We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tons of space.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fernie Stanford Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Victoria Bc Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tons of space.........”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We could have slept 10 people easily in this "chalet". Loads of space, upstairs and downstairs. There were just the 2 of us, but we entertained some local family members in the unit. It was good value.

These are privately-owned units, so there is some variations. The negatives were: dirty, stained carpet; no DVD player in the small TV (only VHS!!); no hair dryer; and one baking pan only (a broiling pan).

The positive features were the large space, good beds, easy parking out the front door, friendly staff in hotel, great Indian food in restaurant. Nice slide and hot tubs - pool a little chilly, but hot tub was great. Internet service was good in room. Fly fishing out your door on the Elk River.

If you plan to stay in the hotel, ask for a room away from the hot tub patio at front, go for the quieter river side.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    76
    40
    18
    14
See reviews for
128
59
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We are returning customers to this hotel. Since we were traveling with kids it was obvious for us which hotel to book. We did it for its water slide and hot tubs. We loved it again. Sometimes there was shortage of pool towels but the staff was very good to fill the rack up. The hotel has also a sauna which we loved.

The rooms are clean but I wish they were bigger.

The breakfast has only sweets which was a bit disappointment. I would like to see some cream cheese or just cheese in its selection of items for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northern_prairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

the condos attached to the property are having the railings replaced. When we checked in they neglected to inform us that our railing around the 2nd storey balcony is not attached to the building, rotten and falling apart!!

OMG I pushed lightly on the rail and the whole side of the railing fell over to the ground 15 feet below!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pshykman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Arrived on a Saturday in March to be greated by external security guards draughted in to try and control the large party of college students.
As we checked in I was told the room I had booked was not available due to damage caused the previous night by the college party so I was put out in the condos next to another group of college kids 'enjoying' their freedom. This was a disappointment due to having booked with family.
After compaining due I managed to get transfered back into the hotel (for the room I'd paid for) to be plagued every night by noise, the sound proofing in the hotel leaves a lot to be desired, try and get a room well away from the lifts.
I put up with this until the following weekend and the next college party when I insisted on being moved (again) after being woken at 2am by the group of college kids who decided to listen to music very loudly. This move was an upgrade to the most bizare suite I have ever stayed in, if you like ancient Greece you'd love it, otherwise a jacuzzi in the living room is just plain weird. The noise was much less in this room and I got a decent nights sleep for the first time.
Hotel was average but tired, resturant is good if you like curry but limited if staying more than a few nights. Staff were brilliant but hampered by the large parties of kids causing chaos at the weekends.
I've never stayed at a hotel where security guards are needed to control clientele, I don't intend to do it again.
Breakfast was mediocre but overpriced, would recomend the 5 minute walk into town to Smittys where breafast was amazing and service the same.
One good point for the hotel was the free WiFi which was relaible and fast so not a complete loss.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We planned our wedding at the Fernie Stanford Resort on April 3, 2010. The entire hotel staff was so accommodating and helpful. They went above and beyond their duties to ensure that our wedding went off without a hitch.

They set up over 100 chairs in their restaurant for our ceremony, which took place in front of their beautiful stone fireplace, with windows looking out to the mountains, and rearranged their banquet hall to suit our requests. The front desk staff was very professional and took care of every need and concern of the 120 guests we had at our wedding.

We also received many compliments on having our wedding in a single venue. This ensured that bad weather would not affect anyone's celebration, and that our guests were free to celebrate without concern of how to get home. The hotel offered us wonderful rates so our guests were able to stay.

The meal that was prepared for us received so many compliments. They always had the buffet table full, and our guests thoroughly enjoyed their meal. If we had it to do all over again, we wouldn't change a thing. Our day was perfect, and we owe alot of that to the staff at this resort.

Thank you to Joan and your staff. You guys are amazing!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandjimLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernieguy, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you very much for your awesome review. It was both a pleasure and an honour to be able to host such a tremendous event. congratulations again to both the newly weds and everyone in the wedding party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Our Story:
-2 teens : 11 and 15
-4 skiers
-Mom who wants a vacation to enjoy with no cooking !
-Dad who wants to just keep the peace and get us to enjoy life and keep the room clean
The Pros:
-Family room hotel each kid got their own bed (Yeah - no fights) we had the mezzanine
-5 minute drive from Fernie (so cheaper than on the mountain)
-Great waterslide, hot tubs, sauna, work out room
-We ate 2 suppers at the Resto (one 'regular' food and one Indian night)
-Supper food was good
-Very clean clean room with comfortable beds
-WiFi worked well the whole 4 days

The Cons:
-Breakfast buffet was average : needed fresh fruit and yogurt
-If you are light sleeper - ask for a room with a river view - I bought ear plugs so i didn't hear the trucks on highway 3.
-'oldish furniture' and bathroom

Conclusion: We stayed 4 nights during the week (2nd floor facing highway) when it is quieter and had a wonderful time in the hotel. The kids LOVED the amenities which made all the difference. We went into town for supper the other 2 nights.

Enjoy Fernie !


ps we skied whitefish too

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was my first time staying at the Stanford Resort but I have been spending ski weekends in Fernie for the past 10 years or so with groups of friends. After our stay at the Stanford Inn, I will definately be staying here many times in the future. We had an excellent time, the hotel staff was wonderful and extremely accomodating, the unit was perfect and a convenient drive to town and to the ski hill.

This past weekend we stayed in Unit 1300 and 1302 (two units connected with a lockoff door but we rented both so had access to 1302 which is the lockoff). We booked the unit as a 5 bedroom luxury chalet but when we arrived the place was enormous. There were actually 7 bedrooms in the following configuration (3 bedrooms with queen beds downstairs, 2 bedrooms on the main floor (one with 2 queen beds and an ensuite bathroom - this was the lockoff, one with 1 queen bed), and 2 bedrooms upstairs, one huge one with a king bed and an ensuite, and one small bedroom with 2 twin beds. This blew our minds. We rented the whole place for less than $600/night through the lodging company and this place could have slept 16 people! What a deal! Other highlights of the condo were: 1 large dining area where 10 people could sit to eat together, full kitchen with a small kitchen table (seated 4), media room downstairs, small sitting area upstairs with a tv, tv in the lockoff room, 4 bathrooms, 4 patio/decks, laundry room, ample parking, just an all-round awesome place!

When we arrived on Friday we were able to check in immediately (at noon instead of the 5pm checkin which was stated on our reservation). This was really convenient because we could unload all our stuff and then head to the ski-hill for the afternoon. We were also able to get a late checkout on Sunday at 1pm rather than 11am. We really appreciated the opportunity to sleep in and have a liesurely morning.

The condo also had a media room in the basement with a huge TV which was great for watching 2010 olympic coverage! The pool, waterslide, and hot tubs were a quick walk (about 1 city block) away from the condo and we made good use of these facilities.

The condo was not extravagant but it was very clean, comfortable, and spacious and we will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.5 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.6 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Stanford Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Stanford Resort

Property: Fernie Stanford Resort
Address: 100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Stanford Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ waterslide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness centre, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat. Pool and waterslide closed April 24 - May 11 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fernie Stanford Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Stanford Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing