We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge

Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge
Ranked #25 of 54 Restaurants in Fernie
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Whenever we come to Fernie always stop in. Never been disappointed by the meal or service. Keep it up.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilliamMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear WilliamMT,

Thank you for taking the time to review Max Restaurant. We are thrilled that Max Restaurant is your preferred choice for dining in Fernie. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fernie
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“a fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The other night we had a meal that really says Max's is an awesome place for dinner. Our server was very friendly which added to our evening. It's great to have someone look after us, rather than getting the boring "Hi how are you?"..."ready to order?" How's your meal" "Have a nice day" bye bye.....
We look forward to having her look after us the next time we return.
I had the Pork Tenderloin that could literally be cut with a fork. This will be one of my favorite meals at Max's. My wife's steak was ordered Medium but came out more on the med rare side.... but it was very flavorful. Nothing is worse than having a medium rare steak that tastes blah. Both meals were excellent. Thank you to the chef!
Not only was the meal great, but like I said, our server was really great..... service is SO important. Thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulW451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear PaulW451,
Thank you once again for your gracious comments! We are thrilled you had an outstanding evening at Max Restaurant; your comments have been shared with the service and kitchen staff. We value your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two great experiences!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My family recently spent one night in Fernie and we ended up having both dinner and breakfast at Max Restaurant. We were travelling with our 21 month son and, on both occasions, the staff were really friendly with efficient service, and very accommodating to our child's needs (not that he has many but he loved the food and they had high chairs).

We found the dinner and breakfast menus had great variety and we didn't leave hungry.
If we make it back to Fernie, we will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairburn3310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Fairburn3310,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and for your gracious comments. We like to think our staff is wonderful as well and have passed along your kind words. We strive to have variety and good size portions for a fair price. We are glad you agree!

We look forward for your return visit to Fernie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This used to be my favorite place for lunch but it has sadly gone donehill.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The menu has been redone and i do not like it as well. Service was slow and poor. Meal had to be sent back. do not recommend anymore.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaandclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear lindaandclyde,
We are very sorry to hear you are disappointed with the changes we have made to our menu. It would be our pleasure if we could meet with you and discuss you concerns. Customer feedback is how we improve and ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable experience. We have shared your menu comments with our chef and the service concerns with our service staff, reiterating the importance of exceeding our guest’s expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I like this restauant - it is just off the atrium in one area and in fact you can see the atrium from it. There are tables that you can pull together for large groups and the menu has all the normal things you would want from a ski town menu. The breakfast buffet was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bluebear7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Bluebear7727,
Thank you for taking the time to review Max Restaurant, we are pleased you enjoyed you’re experience. We enjoy being able to offer guests as many options as possible, including more private dining for smaller groups, couples, or individuals as well as the ability to accommodate larger groups. We have shared your kind words with the Food and Beverage Team! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Max Restaurant - Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing