We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to our favourite restaurant?”

Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: de la Gare
Description: Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill is a friendly Celtic Pub that caters to customers looking for a cozy atmosphere. We have 20 beers on tap and an amazing array of delicious meals prepared with only the freshest ingredients. We are not your typical pub and take pride in everything we put on our plates! Since 1996 we have been bringing great evenings and even greater food to our clients.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What happened to our favourite restaurant?”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went the Pub for dinner on May 9th, looking forward to our favourite Bangers & Mash and Fish & chips. We parked right in front and coudn`t help but notice that the entrance was littered with debris, and cigarette butts. Not a very appetizing start.The snow had melted several weeks ago with plenty of time for a major cleanup,which had never happened. We also noticed that the floor under our table also had not been swept of old crackers and food. Ugh! Our food was tasteless and dry and seemed to have been rewarmed in a microwave or sitting under a heating lamp. The beer was warm. What happened to Old Orchard Pub that was clean, friendly , with fresh and tasty food? New management ? This just won`t do !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanapiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natdev84, Front Office Manager at Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review. I was really sorry to hear about your experience at Saint-Sauveur. I can assure you management has not changed and we are focusing all of our attention on keeping our pub the go-to destination in the village! We will certainly look into the debris at the front of the building along with why the food was not as tasty as any of your previous visits. Thank you again for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mostly bar food, but good, just don't be in a hurry or with tired kids.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Definitely bar food, but good. Seven of us ate here for lunch, ordered nacho appetizers, burnt on top and terribly bagged nacho chips, don't bother ordering if you are from the USA and know what real nachos are. Hamburgers were good Canadian poutine style fries, Caesar salad is not very good, the dressing tastes like mayo, not Caesar. The rosemary pork chop was pretty good, thick cut but a bit fatty. Mashed potatoes were good. The wings were good and served with fries. Service was slow considering there was only one other table filled. Ate here before and had the mushroom soup plus fish and chips, I should have had that again it was good before. Prices were a little high for bar food, but probably because of area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morin Heights, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Okay, happy hour special was good”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went to this pub on my b-day last week. We were lucky to snag the last of the 3 available booths, for some reason, they closed an entire section off, I guess there isn't much business on a Thursday evening. I ordered the fish and chips - lots of batter, soggy fish, the fries and tartar sauce were good. My bf ordered the cheeseburger, he said it was average. Our beers were good, we had domestic beers on tap because they were half price (I think that was the special).

Now the typical problem I encounter...I'm English speaking. Our waitress did not give either of us the courtesy of responding to us in English, even though she was serving an obvious tourist couple in the booth to our right, and an elderly anglophone couple seated at the table nearest to the kitchen. Strange, but still insulting. Based on her service mainly, and the soggy fish/mediocre burger, I'm giving this pub a poor review. It's a shame though, there aren't too many places that have a pub-like atmosphere up north where we live. An English style pub sounded potentially fun...maybe we went on the wrong day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natdev84, Front Office Manager at Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are really sorry to hear about your experience at our location. I am saddened to hear that you were not served in the language of your choice. We are a fully bilingual staff and promote speaking in both our official languages. As for the food, I am surprised to hear you did not enjoy as to as you can see from other reviews this is where we really excel! I would love to hear some more about your visit so we can work on correcting the issues you mentioned. I can be reached at info@yeoldeorchard.com - please get in touch at your convenience. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morin Heights, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pub food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went to this pub 5 times in the past months with friends and family and always had a good time. Had the burger and some capon wings which were really nice. The staff is friendly and the service is quick enough, no complaint here.
It was about time St-Sauveur got a nice pub to hang out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caro450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went there twice while visiting St. Sauveur. Both times food was excellent. Service was awesome. Our waitress, Marie-Claude, welcomed us with open arms, she made us feel at home and gave us excellent service. We will definitely return to this restaurant. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 412Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill also viewed

Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec
 

Been to Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing