We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay for a ski holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Powder Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Whangamata
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay for a ski holiday”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We spent a month at this wonderful reasonably priced Hotel right in the heart of Fernie. You do not need a vehicle as a shuttle stops right outside the lodge and drops yoy at the ski lift 5km away. The supermarket and shops are a 5 min walk away. The hosts Randy and Stephanie are very friendly and obliging . We used the hot tub every day after skiing and while we used the cooking facilities in our unit for most of our meals , Powder Mountain Lodge is surrounded by many eating facilities to suit all budgets. The monthly rate was great and the skiing was amazing. We will definately be back and will stay here again next time. We enjoyed watching the Fernie Ghostriders hockey team at the Arena right next door. Thanks Randy and Stephanie for a wonderful Stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davewebbWhangamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
56
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The Powder Mountain was a great place for us to stay for our winter ski holiday to Fernie. The staff was helpful and friendly and the price, location and facilities suited our family well. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleswparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I have stayed at this place a few times in the previous ski season and had no problems in the past. I was very disappointed with my last stay there over New Years. We were put in a room in which you could barely walk around the bed due to how small it was. The bathroom had black mold over the shower and the floors looked as if they have not been swept in weeks. We traveled with 2 other couples (whom I recommended staying at this lodge). One of the couples actually left after one evenings stay due to how dirty their room was. They also booked for joining rooms with the other couple and were not accomodated. We asked for a larger room the second night we stayed and where told there was no vacancy (even though one of our groups checked out early). The service was very poor and I would not recommend staying here to anyone. We are extremely disappointed and are still waiting for our follow up phone call.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibum010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Ms Bum,

As new owners we thought we could help you enjoy Fernie even though you were already flagged as a problem guest by the previous management. We were wrong.

You threatened a bad review without a discount and here it is. I hope that any reading will clearly see it is completely contrary to our other reviews.

Sincerely

PML Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed here over the Christmas holidays.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and affordable. Customer service is second to none. New management is very friendly and welcoming. Very convenient location - across the street from two restaurants( an excellent sushi bar and Thai/Indian/Japanese restaurant) and a convenience store. A short walk to the downtown area. The shuttle to and from the hill stops here too.

Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will_S_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

we really had a good time here. People are very nice, it is clean and close from the ski resort. It is also cheap and we enjoyed all the features of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed here for two weeks in mid December. Great facilities, very friendly hosts, and great price. Would have no hesitation in recommending Powder Mountain Lodge to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugopass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Powder Mountain was a very inviting and friendly experience. The rooms were nice and very clean with a price that was second to none. We look forward to staying there again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
310 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
162 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#14 of 22 in Fernie
95 reviews
3.2 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Mountain Lodge

Property: Powder Mountain Lodge
Address: 892 3 Hwy, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Powder Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Powder Mountain Lodge is a family owned hotel with a beautiful courtyard housing an outdoor pool and BBQ area. A common room with a full kitchen, pool table, wood burning fireplace & TV area. We offer rooms with 1 or 2 queen beds as well as studio's and 2 queen kitchen suites. We are centrally located and close to all Fernie's amenities and just a short 10 min drive to the ski hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Powder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing