We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the Raging Elk unless all you want to do is party” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Fernie
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid the Raging Elk unless all you want to do is party”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Raging Elk Hostel was extremely disappointing. The room was worn down and had not been renovated in the last decade or more. The mattresses were hard, bumpy and dirty. The sheets were stained and very old. Worse yet, they have no enforcement of quiet times and every night people were partying past 2AM with their room doors open, loud music, and running up and down the halls yelling and screaming with no regards for anyone wanting to get some sleep to enjoy the powder the next morning.

The best part of the Hostel was common room which was spacious and was a great place to hang out. Although they do need to replace their ancient kitchen appliances and provide drying towels for doing the dishes. The free pancake breakfast was also nice.

Overall, easily the worst Hostel we have ever stayed at anywhere in the world - as a Canadian it was very embarrassing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi Andrew,
Sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at The Raging Elk.
It is unfortunate that you booked over the New Years period because it is hard for us to control the noise with 120 backpackers wanting to ring in the New Year.
The room you stayed in had new hard wood flooring put in this summer so we have done some renovations and in the fall 2012 we brought new linen for the entire building.We are in the process of updating mattresses. Over the past years since we have taken on operation of the Elk we have completely gutted the kitchen and common areas and upgraded them, added a bar, timber frame patios, fresh paint, New mattresses and pillows to half the building (which is a continuing process) and new wood floors in some rooms ( a continuing process). In the kitchen we always have three dish towels at any given point and also a bucket for guests to utilize fresh extra t towels . I will be more than happy to send you a picture if you like just in case you missed it:)
Im glad you enjoyed our communal areas and our complimentary breakfast.
Unfortunately The Raging Elk is not for everyone & I am disappointed that you could not make reception staff or management aware of your complaints. I do remember meeting you during your stay whilst you were having dinner and you genuinely did not seem dissatisfied at that point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
19
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The raging elk was extremely clean, and the owners & staff treated us very very well!! Would highly recommend this Hostel to anyone travelling trough Fernie. The common areas were clean and tidy, the pub has warm staff, and our rooms were in immaculate condition after being cleaned. Can't wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justbyfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here about 6 years ago, for the whole season, before trip advisor and all that was a big deal. I was just checking online for something in Fernie and noticed the trip advisor reviews. It was such a social-able and fun hostel, just figured i'd do a review. I also stayed there 1 night on a mtb trip a year or two later and it was all good. When i stayed their quite a few of the stoved tops didn't work, but sure thats' been fixed, and frankly it's a hostel and i'm sure it sees so much use it really isn't surprising if a few things need fixing every now and again. Sure there are posher hostels with more 'hotel' like interiors etc, but from a party point of view this place gets 5stars and so if thats not your cup of tea, loads of other types of accommodation are available. If partying is your kinda thing, get down the bar bingo on tuesday nights, seriously a total riot! Even considering a trip from the Kootenays for that night alone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

What and awesome place, a little something for everyone can be found here year round. the building is huge, the staff is super friendly and very helpful. there is a games room and big common area and kitchen. plus a pub right in the building. World class mountain 5 min away. Whatever your into it can be found in Fernie. skiing/boarding, plus other winter sports, and in summer downhill mountain biking, and fishing/hiking. Really cool people from all around the globe that are here for the same reasons you are, So your always going to make friends at a place like the Raging Elk. Located within walking distance to anything your going to need in town. Plus the prices are Unbeatable!!! So Why would you stay anywhere else in this cool little town. I would recommend the raging elk to anyone, and hands down I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff were amazing and really had a good laugh with everyone. Hospitality was great and the lounge built in was decently priced and you didn't ever have to worry about bad service, the staff always took care of us. We had a big group with us and we all left happy.

Hostels are hostels your not going to get amazing comfort sleeping in bunk beds but that's the whole point of group bunking! I would recommend anyone to stay here and I will never forget the experience.

Fernie never ceases to amaze, there was even a group that came by with a small bonfire on a sled singing with a guitar and the whole nine yards! Great fun and good memories!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaluv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and daughter are staying here for a week. Deon checked us in and was friendly and helpful as were all the other staff. The great thing about this hostel is that you meet people from all over and share the common area's. We all cook together and eat together and learn from everyone. Everyone has been friendly and fun to be around. There is a shuttle that takes us right to the slopes and we are within walking distance to grocery store and restaurants... even in -11 temperatures. You have to know what you are getting into when you rent at a hostel and not expect hotel or resort accommodations. We did forget to pack towels so be sure to pack some or you will need to purchase some. They do have laundry services too for $2.50 a load. You get free pancake breakfast and coffee in the morning.
Great price for those who like to travel and are on a budget:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbiasotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Raging Elk Hostel. We are glad the you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff helpful and friendly. We are always trying to find ways to make it more family friendly as well as fun for single travelers, so we do appreciate that you and your family enjoyed our communal areas with regards to cooking and interacting with other travelers from around the world.
We hope we can host you again in the future.
Regards
Joe Howse
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Raging Elk is the only hostel in Fernie and it is a great one so no need for competition! Sadie checked me in on my first day and was consistently helpful and friendly throughout the week I stayed.

The kitchen was a great space with lots of cooking areas, food storage and it was also the best place to meet other travellers and long termers. The hostel bar also reopened for the winter season the week I was there and was a great place to hang out with really good drink prices and you didn't even need to put your coat on and head out in the cold to get there!!

The dorm I stayed in was large and spacious with a generous underbed storage compartment for each bunk that fit my whole big backpack in it! A good amount of showers and toilets on my floor too and I never had to wait to shower.

Overall a big thumbs up from me - a well-managed, fun and friendly place to stay and a wonderful place to meet other travellers too. Thanks Sadie and Joe!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relk, Manager at The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Kate,
Thank you for your review of The Raging Elk . We are so pleased that you enjoyed all of our facilities and found our staff and ourselves to be friendly and helpful . We really do love it when we can offer guests an overall package of fun and relaxing times which it seems like you had. We hope that we get the opportunity to host your stay in Fernie again in the future.
Regards
Joe Howse
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.0 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#11 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge

Property: The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
Address: 892 6th Ave, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raging Elk adventure lodge is situated in the heart of Fernie, a 10 minute drive to Fernie Alpine Resort. We have 2 large patios with epic mountain views, a theatre style TV room, comfy lounge areas with pool table, fuse ball & piano. Fully loaded kitchen, spacious dinning areas, sauna, ski tunning room and secure ski and bike storage. Enjoy our outdoor fire pit in summer and winter and our daily complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing