We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barbara Lynn's Country Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Fernie B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a good sleep.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We like staying in b&b's for the quaint and quiet. Our stay at Barbara Lynn's was disappointing..a bit of a mixed bag review here. The location is superb and the hot tub awesome. The downfalls were the very soft bed and super close proximity from one room to the other with paper thin walls. Oh, and no breakfast included. Apparently if you tell them in advance they will arrange it for you but it just felt like an inconvenience. We walked over to the organic cafe just down the road who are open for bfast early and serve great coffee with refills. The inn is very, very clean. Your host introduces you to the process when you arrive then you don't see her again unless you need something and you knock on the 'owners residence' sign for assistance. I'm afraid we won't be going back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Subee_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at this b&b was not one that will encourage us to return. The walls are paper thin as one reviewer previously indicated. Other guests returned from a party at 4:30 am and disrupted our rest for the balance of the night. The room we had was small but was not a problem. There was an awkward start to the stay which left us standing on the back step for a period of time before we were invited in. Once invited in, the directive to remove our shoes left us wondering if we presented as ill mannered. We left with a feeling that the host was not terribly enthusiastic about hosting. We will make every effort to not return to this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58vacation61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fernie hotels

Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The place is nice, rooms are ok. However the house is too closed to the main road and it makes it noisy... The house is also not very well insulated so it is also noisy from whitin... I don't think that I would go back...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Booked a room at this Country Inn despite reading some negative reviews at this site. I checked the website for the inn and felt drawn to it for some reason.

I was able to get a reasonable rate on a lovely room with a private en suite. She asks that you take your shoes off at the entry door which adds to the overall cleanliness of the Inn. I stayed in the North Ridge room and it was quite comfy. She provides FREE wifi and it was easy to access and also had a very good connection with no stalls or problems. She had put a standing fan in my room which helped keep air circulating and made it comfy for sleeping.

Barbara Lynn provides a brown bag breakfast - she will give you a few options to choose from and she puts your bag in the kitchen area fridge with your name on it. I was a little curious as to why I received only 2 slices of raisin bread when another guest seemed to get 4 or 5 slices. He could have merely requested more - it was just something I noticed. He was a biker though and I know she caters a lot to fellow bikers.

The sitting area was nice since the rooms are a little small for just hanging out in. There is a couch and large TV, and a small table for sitting in the kitchen area. I believe she said she has 9 guest rooms. I arrived on a Wednesday and I recall there only being one other guest that night, a biker from Calgary.

The bathroom is very clean and the bed reasonably comfortable. It was a good deal for the money and if I traveled thru this area again, I would probably stay at Barbara Lynn's.

Thank you
Claire Rodman
Fabulous @ 50
Vancouver, WA, USA

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed there for more than a week in February for skiing. Perfect rooms with a really good shared kitchen. Perfect service and help! Wireless Internet. Hot tub outside the house so you can have a beer and watch the sun set over the mountains after a good day on the mountain resort. Always cleaned and fresh. Value for the money. Good location since its both close to the town/shops and the mountain resort.
I highly recommend this!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_ericsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This country inn is impeccably clean and well run. Although it doesn't include breakfast, we found it well priced and convenient to restaurants and the historic town centre.
Customers leave their shoes in the hall closet and that keeps the place clean and fresh. A warm ski boot storage area is provided. The onsite manager was professional, friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keenest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We did not know until we checked in that breakfast was no longer part of the price at this B&B, and would have stayed elsewhere if we had realized that in time. The owners are trying to sell and would clearly rather be wintering in Arizona. We were the only guests and felt that we were imposing on them by--showing up at the main door instead of the "guest" door, asking for the security code for the internet since internet access was advertised, having to ask to be let in when the electronic lock on the door did not work properly. The heat was not turned on ahead of time and it was still chilly at bed time, and there were no extra blankets. I hope the new owners don't have to dig our from under the damage done by the existing ones.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bctraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snow Valley Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara Lynn's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara Lynn's Country Inn

Property: Barbara Lynn's Country Inn
Address: 691 7th Ave. | Box 1077, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbara Lynn's Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barbara Lynn’s Country Inn offers you the best of worlds, home comfort and hotel privacy. Centrally located an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Relax with other guests in the Guest Lounge/kitchen during your optional breakfast or in the Hot Tub in the winter. Discounts available for seniors, children or extended stay guests. Most rooms have an individual thermostat. Great place, Great rates, come and check us out. Danish spoken. Sorry no pets.Property AmenitiesHot tub during ski season, Free High speed internet access via Wi-Fi or guest computer, Free Parking, Radio Alarm Clock, Shower, Free Local & US and Canada Telephone Calls, Hairdryers available, Ironing board & iron available, Monitored Fire Alarm system, Kitchenette with Refrigerator, Microwave, Kettle, Coffee Machine with free coffee & tea, DVD, Television with Digital Cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barbara Lynn's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fernie
Fernie Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing