We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Local Beers ”

The Fernie Hotel & Pub
Ranked #19 of 62 Restaurants in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
Description: Fernie Hotel & Pub: Description Welcome to the historic Fernie Hotel & Pub. Nestled in the heart of downtown Fernie, this pub has been a fixture since it was rebuilt after the great fire of 1908. Of the 11 hotels rebuilt after the great fire it is the only one that has been run as a hotel for that entire time. True to its history, "The Fernie" still boasts clean rooms, cold beer and great home cooking! "The Fernie" features two large rooms with original brickwork and large windows showcasing stunning mountain views, a pool table, T.V.'s and a stage for entertainment. Known for its classic Beer Battered Fish & Chips, the kitchen is open daily for lunch, dinner and appies. Catering to working class folk and tourists alike, walk in the front door and you'll be greeted with a friendly hello, relax with a cold Fernie beer and top shelf gourmet pub fare prepared with rustic home-style quality.
Restaurant details
Description: Fernie Hotel & Pub: Description Welcome to the historic Fernie Hotel & Pub. Nestled in the heart of downtown Fernie, this pub has been a fixture since it was rebuilt after the great fire of 1908. Of the 11 hotels rebuilt after the great fire it is the only one that has been run as a hotel for that entire time. True to its history, "The Fernie" still boasts clean rooms, cold beer and great home cooking! "The Fernie" features two large rooms with original brickwork and large windows showcasing stunning mountain views, a pool table, T.V.'s and a stage for entertainment. Known for its classic Beer Battered Fish & Chips, the kitchen is open daily for lunch, dinner and appies. Catering to working class folk and tourists alike, walk in the front door and you'll be greeted with a friendly hello, relax with a cold Fernie beer and top shelf gourmet pub fare prepared with rustic home-style quality.
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Came into the Fernie Hotel and Pub for a couple beers. Even though it wasn't happy hour, the prices on their Fernie beers were better than most pubs in the area. The service was exceptional. Fast and friendly, the way it should be.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2018

We ended up at the Fernie Hotel and Pub on the recommendation from a friend who has a condo in town. We were in a group of 8, so finding a table anywhere in town on a Friday night was difficult, but when we arrived at the Fernie Hotel, while it was very busy, two different servers went over and above to find us a spot together. Service was fast and friendly, the atmosphere is great, and the food was delicious. The menu had a lot of variety, and everyone really enjoyed their meal. Will definitely return next time we're in town.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Krista1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018

My partner and I visit the Fernie whenever we are in town during the winter season and consider it the best bar in town for atmosphere. Visited a couple weeks back and had great food, I had the chicken shwarma wrap which was tasty, and great table service from one of the young ladies who works there.
However, at one point I had to go to the bar to grab a menu for my friend who had just arrived and the bartender was incredibly rude to me. Not sure of name but had white glasses on. He talked down to me and made me feel incredibly stupid - all for just requesting a menu. He aggressively told me to sit down and that its table service. Why he couldnt have just given me a menu I dont know.... Unfortunately this is not an isolated incident. My partner has also experienced this man being very rude to him over a simple thing of ordering a drink, and a couple of the locals sat at the bar at the time said the same thing.... All the other staff members seem so nice but unfortunately this bad attitude makes us not want to visit again.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robsteffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyHowseWife, Manager at The Fernie Hotel & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Thanks for leaving a review Rob. We value our Calgary customers and appreciate the good review on our chicken shwarma, it's a popular item and we pride ourselves on our friendly staff and good service. I'm very sorry to hear you had poor experience with one of our staff. As a repeat customer i'm sure you can agree this is most likely an isolated incident as our bartenders have worked here for a couple seasons, in fact one of our bartenders has been with us for almost 18 years! We will of course talk to all our staff about speaking to customers appropriately, hoping your next visit is more pleasant. Please say hi next time you're in town, our manager Alicia would be happy to buy you a drink, enjoy the Fernie snow!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2018

In Fernie from the UK for 2 weeks visited Fernie Hotel on Friday nights for the fabulous meat draw and fish and chips. Lovely to find a genuine community atmosphere . Great staff and tasty food and Canadian merlot .... what more could anyone ask ?

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank ceret55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyHowseWife, Manager at The Fernie Hotel & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Thanks for your review! We enjoy our Friday night's too, such a great crowd and vibe, always fun to meet people from all over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018

The Fernie is nothing fancy,but its a a good hang out for locals and tourists.The prices are good.Tried the fish and chips on thier special...Was pretty good.Had better but would still recommend.The Fernie is good all round pub but dont expect it to be something its not

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank scottd117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyHowseWife, Manager at The Fernie Hotel & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Thanks for coming in! We pride ourselves on being a "Neighborhood Pub" and enjoy our locals as much as our visitors! Next time you're in try the Fish Taco's, my favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fernie Hotel & Pub also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Fernie Hotel & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing