We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint Thomas
stevenash12
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stay away”
Reviewed November 23, 2008

avoide staying here at any cost. This hotel is in middle of no where. Desk clarke was sleeping at night. Sheets had very red stains on them. Hard as rock beds.

  • Liked — shower
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenash12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN005, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Dear stevenash12,

I apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay at our hotel.

We have made many improvements and upgrades to the hotel including complete renovations in all of our public areas, new linens, new towels, new pillows, new bedspreads, upgrading furniture and more.

We would welcome the opportunity to prove to you our committment to guest satisfaction. Simply call me directly at 519.633.4082 the next time you are going to be in our area and I will take care of your stay.

Sincerely,

Tracy Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
29
19
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TBroadie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

The last time we stayed at this hotel (October, 2007), I vowed I'd never stay again. When we discovered we were returning to this area in September of this year, I decided that every thing deserves a 2nd chance, so I booked with the Comfort. The receptionist advised that they were in the middle of renovations, and I was curious to see just what they were doing. We certainly didn't expect the renovations to be that extensive! The lobby, while not finished, is so much brighter! The ugly stained carpet is no longer in the breakfast room. The carpets in the hallways were removed (they were dreadful the last time we stayed!) All the public areas had new paint and wallpaper. When we got to our room, we saw they hadn't started renovating them yet, however, it was CLEAN! A big improvement from the last time! We were definitely impressed with what changes they've made so far.

One suggestion - drapes or sheers or some kind of window covering in the lobby.

  • Liked — Good price, clean room
  • Disliked — Renovations still going on
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

STAYERS BEWARE!!!!!!!!!! SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!

This hotel truly is a dump. It is undergoing some renovations but here were our findings:

- booked a room with hotel directly and paid over 100.00
- walked into front entrance and it was very dirty.
- ceiling tile stained with water marks
- carpet in hallway filthy
- hotel carpet was so DIRTY that we kept our shoes on even my three year old would not play on the floor. He said it was "YUCKY"
- our bathroom floor had long black hair on the floor and we all have short hair.
- the breakfast buffet had no HIGH chairs for our youngest child
- had waffle maker but no maple syrup or butter (figure that)

Save your money if your going to see THomas.

STAYERS BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING>>> DIRTY HOTEL AND WASTE OF MONEY
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank floydangel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN005, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Dear floydangel71,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay.

Please allow me to respond to each of your concerns:

- booked a room with hotel directly and paid over 100.00

That is a standard rate with most hotels. We offer discounts for Government employees, mature travellers over age 50, CAA/AAA members, corporate travellers and more.

- walked into front entrance and it was very dirty.

With our renovations in full swing, it was very difficult to keep a reign on the dirt and dust caused by the workers. Especially since it was the front entrance and lobby area that was being renovated.

- ceiling tile stained with water marks

When we took over this property in 2008, the hotel was in a state of disrepair. We have worked extraordinarily hard to bring our property up to standards, which we are proud to say that we have.

- carpet in hallway filthy

The carpet in all of our hallways has since been replaced, as have the wall vinyl and paint. We have also installed chair rails and baseboards giving our hallways a classic yet modern feel.

- hotel carpet was so DIRTY that we kept our shoes on even my three year old would not play on the floor. He said it was "YUCKY"

We have had a professional cleaning company come in to clean all of our room carpets.

- our bathroom floor had long black hair on the floor and we all have short hair.

Since your stay, we have had retraining done with our housekeeping staff. I can assure you that our rooms are exceed Choice Hotels standards.

- the breakfast buffet had no HIGH chairs for our youngest child

We now have 2 high chairs available to our guests.

- had waffle maker but no maple syrup or butter (figure that)

Our breakfast is now staffed each morning and all of items are fresh and stocked during the entire breakfast hours.

It is my hope that, the next time you are in our area, you will give us the opportunity to prove to you our committment to guest satisfaction.

Once again, I sincerely apologize that you were not happy with your stay. Please call me at 519.633.4082 the next time you are in our area and I will take care of your stay.

Warm regards,

Tracy Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Thomas hotels

Toronto on
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2008

I am a biker. I bike around during summer time. This hotel doesn't have anything close by. I was very shocked how old and run down it was from the inside. IT looks fine from out sidem, but way different from inside. Non smoking smelled like smoke. The bed sheet has stains on it. Old banana in the breakfast. THey were out of juice and didn't fill up. Stay away from this hotel...

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pricky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN005, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guests concerns are very important for us to know, and allows us to make changes that make everyone's stay more enjoyable. We are beginning hotel renovations very soon and have made significant improvements in regards to our rooms. Our 2nd floor is now completely non-smoking, as well as one wing on our first floor. All smoking rooms are now in a separate wing for the benefit of our non-smoking guests. We have also made improvements to our complimentary Comfort Sunshine breakfast. You can make home-made waffles, enjoy fresh breads, bagels and muffins, cold cereals, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea. We would welcome the opportunity to have you visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tracy Parker
General Manager
Comfort Inn St. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

The Comfort Inn in St. Thomas was basic but fine. The room was dated but very clean and the desk staff in the evening and morning were friendly and very efficient. We ate breakfast just before it ended and appreciated being asked if we had everything we wanted before they cleared - not every hotel does that!
Our only problem was finding the hotel. We drove right past it at dusk because it did not have a lighted sign as hotels in the United States do! We stopped at a pizza place to ask directions and someone was kind enough to lead us to the hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

This hotel was all around an average place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful which was nice.

It is dated though, and looks like it needs a interior makeover. It also has glass sliding doors that face outside in the room which leak in cold air noticeablely.

There are not many places to stay in St. Thomas so this was it! It is located fairly close to the town of St. Thomas, but not within walking distance.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Dated decor
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jewel_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Thomas
Westminster
Quality Suites London
Quality Suites London
#20 of 41 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 100 Centennial Ave, Saint Thomas, Ontario N5R 5B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Saint Thomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint Thomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Highway 3 in the heart of Southwestern Ontario, home to Jumbo the Elephant Monument, the once famous and beloved star of the Barnum & Bailey Circus, Elgin County Railway Museum and Railway City Brewing sits the Comfort Inn St Thomas. We proudly offer our visitors the perfect blend of the urban and rural experience. Elgin County is home to over 100 km of Blue Flag designated sandy beaches... Port Stanley a must visit, picturesque towns and villages such as Alymer, vibrant artistic communities like Sparta, a rich agricultural heritage, golfing, shopping and high quality local dining. From the vibrant streets of our lively towns and villages to the peaceful hiking and cycling trails, we have something for everyone. Each guest room at this non-smoking hotel features a large work desk with ergonomic chair, refrigerator, micro, Keurig brewer, sofa or chair, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Saint Thomas, Ontario
Saint Thomas Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing