We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place! Will definitely be back”
Review of Relais St. Denis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais St. Denis
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place! Will definitely be back”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Beautiful place, great service and so relaxing! Spent time swimming, in the hot tub, relaxing in the room and getting the best massage I've had in a long time! There were three of us and the suite had plenty of room for all of us.
Everyone there was very helpful and polite. The hotel is very clean - everywhere from the room to the swimming pool / hot tub area.
I had a great weekend. The next trip is going to be in the winter time so I can experience the heated swimming pool surrounded by snow!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    65
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
36
71
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed here for two nights in July 2011 to attend a wedding in the area. Le Relais St. Denis was significantly cheaper than the hotel where most of the other wedding guests were staying, but it was just as convenient. The room was enormous; it included a very comfortable queen bed and pull-out couch, as well as a little kitchenette and large bathroom. The decor is a little dated (very "country"), but the bed was comfortable and the room was extremely clean. Unfortunately, I didn't have time to enjoy the spa services, but the pool area was lovely. I was lucky to have the large hot tub to myself for an afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bri99su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here for two nights as part of a bicycle trip through the Laurentians with my son. They have a locked bicycle room which is handy. Rooms were fantastic! Queen bed with a queen murphy bed. Flat screen tv, stereo (piped into the washroom), dvd player, mini fridge, microwave, and a coffee maker. Nice grounds with a pool and hot tub. Right across the street from a large Loblaws. 7 minute walk to the heart of downtown St. Sauveur or a 7 minute walk to the Parc Aquatic at the ski hill. The only drawback was the restaurant was closed but there are 50 restaurants within a 5 minute walk so don't worry about it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, you won't be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc_Mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Booked here mainly based on TripAdvisor reviews. Sorely disappointed - decor is sorely outdated, room amenities are old, mattress thin and uncomfortable. The walls paper thin. Bar area closed on a Friday night. All rooms appear to have a view of the parking lot (west facing) - not the stunning mountain to the east.

If this is the best place in Saint-Sauveur, it speaks leagues about the general poor quality of Saint-Sauveur accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oogli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Was here first time in 2008, absolutely wonderful. Came back second time in aug 2010, very mixed feelings. There are some obvious management and personnel rotation problems. Spa and restaurant was closed, maid "forgot" to do the room at the end of the first day, loud air conditionner, absolutely lousy bed (until we changed room). Personnel is extremely nice and courteous though. Hotel was renovated in 2008 and still looks extremely good, but maintenance is lagging a bit. Management has changed 3 times in the last year (as I was told), and it shows. First room we got did not have a security latch, just a simple locking door knob that could be opened with a credit card. Recent painting on door frame was badly botched, A/C pretty loud, and the bed in our first room was absolutely horrible, both lost sleep on first two nights. The personnel told us all beds are identical and new from the last renovation, but when we looked at another room, the bed was in that one was absolutely wonderful (as our first time in 2008), obviously not the same type at all. Too bad personnel did not know about this. 2nd room did have a security latch, but the A/C was EXTREMELY noisy, the wooden bed frame squeaked, the breaker blew while using the microwave, the fridge was warm, and light bulbs had different hues (some blue/white and some yellow) which made things look very strange. Don't get me wrong, everything else is very nice though, all still new, clean, looks like the pictures, very nice pool / jaccuzi / garden / steam room, very well decorated, fireplace in each room, large bathroom with private jaccuzi (working very well), enchanting. This hotel has great potential, the personnel is extremely courteous and attentive, but it has some very obvious short-term maintenance and management issues. Regular room inspections and maintenance would get this place top ratings, but otherwise it could run down very quickly. Mixed recommendation, you could be severely disappointed if your expectations are high and get a bad room, but you could also find it a real gem wanting to come back if things get fixed or you get a good room!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guysab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Interestingly, when we walked in I was a bit nervous as the lobby is nothing and the furnishings/decor inside were dated and dark. That being said, it turned out to be lovely. The room was so cozy for my husband, daughter and me. Great kitchenette and a large new bathroom. The pool, hot tub and garden area was an oasis after a day of sightseeing or just a perfect spot to have coffee in the a.m. Great location. Just a short walk from Rue Principale where all the shops and restaurants are. The proximity to the grocery store was perfect for any random needs. Nice spot midway between Montreal and Mont Tremblant. The primary downside is the staff wasn't helpful in giving sightseeing or restaurant traveling tips, at all. However, I'd recommend it in a minute as a perfect place for a couple of nights if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerdebjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

the website pictures conceal a hotel with an aging facade and very dated interior.on some of the floors, i found fist-sized holes in the walls which were strategically covered up by the hotel staff with whatever they could get their hands on - can't say i blame them. room was fine, but certainly not what you would expect for a suite. for $159, it featured a queen bed and murphy bed, both of which were quite comfortable, and a kitchenette, which was more like a very small area with (sloping) beer bridge, microwave, and sink. given the location and time of year, this hotel is not ridiculously overpriced.
the main highliight, without a doubt, was the outdoor pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Sauveur des Monts
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#4 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St-Sauveur
Hotel St-Sauveur
#1 of 5 in Piedmont
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
#6 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Le Jolibourg
Motel Le Jolibourg
#3 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Petit Clocher
Le Petit Clocher
#2 of 7 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais St. Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais St. Denis

Property: Relais St. Denis
Address: 61 Rue St. Denis, Saint Sauveur des Monts, Quebec J0R 1R4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint Sauveur des Monts
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saint Sauveur des Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais St. Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais St. Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Denis Hotel Saint Sauveur Des Monts
Relais St. Denis Saint Sauveur Des Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing