We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint Thomas
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were here for 5 nights.

Accommodating staff - the front desk was helpful and the cleaning staff were friendly.

Room had an odor, not offensive though; after a minute it seemed to disappear (unless you left the room for any reason). Unsure the source of smell. We didn't complain.

Was nice the microwave was available for our use in breakfast area. Plastic utensils too. I even saw one young man getting coffee at 9pm..that's nice!

Breakfast was typical. Scrambled eggs, sausage of some shape, waffle maker, cereal, toast/bagel/muffin/english muffin, yogurt, hard boiled egg, tea/coffee/juice/milk. I got up late one morning and was thankful it wasn't taken away right at 9am.

Window that opened was size of toaster. Not much fresh air.

A/C - older style. Noisey. It was either on or off.

Room was nice and dark when curtains drawn.

Bathtub had no slip surface.

Large bulky cupboard instead of closet.

Oh, I forgot to tell the staff that there was no lightbulb in one of the lamps. There weren't enough outlets so I had to unplug it for our fan.

Room Tip: no elevator but only 2 floors - if you can't do stairs, ask for ground floor. Noisy a/c so mayb...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was the fourth hotel we stayed at, travelling round Ontario as part of a three week ancestor-hunting tour. Our previous hotel – also a Comfort Inn – had been a huge disappointment, so we were a little wary of what this one would be like. However, this was altogether better.
We had a large room with a king size bed, which was very comfortable.
However there were some niggles: the lighting was very poor (which we’d come to expect, but this was worse still). The light over the coffee making machine flickered on and off, but was off more than it was on. We had a room next door to the breakfast room and we wondered if it might be noisy but it wasn’t. But I mention this because the lights in the breakfast room did the same thing and we wondered if they were on the same circuit. The fridge lacked an ice box, which might seem a petty thing to mention but we’d bought a cheap polystyrene cool box for taking out with us in the car, together with a cooling element and, without an ice box, we could not freeze the element overnight. There were very few sockets in the room, and those there were, were inaccessible. We needed to recharge our phones and tablet and, of course, being from the UK, we had to use an adaptor as well – so it was quite cumbersome. The only sockets were behind the bed, which was too heavy to move, and under a table where the lamp was plugged in. Unplugging the lamp meant even less light in the room.
The TV was old, with fuzzy picture and sound.
Breakfasts were averagely good.
Staying at the hotel entitled guests to 10% off meals at Braxton’s in town. Meals there were good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a one night's stay at the Comfort Inn St. Thomas. We have no complaints. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast provided was yummy, and the price was quite reasonable. It's located on the edge of town away from any hustle and bustle. The service was great. We forgot shaving cream so I asked where I could get some and they gave it to us so don't hesitate to ask for anything you might need. The service was great and the atmosphere was comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magglett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for family wedding. Very pleased with the service received and the staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Rooms were well kept and clean. Breakfast was fabulous and the staff made sure to refill. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel was clean, and the bathroom looks like its been recently redone, or its just been well mintained. Wi-fi was working fine. The breakfast was good, had all the basics and even a waffle maker. Staff were all freindly and helpful . The only complaint would be the heating system. The heat was left off when I entered the room so it was freezing then when i turned it on, there wasn't a thermostat to control room temperature so it just ran all night and I had to get up in the middle of the night to turn it off, which then cooled the room too much and had to get up a couple hours later to turn it on again. So not the bestest of sleeps. Also, the room doors had to be slammed in order to get them to shut, so all morning as people were leaving you could hear doors slamming. But overall satisfied with my 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel was clean and the rooms although small were clean. They really do need to update the televisions as I haven't seen an old 32 inch in years. To the management...........they now have TV's with high definition! The power went out in our room only. When we inquired about it we felt as though we were a bother to the staff. The breakfast was nice but needs to have more attention to keeping things filled and ready to go. The women looking after it was very put out when people asked for more batter for the waffles and more juice. Could be a really nice place. The door outside our room leading to the lobby was broken and banged closed every time someone went through it. We mentioned the problem to the front desk and were told they were going to fix that but not sure why they didn't. We travel a great deal in the states and this hotel with this kind of service explains why we do!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbjsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a figure skating competition in February. Hotel has been updated. Very clean rooms, breakfast was really good and the staff was also very nice. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Thomas
Ramada London
#21 of 41 in London
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 100 Centennial Ave, Saint Thomas, Ontario N5R 5B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Saint Thomas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint Thomas
Price Range: $80 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Highway 3 in the heart of Southwestern Ontario, home to Jumbo the Elephant Monument, the once famous and beloved star of the Barnum & Bailey Circus, Elgin County Railway Museum and Railway City Brewing sits the Comfort Inn St Thomas. We proudly offer our visitors the perfect blend of the urban and rural experience. Elgin County is home to over 100 km of Blue Flag designated sandy beaches... Port Stanley a must visit, picturesque towns and villages such as Alymer, vibrant artistic communities like Sparta, a rich agricultural heritage, golfing, shopping and high quality local dining. From the vibrant streets of our lively towns and villages to the peaceful hiking and cycling trails, we have something for everyone. Each guest room at this non-smoking hotel features a large work desk with ergonomic chair, refrigerator, micro, Keurig brewer, sofa or chair, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Saint Thomas, Ontario
Saint Thomas Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing