We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Sanctuary”
Review of Le Petit Clocher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Petit Clocher
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days mid Aug 2013.
From the moment we stepped out of the car we were in awe.

Richard met us at the door and with charm told us the history of the Inn.
The Inn overflows with charm and class. Our room (The Chapel) welcomed us with a chilled glass of white wine and chocolates. Everything from the softest linens to the painted ceiling beams were pure delight.

Breakfast was brought to your room, and was delicious.

Our day was above anything we had imagined. I would highly recommend.

St Sauveur is a charming village with good restaurants, art galleries and boutiques.

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Chapel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

It is a very charming B$B, nicely decorated, with rooms clean and causy with a nice view towards Saint Sauveur valley. The breakfast is served only in the room but very well furnished, with a wide choice of stuff. Not too far from the main street of Saint-Sauveur where you have many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fdormoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was our best romantic getaway in maybe 5 years.
Clean nicely designed bedroom, living and dining rooms, whispering trees and nice spectacular view outside - all are there. Even rain didn't spoil the moment we were sitting in the hot tub all evening enjoing the rain. Breakfast was excellent too!!! Highly recommended!

Alex & Nadiya from Toronto.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I were guests at Le Petit Clocher in Saint-Sauveur for our anniversary. It is a wonderful B+B. Really more than a B+B, it is a country inn. It certainly merits the 5 soleils it has received as part of the B+B classification in Quebec. It is a former monastery that has been converted to a guest house and has 7 rooms, each beautifully and uniquely decorated. We stayed in Le Cardinale which you can guess was decorated with red accents, but we had a chance to look in most of the other rooms and each was equally nice, some were even suites, and each has its one private bath, a must IMHO. The service is excellent. Noteworthy was the sumptuous breakfast -- brought to our room! The view and grounds are also beautiful, situated as the inn is on 11 acres. Saint-Sauveur is also worth discovering and is much more than the factory stores near the highway. It has lovely restaurants and boutiques and is a charming day trip from either Ottawa or Montreal. We will definitely be back to Le Petit Clocher! OH and I almost forgot, you are welcome with wine and chocolates (which seemed homemade, like the breakfast).

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous, you can't go wrong! Some are suites though so if you prefer somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerriH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I travel from Australia regularly to Montreal to visit my family and we always stay at Le Petit Clocher. The location is perfect, the rooms and the house are exquisite and the host is just wonderful person; Not only is he the consummate professional but is also a terrific guy who loves to enjoy a coffee with his guests and give of his knowledge of the local area. Whether you are travelling to the Laurentians for a romantic weekend or a longer stay in that beautiful part of the world for skiing, the colours, or to enjoy a lazy summer, you will not find a more centrally located, beautiful property than LPC. On top of all of that, your host lays the most exquisite breakfasts every morning for his clients, which is just the perfect way to start the day in a perfect part of Canada.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank canalia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The most spectacular view on the St-Sauveur valley, the host was very welcoming, beautiful interior decor, very clean quiet and comfortable room. Walking distance from main street, boutique, restaurant, ski station etc... The breakfast at Le Petit Clocher are spectacular and excellent. Beautiful getaway.

Nicole et Daniel
St-Lazare

Room Tip: La chapelle room is a very large room on the first floor with a canopy bed and a complete private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daniel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! First and foremost, the host, Richard, is amazing and defintely worth returning for just to know you are in his thoughtful hands when you are trying to get away from it all. So polite, gentle and courteous, never imposing on our time but open to conversation or information if we needed, in our short overnight time he just won us over so much with his quiet gratiousness and the personal touch of shaking my hand with both of his and kissing me on the cheeks as is the tradition in Quebec, that I wanted to give him a big hug when we left... which makes it just so much more rewarding than booking anonymously out of a busy hotel that says "thank you and hope you will come back again" so... move on.
With only 7 rooms, Le Petit Clocher is definitely a better choice if you want to get away from it all and enjoy the tranquility of being in the country hills of St. Sauveur, but still have some of the luxury and care, with a rustic and warm-hearted touch. It is somewhat secluded, being in the hills, with a nice view of the valley and the ski hill so we didn't have the feeling of being surrounded by shopping outlets and the busy streets where most of the other hotels are. After a great day of skiing, we were surprised that there was still a lot to do when we got to the B&B. Richard met us at the door and gave us a 60 second fascinating history of the building before orienting us to the slippers in the mud room to run out to the hot tub with and pretty much everything else that would make us feel, pretty much, like the most special guests in his home. The hot tub was great, in the quiet of the woods while it was snowing, with powerful jets to ease the muscles after a day of ski or... shopping! And we were lucky enough to have a huge amount of snow so we could freely snowshoe through the vast forest beside the inn for hours after our check-out time the next morning. You could book an extra day just to explore all of the antiques and tastefully-chosen quaint country knick knacks that cover almost surface, and find candy bowls tucked here and there, or even just to sit in the common room and crack into the assortment of walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts provided in a huge bowl by the fireplace. It seemed like every square foot of the place took a lot of thought and care to make it a visual discovery and a pleasing treat if your eyes wandered enough.
We had the room right under the Clocher/Steeple, which had such charm and comfort, with dozens and dozens of pillows and cushions to always feel nestled wherever you were in the room. We went mid-week after a huge snowstorm, so it was quiet enough to explore the other rooms which were open to view the decor. Each had its own theme and personality so it would be hard to favour one over another.
I would join every other reviewer in saying that the breakfast was incredible, but you really have to experience it yourself to believe it, because I didn't believe it until I saw it and thought the reviews didn't give it enough credit. All I have to say is: Dont be in a hurry to leave in the morning before the normal 11am checkout and hope to be hungry enough to leave your diets at home and enjoy its indulgent healthy sweetness.I can eat a lot in the morning nornally but I felt guilty that I couldn't finish my portion, let alone the additional rasberry strudels and even chocolate cookies that came as dessert!
With so few rooms, this is definitely a great place for quiet romance, indulgence and quiet. I'm usually an anonymous hotel patron, but Le Petit Clocher is the place to go to get the "real retreat". Even though it wasn't busy with guests when we stayed, the ambience encourages tranquility, so we still enjoyed speaking in quiet soft tones in our room which allows couples to discover and enjoy intimacy again which hotel rooms cannot offer. So find a quick getaway night and get your partner out there and re-connect in your busy lives, and it quit enough to make new real friends if you wish. It will definitely be worth every dollar.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to have its pros and cons. Bigger and more beautiful rooms might be in higher traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Sauveur des Monts
1.0 mi away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel St-Sauveur
Hotel St-Sauveur
#1 of 5 in Piedmont
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#4 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
#6 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Sous l'Edredon
Auberge Sous l'Edredon
#1 of 7 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Domaine Nymark
Domaine Nymark
#1 of 3 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Clocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Clocher

Address: 216 ave de l' Eglise, Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec J0R 1R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint Sauveur des Monts
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Sauveur des Monts
Price Range: $174 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Petit Clocher 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable BED & BREAKFAST. This converted monastery offers haut-de-gamme lodging and refined, comfortable rooms with truly unique style. Perched above the valley floor at the heart of Horeb's mountain and encircled by apples trees and centennial maples,this B&B, Le Petit Clocher, offers a unique and unforgettable panoramic view on the entire St-Sauveur Valley. A warm northern countryside experience awaits you at Le Petit Clocher, Saint-sauveur, Québec, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Petit Clocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Clocher Saint Sauveur Des Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing