We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night out”

Restaurant Le Vieux Four
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
mille-isles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice night out”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A simple nice night out. Nothing spectacular, but good food. Some items cost too much and others were good value. Overall, it was o.k.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank PeterCarolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    61
    34
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good, polite and helpful staff”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

One of the cheapest place on the main avenue, and yet a little bit expensive given the meal. The price is easily forgiven when you sit by their large windows on a sunny day. We enjoyed our meal a whole lot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank melt_core
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“An average restaurant with good pizza.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very average restaurant, not what you would call upscale in the slightest. The service was fast but not overly friendly or attentive, probably because most of the wait staff is really young and seemed to have a devil may care attitude, joking amongst each other and seemingly visibly annoyed with the criticisms of the table next to us.
Another gripe was the tables are just set too close together making you privy to your neighbors conversations and not leaving much elbow room to eat. I know these places get very busy, but a little respect for patrons would dictate leaving adequate space between tables.
The thin crust pizza was very good though, especially The Lavalloise which featured shrimp and green peppers.
It was ok, but given the choice of great restaurants in the area and the Vieux Four's attractive exterior facade I was expecting more. It's a casual environment with decent food, nothing more, and there are far more interesting places to eat in the vicinity.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricJMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very average Italian but it seemed to be good for the pizza.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were 11 people and wanted to reserve but we couldn't. Told us to be there at 6m and we should be ok. Luckily we got there at 5 and there was already a lineup.the waiter was really nice and helpful. As for the food: the lasagna seemed as if it had been microwaved, the gigi pasta sauce was too acidic (almost like the pizza sauce with cream) the veal marsala and chicken Parmesan was also nothing to speak of. However the Pizza El Jardino was good as was the pasta primavera. Although it came with chicken which they removed because the person was a vegetarian. In place of the chicken they stuck a piece of cauliflower. it was just wrong. wouldn't go back unless to try the pizza. We all came out of there feeling a bit let down.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
483 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Our weekly spot”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Whenever we arrive at our cottage, we always go to le Vieux Four for a Pizza.
No surprise. Affordable. Very good service.
Great place to take our young grand children,

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Vieux Four also viewed

Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Le Vieux Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing