We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel in Fernie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Fernie
Keswick, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hostel in Fernie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

We were very pleased with our stay at the Raging Elk. The name itself (and the rates) drew us to the place and we didn't regret our decision. Though we were in the minority age-wise (middle-aged couple with three teenage kids), the twenty-something denizens welcomed us warmly. Great play room and the pancake breakfast was a real bonus for a family of five. Our family room was basic but completely adequate. I would definitely return again.

  • Liked — Cheap, centrally located, free breakfast.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrayingAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2009
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Raging Elk. We appreciate your kind review. We are always looking at ways to refine the product that we offer our guests and it is very pleasing to see families such as yourself enjoy our facilities. We hope to see you back at the Elk in the future.
Regards
Team Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
9
20
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

The location is great, and the huge free kitchen was awesome for storing and cooking whatever you want to eat. But there is no one working the front desk fter midnight, and no respect for a "quiet time" at night. There were loud parties in the sauna at 4 am, and my roomates kept leaving the room lights on at night! the place was fun, if you dont expect to get any sleep...

  • Liked — the kitchen was good
  • Disliked — my roommates...
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjzazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2009
Thank you for choosing to book at The Raging Elk . We appreciate your review and we have now taken measures to counter react any late night noise with late night security.We have also regulated the sauna hours to finishing at 9pm. We sincerly hope you will be able to stay wth us in the future & enjoy a better nights sleep .
Regards
Team Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fernie hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

Stayed 1 week in spring. The best part is the semi private rooms have an ensuite bathroom. So you aren't sharing with everyone. The kitchen is large with tons of fridge space and the tables are huge log work picnic tables. There is a pool table and the TV room has a masive screen. Never seen such a good TV in a backpackers before. Plus it's full of rows of comfy couches.

All in all, a great trip.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relk, manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2009
Thank you for staying at The Raging Elk and for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & the facilities.This year we are also adding to our facilities with a new inhouse lounge.You will still be able to utilize the lounge & communal areas downstairs but you will also have a option to enjoy a licensed area upstairs that will serve local and international food, wine and beer. We hope to see you again in the future. Enjoy your travels.
Regards
Team Elk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.0 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge

Property: The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
Address: 892 6th Ave, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raging Elk adventure lodge is situated in the heart of Fernie, a 10 minute drive to Fernie Alpine Resort. We have 2 large patios with epic mountain views, a theatre style TV room, comfy lounge areas with pool table, fuse ball & piano. Fully loaded kitchen, spacious dinning areas, sauna, ski tunning room and secure ski and bike storage. Enjoy our outdoor fire pit in summer and winter and our daily complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing