites. Observez notre visite virtuelle 360° d'hiver ça vous rappellera votre séjour.

Au revoir et à la prochaine
L. et C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    71
    36
    30
    17
See reviews for
43
200
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mascouche, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

After reading the reviews i have to disagree. I regularly go to Watel with my husband, kids And baby-sitter. We always have a great Time, adultes in the spas and kids in the indoor pool in winter. Plus, we manage to have a great meal. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Place to tryout for everyone and everything in place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude F, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour vos bons mots Annie L.

Si vous revenez pour les activités du Festi-Neige de Sainte-Agathe des Monts les enfants vont adorés! sentier de marche, patinoire sur le lac, piste d'hébertisme et les activités pour enfants et adultes! Des supers Week-end pour tous!

Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau

Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel staff at the front desk were courteous and helpful. The free beach access was nice, especially seeing as it wasn't the nicest of days while I was there and would have been unfortunate to waste money to get in to it. However, the beach was still ridiculously crowded.

The hotel room was decent, but comparable to a Quality Inn sort of 2 star hotel. It was comfortable, but if I'm staying at a 4 star and paying the additional money, I would like to see the quality. The out door hot tub was a nice feature, but again, not really enough to drastically improve my stay. The hotel is far from the town, so going for dinner or anything like that requires you to drive in. The town of Sainte Agathe is nice, but if I were to go back, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here while cycling the Petit Train du Nord with our kids. We arrived late in the day and were not able to take advantage of swimming, games, beach, sailing school, etc. The restaurant was closing early (8 pm) and we had a somewhat rushed meal. Rooms were small but very clean with nice linens and whirlpool bath. A bit musty in general. Might be nice if you were to spend a week. Wasn't good value for a quick stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude F, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for your comments, excuse my english but when you were at our hotel, it was rainning, the beach was close during the weeks, our indoor and outdoor pool and 8 spas were open and heated, your kids staid free and the prices at $130 plus taxes a night is verry low for a 4 stars Hotel

Hope to see you for a week and use your 35$ discount

Au revoir Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back from a one night stay. Staff are very friendly, but a little too much at dinner time. Food was not as good as I expected for a 4 star hotel. The warm spinach salad was bitter and the cream brûlée had the texture of a pudding. The scallops were good. They advertise a four course meal in the package but you have to pay extra for the entree. We had a massage which was very relaxing but she did not take in consideration the knots I mentioned I felt in my upper back. The 4 person spa were appreciated for the intimacy. even though it rained all day it was covered. I asked for a margarita but I think she forgot the tequila :( at 9$ a glass I expected some tequila in it. The staff is very helpful and nice but bar service is hard to get before 3pm. The rooms are very clean and nice. The location is great. Unfortunately we were unable to enjoy more of the activities due to the rain but that is Mother Natures fault. I would recommend this hotel as long as you are willing to pay extra for a nicer meal and breakfast which is not included. This is very rare when you buy a weekend package at that type of establishment. It was very expensive for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issybella00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude F, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour Issybella00,

Je constate que dans l'ensemble vous avez apprécié votre séjour, concernant les repas les déjeuners ne sont pas inclus, ils sont à votre discrétion, les informations à cet effet sont sur notre site web. Vous pourrez essayer notre nouveau menu table d'hôte à compter du 28juin 2013. Merci pour votre recommandation aux autres, nous faisons notre possible pour nous améliorer, notre équipe prend vos commentaires en considération. Heureusement que malgré le mauvais temps plusieurs parties de nos installations qui sont acceciblent sans frais avec votre hébergement.

Au plaisir de vous recevoir cet été

Salutation Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachute, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Each week I spend a night in SPAWATEL for business north of Montreal. With Brigitte and Lise, I don't have to worry, my invoice is always ready, the key is on the table of the room and the air-conditioning is running for me! So I get a good night's sleep doing business the next day in Laurentians.

Some weeks, by coincidence I meet Claude, the owner, and it happens that he pays me a beer. Thanks for that! That philosophising is always good for me, it puts me in a better mood. With the beer, Claude always gives me a personal tip: "John, why don't you relax for a while in the spa before retiring in your room!?" My answer is always the same: "I don't have time for that these days!" Well, my new answer is: "Claude, I made my reservation for a weekend with my wife this summer!" Because with those 7 spas in your place, the all new patio with the traditional scenery of Lac-des-Sables and the biking trails, I can't resist anymore to have some fun in your place! And Anny won't neither.

So, this summer, Claude, I'll pay you a beer and you'll be able to see me in a spa, with my wife. No computer, no mobile: only me and my wife and my bathing suit instead of my suit and tie! Can you believe me?... I bet you a beer!

Thanks to all of you and keep the good work!

Sincerely, John.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude F, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour M. JeanKid,

Merci pour vos mots encourageants et de provocation pour me faire boire de la bière, en effet nous avons atteint une complicité après tes nombreuses visites à notre Hôtel et il est toujours agréable de parler ensemble de divers sujets. Tu travailles fort dans ta chambre plutôt qu'aux spas, mais tu en profiteras avec ta tendre moitié cet été, tu peux lui faire visionner notre visite virtuelle 360° qui est sur notre site internet pour voir nos nouvelles installations de spas extérieurs

Salutations, Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires.

P.-S. Brigitte et Lise te font un bizou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I'm sorry, I read a few reviews on here and I suppose we all
have our standards.
I am not disappointed so much with the rooms, be
they as they may, not the best quality.

What gets me is that it is called "Hotel Spa" of which it is neither.!
The "spa": 2 above ground bains tourbillon which accommodate 4 each.
Under a canopy (not to sturdy looking) that hides any possibility
of enjoying the sun .
Where was the outdoor pool they spoke to me about on phone?.
Oh it must have been the one we saw overlooking the terrasse, the one
covered in snow. I've been to spas in the winter & outdoor pools are
accessible as well.
Equally the indoor tourbillon is in a small room with an elliptical machine,
a treadmill and a bike. Does this mean that for a quiet "spa" atmosphere
people can work out as I soak in the tub about 4 feet away from me?.The
space is not any bigger than that. I wont even talk about the "sauna."

The indoor pool: equipped with an industrial sized filtration motor that runs
ever so loudly situated & visible in the corner, exactly where the
lawn chairs are spread out for you to sit and enjoy some "quiet time"
Where is the nice soft music? the peace one can enjoy at a spa.
Or the relaxing smells of lavender and eucalyptus.?

Now for the "Hotel" part. Hotels have 24hr desk clerk and service.
They don't close their office and shut down the front desk at 11pm.

Its all about the nice details, plastic flowers don't cut it for me either.
As well, it doesn't cost much to have a pot of coffee running for the guests.
If you want recurring customers it truly is in the detail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude F, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Watel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Google Translation
Il est bon de comparer des pommes avec des pommes, car vous avez opté pour une chambre supérieure à prix moindre. Tout est compris dans le prix des chambres. Notre publicité ne mentionne pas que la piscine extérieure est ouverte l'hiver. Le petit spa est un atout pour notre clientèle y séjournant. Personne de l'extérieur ne peut venir dans nos spas et piscine intérieure sans hébergement. Nous avons affiché que d'autres spas seront installés au printemps pour le confort de nos clients

Lise et Claude Fleurent, propriétaires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Agathe des Monts
7.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge du Lac des Sables
Auberge du Lac des Sables
#4 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
19.1 mi away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#2 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Watel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Watel

Property: Hotel Spa Watel
Address: 250 rue Saint-Venant, Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec J8C 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte Agathe des Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sainte Agathe des Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spa Watel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Spa Watel is an establishment with 31 cozy rooms: 10 with fireplace and therapeutic bath for two. You will find all the conveniences needed for a very pleasant stay: private bathroom, telephone, colour cable television, high-speed Internet, air-conditioning, whirlpool bath, safe, hairdryer, etc. This quality hotel provides a panoramic view of Lac des Sables and the beautiful Laurentian mountains. The Hôtel Spa Watel is located next to the famous theatre Le Patriote and a superb public beach. Relax in one of the four massage therapy rooms or enjoy the indoor and outdoor heated pools, the indoor and outdoor spas or the dry and wet saunas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Spa Watel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spa Watel Sainte Agathe Des Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing