We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ho hum”
Review of The Curry Bowl

The Curry Bowl
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: The Curry Bowl is a family restaurant in Fernie. British Columbia. It is located just minutes away from the legendary Fernie Alpine Resort. Enjoy the delights of the Orient with savoury dishes from countries across Asia with exotic noodles, sizzling stir frys and aromatic curries. The menu focuses on popular favorites as well as Asian inspired creations from our chef. The restaurant is fully licensed with tasty signature cocktails and stocks fifty beers from around the World. A third of these beers come from Canadian micro breweries. Other countries represented include Australia, Belgium, Czech Republic, England, Germany, India, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Poland, Scotland, S. Africa, Singapore and Thailand.
Fernie
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“ho hum”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I have gone to the Curry bowl many times over the years. Recently I have found that the portions have gotten much smaller, seems the menu choices have gotten a little smaller as well.
A few weeks ago I had the Panang Curry and thought it tasted a little watery. But it was ok. That was it, just ok. My wife ordered the chicken satay, The portion was definetly a lot less that it had been in the many times prior to that.
The next time we were there I had something different and again, I noticed that it tasted watery and the portion was also smaller.
Seems even the service is starting to lack a little.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulW451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    103
    23
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLY HORRIBLE....A JOKE!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have heard about this restaurant for years and last night tried the food. I was visiting a friend in Fernie and he choose curry for the two of us to enjoy for dinner. He ordered two appetizers, one dip that he said was a much smaller portion than usual and their version of somoza, decent but tiny, two entrees, butter chicken and another curry, two orders of while rice and two orders of naan bread......he went to pick it up and paid 56.00 dollars.....when he brought it home we realized that one of the orders of naan was missing and so was the dip or condiment that was to accompany the somoza....he called the restaurant got up from the table and drove over once again.......I kept everything else in their containers so that we could enjoy a hot meal. When we finally got settled after his second trip we opened the other containers.....the white rice that was requested was brown instead and under cooked , the "butter chicken" had the flavor notes that one would expect but was literally the worst attempt at the dish I have ever had, the other curry dish was like soup, awful!........apparently this restaurant has changed hands over the past few years and the new owner has destroyed what was once a great spot with a reputation for quality food.......... really disappointing experience.

Avoid this place at all cost.....the worst!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great curry, great value”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Curry Bowl is the locals feeding hole. Be prepared to wait for a table, but the wait is well worth it. Satisfying curries that will fill your belly and your taste buds and not empty your wallet. Cheap, cheerful and satisfying.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“eclectic food selection”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Everything is good but if you order one of their spicy dishes, you may have to ask for more spice. There is a wonderful upper deck for dinner. Because no reservations are taken, get there early to sit and have a drink if you wish to eat on top. AND YOU WILL. views are great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank fitmom1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yumm Yumm !”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Don't be put off by the look of the place. It's a little white house and if you blinked, you'd miss it! We sat on the roof top deck -- it was HOT. But, the service was great, a bit slow, but it was worth it. The food was awesome -- the menu all looked so good, it was hard to pick something. Our group all enjoyed their food. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank whattheheck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Bowl also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Curry Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing