We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent quebecois experience”
Review of Le Rio

Le Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: Southwestern, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Rio Restaurant, located in the heart of St Sauveur des Monts on 352 Rue Principale, is the home of the “Best Baby Back Ribs in the Laurentians”. A favourite of locals, the Rio offers mouth-watering fresh home-cooking, including fall-off-the-bone Baby back ribs, and the famous Rio Brisket Sandwich, Confit de Canard, Chicken Supreme, Filet Mignon, Crevette Papillion, and Filet Doré, and a long list of appetizers that will surely tempt your palate. The outdoor terrace or cozy interior and friendly staff will help make your visit a dining experience to remember.The Rio’s Promise to You; As the owner of The Rio, we are responsible for choosing the ingredients that go into your favorite foods. We have chosen to use only the finest ingredients available. We start by making our products in-house every day. Our sauces are handmade in small batches using the best bases available. Premium baby back ribs, fresh chicken, fresh mushrooms, premium calamari, are a few of the examples of choice ingredients we use.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent quebecois experience”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we live in Ontario but recently purchased a vacation property in st saveur valley and have now eaten 3 times at Rio and have been very impressed each time The food is delicious, the ambiance tremendous and the owner Mitch very welcoming. We love it there and will certainly be returning regularly. I can't wait to experience it in the summer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hey Andrew
Thanks for the review, we believe at Le Rio that all our customers are like family, getting to know them is part and parcel of our business, and we all really enjoy what we do.
Terrace in summer is really an experience, families love it, and very easy going, relaxing and most of all outdoor dining is special with family and friends. Say Hi to Sharon..
A Tant Tot
L`Équipe Rio
Mitchel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    110
    25
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Level Contributor
262 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“RIBS ARE TO DIE FOR YUM YUM AND SERVICE AMAZING”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

What to say we were greeted very nicely i think its one the owners. Extremely friendly guy and is amazing at dealing with customers ( we heard him talk to others and wow thats what you want from an owner) also our waitress i think her name was Isabelle was amazing and kind. Every restaurant should have her and the owners should appreciate her. EXTREMELY friendly always smiling and kind and helpful. The ambiance was gorgeous we sat infront of the window which was great. I will always ask for that table. The food was AMAZING i think the best ribs i have ever had and the bbq chicken was greay aswell. The fries and salad good too. No complaints at all. VEry well priced and you get great size portions. I like in the west island but for sure will drive back just for the food and service. Its very hard to find a restaurant that offers top notch 10 on 10 food and to find a restaurant that offers 10 on 10 top notch service as well now thats RIO. HIGHLY RECOMEND wherever you are its worth the drive. I Will be back. Thank you guys.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank silent_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Silent
Wow.... What a great review. Isabelle and I and L`equipe Rio Thank You.
We are all a team and that is what makes Le Rio Very Special.
We at Le Rio are here to make absolutely sure your dining experience is one to remember, as well as ours to remember our special guests.
Cheers
Mitchel & Équipe Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Best Ribs ever!!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Little cosy place. The owner greets you and make's you feel welcome. We read some great reviews on their ribs so we decided to try them and let me tell you they are awesome!!!! My boyfriend is a big fan of ribs and has eating ribs in a lot of different restaurant and he gives these ribs 5 stars!!! Got to try them you won't be disappointed. And everything on the menu is affordable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lbmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for Choosing Le Rio for your dining experience. We at Rio Restaurant really take pride in our customers and making sure you have the best dinning experience possible.
Thanks for your review as it is important to us.
Cheers from Le Rio Happy Valentines
Mitchel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I will go again for sure!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

For the price, you can't go wrong. The ribs are excelent, I highly recommend them, with the spicy mayo for the French fries.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B1llyB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for the review, it was an absolute pleasure to serve you and, hope to see you both real soon.
Équipe Rio Mitchel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC food in a family-friendly atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were staying in Montreal for a few days and wanted to go see a small ski town, so we took a trip to St. Sauveur. We chose to eat at Rio because of the wonderful reviews and they are correct! This was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had! The food was incredible (best ribs and french fries ever) and the owners were some of the nicest people we have ever met. You truly feel like you are part of the family when you come in. We will always have wonderful memories of this night, and we can't wait to return one day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dcvisitor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear DC Visitor and Family,
Thanks so much for the great review, we appreciate your compliments and never take anything for granted. We from The Rio wish you and your family, the very best Health and Happiness and Happy New Year 2014 and beyond......Hope your trip back was safe.
See you Soon.
Cheers and Happy Holidays.
Équipe Rio
Mitchel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rio also viewed

Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Le Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing