We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but always have to wait at least 30 min”
Review of The Curry Bowl

The Curry Bowl
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Curry Bowl is a family restaurant in Fernie. British Columbia. It is located just minutes away from the legendary Fernie Alpine Resort. Enjoy the delights of the Orient with savoury dishes from countries across Asia with exotic noodles, sizzling stir frys and aromatic curries. The menu focuses on popular favorites as well as Asian inspired creations from our chef. The restaurant is fully licensed with tasty signature cocktails and stocks fifty beers from around the World. A third of these beers come from Canadian micro breweries. Other countries represented include Australia, Belgium, Czech Republic, England, Germany, India, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Poland, Scotland, S. Africa, Singapore and Thailand.
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good but always have to wait at least 30 min”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the beer menu is very good if you like to try different kinds and Asian beer. Portions are small but good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindaandclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    99
    23
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LIned up”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Get here early because every night we saw this place lined up. The smell is authentic and the food is fresh, creamy and filled with indian goodness.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank smacg908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fernie Institution”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We always plan our ski day to get there early enough to be seated. Great food...a tad slow but worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank smurraymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went twice on a recent trip to Fernie and both times were blown away by how amazing and affordable the food was.

The staff are super friendly and attentive, the food incredible and a great selection of beers to compliment the meals. It can get a little loud when it's busy (as in always!) but if you go a little early (5ish) you'll avoid a wait.

I had tofu Pad Thai and the Panang Curry (with tofu instead of chicken) and my dining partner had the Veggie Donburi and Tom Yum soup. All advisable!

It's great to see an independent restaurant doing so well in Fernie, there are some great choices for eats here but this place tops the list for me!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Patience is a virtue at Curry Bowl”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

...but the food is worth the wait! in a dozen or so visits, I've never been disappointed and consistency is important when it comes to picking a restaurant. For me, Curry Bowl has always been a sure thing. Just close your eyes and point - every thing on the menu is awesome. Veg heads and meat heads alike will delight.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Bowl also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Curry Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing