We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, friendly, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Chalet Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edmundston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Chalet Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Edmundston B&B and Inns
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sylvie was a perfect hostess and she prepared a delightful gourmet breakfast. But the rooms seemed a bit pricey, and our room faced the front which was right next to a busy highway with very loud truck traffic all night. We had to close the windows and would have preferred to keep them open. Our rooms were clean, but the satellite TV was down and we weren't interested in watching a movie, even thought there is a well stocked library of films on DVD and there was a DVD player in our room.

Room Tip: Get a room with the forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davestud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie M, Owner at Au Chalet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that the traffic was an issue for you, some nights are worse than others unfortunately :-(
As for the issue of price, it may be that the area in general is more expensive than what you're used to as I've noticed you thought the same in your review of the restaurant you ate at here in Edmundston. The hotels in the area offer a like room for 20$ more without breakfast so for this area, the price is lower than your average hotel room but with personalized service and hopefully an awesome breakfast;-)
Still I'm truly sorry the traffic was bad that night and I sincerely apologize that the satellite box gave out on your stay...
Sincerely,
Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Sylvie was there to greet us on arrival. She is the perfect hostess for a B&B. We felt right at home immediately. We loved the B&B straight away and our upstairs room that looked out on to the forest was calm and quiet. Everything we needed was there and done with immense style. The bed was super comfortable.
Sylvie recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner and the next morning she cooked a brilliant omelette for each of us for breakfast.
Some more satisfied kiwi visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank locatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This B and B hotel has approx 3 or 4 rooms. Very personalised service, with host keen to make us feel comfortable. She provided an excellent breakfast, and helped with our laundry needs. A very welcome touch to have free laundry services. The accommodation was clean and appropriate. Tourist suggestions were also made. We enjoyed staying here, as Edmundston is not necessarily a tourist destination and this hotel was located just outside the town in a rural setting. Having your own transport is necessary as nothing is walking distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is a great little retreat. Its small and cozy, the beds are very comfortable and everything is clean and neat. The innkeeper is a sweetheart, very accommodating. I would absolutely recommend this b&b to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniBernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The first of many B&Bs on our trip.A very comfortable and quite place. The room was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. We had the top room with a wooden balcony so could sit outside and take in the views.
Breakfast in the morning was done very nicely and was filling for the day ahead.
Sylvia and her daughter have a nice set up here and if you are heading this way this is a good place to stop at.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie M, Owner at Au Chalet Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
It was such a pleasure to have you and Sandy stay over, you were my first New Zealanders at the B&B... never to be confused with Australians ever again going forward lol:-) Thank you so much for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Situated on a hill with a panoramic view, Au Chalet Bed and Breakfast is a peaceful oasis of charm, rustic beauty and affordable elegance in Edmundston. Sylvie has done a lot of thinking, right down to a hypoallergenic cat (Dex) who is more like a dog than a cat, low pile carpeting for those of us with allergies, a bookcase of DVDs for those times when you just want to turn your mind off and relax for a bit, wonderful food, and style that does not stop. From towels to drapes to the comforter on my bed, everything was first class and done with exquisite taste.

Thanks Sylvie for a wonderful respite on a journey that had many twists and turns.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I had the most lovely time at this beautiful b&b. The room itself was modern in style and beautifully and tastefully decorated, and the bedding was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was to die for! One of my best travelling experiences ever, if you're anywhere near Edmunston I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Of the two rooms on the top floor, the one with the river view also has a little bit of traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmundston hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmundston Hotel
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Edmundston
Days Inn Edmundston
#2 of 10 in Edmundston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Edmundston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Edmundston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Edmundston
Travelodge Edmundston
#9 of 10 in Edmundston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Au NIDaigle
Au NIDaigle
#2 of 6 in Edmundston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Chalet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Chalet Bed and Breakfast

Property: Au Chalet Bed and Breakfast
Address: 712 Ch Canada, Edmundston, New Brunswick E3V 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Edmundston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edmundston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arrival, you'll feel embraced by nature even though you left the four lane just two minutes ago. The view from the veranda and terrace is just beautiful, layers of mountain ridges fade into the distance with tall pine trees and birches framing the chalet and Sylvie's policy of utmost personal attention to your comfort and relaxation ensures an experience of leisure at Au Chalet.It's the perfect setting for a comforting stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Au Chalet Bed And Breakfast Edmundston, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing