We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely delightful”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anonymous...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely delightful”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at The Old Cricket Pavilion In Bodiam for the third time as a family of four (two children aged 5 and 6) with two small dogs (because we enjoy staying here so much!).

As always the communication was excellent, welcome and hospitality were warm, and the accommodation itself was clean, fantastic and well equipped. The welcome pack is a lovely touch for a weary traveller - it is wonderful to be able to have a cup of tea and piece of cake on arrival!

The first two years we stayed with glorious sunshine and this time the weather was drab and dreary but that didn't dampen our experience at all it just gave us another experience - roaring fire, lovely home cooked meals in and a general cosy atmosphere all added to the experience. The heating was easy to use with just the turn of a dial and the accommodation was toasty warm.

We adore East Sussex (I grew up in the area) and due to the weather we skipped the beach trip but still had plenty of options of days out in the local area to entertain us and the children for example we went to the Aquarium in Hastings and took a lunch trip to Battle High Street. Had we gone to the beach, it would have been a visit to Camber sands for the sand and ice cream or Hastings Old Town for the pebble beach with crazy golf and fish and chips.

The open plan area kitchen/diner is very spacious and well equipped, the sitting room, like the bedrooms, is carpeted and can be very cosy when it's cold outside! There are panoramic country views which are delightful.

The two bedrooms are right next to each other (and the bathroom) and there is also an additional door that separates the sleeping quarters from the main area of the accommodation which made the children feel that bit more secure at night time when staying away from home. It is also a great place for the dogs to sleep as it is not carpeted and right near the bedrooms but the dogs are contained in the smallish area. Night times felt cosy and safe for the children and so a good night's sleep is had by all!

The outdoor space is a perfect size and fenced - although we did have to block up a small gap by the gate where our chihuahuas were able to get out but this was easily done and not a problem at all - more of an FYI for fellow small dog owners!

Another absolutely delightful stay at The Old Cricket Pavilion and we highly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage cosy in the colder weather.
Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you found the area and cottage to your liking and would love to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Woody_and...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for 8 days as a family of 4 and can highly recommend every aspect of The Old Cricket Pavilion. It is located in the middle of gorgeous East Sussex countryside with a good pub at the end of the quiet road! The house is very well-equipped for everything one needs for a relaxing family holiday not to mention fantastic walks around the vineyard estate, the sound of the ES&KR steam railway across the valley and fields all-around make this a great place any time of year. We'll certainly return plus we can also recommend Terrie and Mike's Coopers Cottages at the top of the vineyard too. Terrie & Mike - belated thanks again for a warm welcome as always - it was a lovely stay at TOCP and thanks also for another delicious home-baked cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome from Terrie & Mike, the location, the walks from the front door, everything really...
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at TOCP and look forward to welcoming you back at some point.
Terrie and Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in October.
Terrie and Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted the cottage suited your needs and you found the area of interest. Really pleased Elvis liked the garden!.
Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Titchlitt...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely great , lovely and clean on arrival with a few supplies which were much appreciated. Hosts were impeccable.
Garden perfect for dogs never seen my retriever so happy . Loved area good to visit many sites . Would recommend to anyone , can't wait too return .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you liked the area and found the cottage suited your needs.
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wonderful peaceful location, convenient for so many Kent and Sussex sights. Clean, modern, perfectly equipped with extra welcome provisions of cake, eggs and other basics. Terrie was more than helpful with booking and was there first thing after I arrived, giving useful advice on the local area. Dog friendly as my cocker spaniel confirmed.
I look forward to another stay soon, but it looks like you are pretty much fully booked! There must be a reason for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing