We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels just like home”
Review of Le Rio Restaurant

Le Rio Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Rio Restaurant, located in the heart of St Sauveur des Monts on 352 Rue Principale, is the home of the “Best Baby Back Ribs in the Laurentians”. A favourite of locals, the Rio offers mouth-watering fresh home-cooking, including fall-off-the-bone Baby back ribs, and the famous Rio Brisket Sandwich, Confit de Canard, Chicken Supreme, Filet Mignon, Crevette Papillion, and Filet Doré, and a long list of appetizers that will surely tempt your palate. The outdoor terrace or cozy interior and friendly staff will help make your visit a dining experience to remember.The Rio’s Promise to You; As the owner of The Rio, we are responsible for choosing the ingredients that go into your favorite foods. We have chosen to use only the finest ingredients available. We start by making our products in-house every day. Our sauces are handmade in small batches using the best bases available. Premium baby back ribs, fresh chicken, fresh mushrooms, premium calamari, are a few of the examples of choice ingredients we use.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister, a friend and for a ride Up North and we decided we would stop for food. We had the fortune of stumbling upon this gem of a restaurant! The food was scorching hot and absolutely delicious (however neither of us tried the ribs). The atmosphere is cozy and relaxed, you really feel like you're at home and you are treated as family by all the staff. Very reasonably priced, we were very impressed by this restaurant. The Manager kissed my sister on both cheeks and shook both my friend's hand and mine - the way your uncle would. We would definitely recommend this place and we will definitely be back to try those succulent ribs!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonmtl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_rio, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi Jon:
We are pleased all was just like home.
Thank You for your thoughtful review and we hope to see you real soon,
Equipe Rio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 519 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

They say that they have the best baby back ribs, period. And that is what they delivered to us on that night. Great food, friendly staff, reasonable prices, good atmosphere. Pretty cozy and laid back. The only negative point and that is a very minor one, it took some time for the waitress to acknowledge our presence once we were seated, enough that we were wondering if they had forgotten about us because the place wasn't that busy. After the initial contact it all went very well and we had a great night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georges_Payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_rio, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi George;
Thank you for being patient and I do remember you as I believe I went to see you, and made sure waitress did serve you immediately, as we were very busy that noght. I am happy all was excellent and turned ok . On behalf of our team Rio. Thank you and hope to see you soon.
Mitchel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

by far the worst resturant i ve eat at in st sauveur went there cause trip advisor .a plate of burnt fries ,way overdone dried and greasy fish the other dish was even worst.i ve eaten at 5 other restaurants on this list 100 times better .i think this system is in accurate

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rickt427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Rick:
Thank You for your review, we at The Rio Apologize for your experience at Le Rio.
It is surprising that all your dishes were not to your satisfaction. What was the other meal?
Did you inform waitress of the problem? Our policy is simple, not to your satisfaction we replace dish or dishes and or credit meal. The waitress I am sure came over when you started meal and asked if all was ok, as this is the way we do business, I appreciate your review and will look into this with our staff and again our apologie. As a token, we will offer you a complimentary meal.
Call and ask for Mitchel 4502400864.
Equipe Rio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We chose Le Rio primarily because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. They were right. This is a great place to eat in Saint Sauveur. If you are looking for a classy, high priced restaurant to impress your girlfriend, this is not it. If you are looking for a nice, homey place with great food at a good price, this is it.
We had the Table D'Hote, The soup and salad were good but I've had better. The escargot were "to die for" and the ribs and fries were wonderful. Dessert was good as well (better than most restaurants but not as good as at home). however, most people go to this restaurant for the ribs and they are worth the trip.
The food is good and there was more than we could possibly eat (took ribs and fries home for tomorrow). The price is reasonable for what you get.
As per other reviews, the manager does come around and talk to you (very friendly; very nice). When we left he shook my hand and kissed my wife on both cheeks.
If you are in or near Saint Sauveur, go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchelg53, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi Randy:
Thank you so much for your review. as an experienced contributor to Trip Advisor, 138 Reviews quite impressive. We at Le Rio appreciate your comments, and hope to see you again.
Thanks Again
Équipe Rio
Mitchel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found Rio in the Lonely Planet guide to Canada and it didn't disappoint.

We had a great meal with wonderful service and were pleasantly surprised by the bill.

We were eating early in the evening (early start the next day) and the restaurant was just starting to fill up as we were leaving, but although there were few people dining whilst we were there, the atmosphere was friendly and staff were welcoming.

We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DevonJennywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_rio, Owner at Le Rio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear DevonJennywren;
Thanks for the review, we hope you will be back and visit real soon,
Équipe Rio Thanks You.
Mitchel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rio Restaurant also viewed

Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Le Rio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing