We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where awesomeness comes togeather..”
Review of Lizard Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lizard Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“where awesomeness comes togeather..”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

So i visited lizard creek recently. i was expected normal standard services as other hotels or lodges provide, but I was surprised with their services. the stay was so comfy i can still remember the whole package of goodness they provided during my stay. i remember meeting up front office supervisor (Mr Karan, he was super cool. he helped us a lot during our stay. he was very professional and provided all the information regarding staying, main attraction and other services . I will highly recommend other people to go n stay their.
Vipin

Room Tip: If u Guys visit their ask for Mr. Karan Mallik. He will be awesome, whenever you need any kind of in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vipin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Vipin,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lizard Creek Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that your stay here with us was an enjoyable one.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    179
    53
    33
    19
See reviews for
274
198
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I booked a week away during July. The lodge is usually for skiing but they are trying to bring in summer clients. We had a great time! The staff was fabulous and friendly! This is a must for quiet time! Our room was awesome and the views phenomenal!

Room Tip: We had a loft and the room was spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Dee,

We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and an enjoyable break for you and your husband. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We hope to see you again at Lizard Creek Lodge, summer or winter and hope it’s just as relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've just spent 10 days at Lizard Creek. At check in, I was met by a rather rude and definitely disinterested staff member who couldn't even offer any common courtesies. There was no description of how to use tv or internet. There was no descriptions in the room manual (which only included room service menus - alas, no room service , but this wasn't explained either). There was no information about local services available.

The room was nicely furnished but dim. Only one side of the bed had a reading light and room lights were too dim to read by. The absence of any reachable cupboards to store food in meant food needed to live on kitchen benches (the two cupboards I could have used for food were tiny, and above the fridge, so not reachable without a stool.) The wiring on the kettle was frayed and exposed, so we couldn't use it. Crockery and cutlery was "mix and match" giving and overall feeling of being cobbled together.

"Fully serviced rooms" were hit and miss, and generally just consisted of emptying trash bins (when asked) and toilet paper restocking.

My main issue was the promise of high speed internet access - I needed to be able to stay in touch with my business. Room internet speeds were close to glacial and very sporadic when they were available at all. When I asked about this at the front desk, I was told to sit in the foyer to use it, which is not a feasible option every night. Even in the foyer the internet access was dial up speed at best. I had to find the wifi transmitter under the stairs in the floor below, in order to undertake important business transactions. It would not cost very much to install regular wifi boosters so that the service promoted was what was offered.

At check out, again, disinterested front desk staff, not even the courtesy of "did you enjoy your stay". Fernie mountain is a great venue but Lizard Creek does not live up to what it offers. Will go back to the mountain but would be embarrassed to bring friends back to Lizard Creek.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Heather,

On behalf of the Lizard Creek Lodge I would like to extend our deepest apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced with your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for the feedback and concerns you have expressed, they have been documented and will be investigated by the appropriate department Managers.

We are disappointed to hear your stay was with us was not at its absolute best and we do hope that you would consider a second chance for Lizard Creek Lodge.

We wish you all the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Comfortable rooms but now getting a little frayed around the edges. Although it is a great location right next to the Elk chair, Lizard Creek is decorated in Cliched Canadian Rustic, that is poorly lit and way to much wood. Although there were a number of annoying, mainly small issues, they began to add up.
We were disappointed by the poor WIFI in our room (advertised as being available) which was slow and consistently unreliable. A broken down spa in the adjacent lodge made the one available spa exceptionally crowded. The laundry in our part of the lodge cost to use (change not available from the front desk) but was free in the condos next door. More frustrating was the room service menu in the room information booklet. Eventually after a number of calls we were told at the front desk that room service was no longer being offered. The very small "gourmet" kitchen in our room was barely equipped. Daily room cleaning is cursory at best.

On the plus side, the beds are comfortable and the rooms warm.

Overall Fernie Ski Resort offers some great skiing opportunities but is not on a par with some of the other resorts we have stayed in for variety of food and evening opportunities unless you are prepared to take the drive into town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have been going to Lizard Creek Lodge for almost 10 years now. Every year I return and am pleased with my stay! As time goes on, the rooms become dated and a simple revamping of bed covers and simple furnishings could do wonders for this lodge. The suites have fully equipped kitchens and the bathrooms are a great size as are bedrooms. The location is unbeatable, you can basically ski down to the lifts. Both sections of the lodge have private hot tubs and the main lodge has the gym which is a good size, swimming pool and hot tub. The restaurant is nice and cozy but is expensive.

Overall, it is a fantastic place to stay if you are going with family, families or with couples. It's a home away from home.

Hopefully in time, they will do some simple updates to the rooms to take this lodge to the next level!

I have had a some problems over the years with front desk staff either being unorganized or somewhat unreasonable. These issues are usually resolved in favor of the guest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was a bit worried after reading these bad review on the Lizard lodge, but happy we did go after all: We didn't experience any problems at all, loved our room (2108, although the sofa bed might use replacement), loved the hot tub (the pool was a bit to cold for our baby), too bad the hot tub of our building was closed for maintenance the whole weekend.
Room service did come to check if we needed anything the second day, they were very friendly. The person at the desk helped my husband to look for who accidentally took our daughters ski.
What more can you wish than a hotel that gives you the chance to ski almost straight from the slopes into the swimming pool?
We come from the other side of the world, but if you compare the kindness of the alpine resort-staff, the beautiful environment and the peace on the mountain to european ski resorts, it truly is a reason to fly for 9 hours! We would love to come back some day!

Room Tip: 2108, it is not in the main building, but was nice and spacious. Maybe main building would be even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My rating for 2012 = 4.5 stars.
My rating for 2013 = 2 stars.
Save the money and go to Super 8.

I would like to summarize my family experience staying at Lizard Creek Lodge this 2013 holiday season. My family and an additional 2 families have been annual guests at the Lizard Creek Lodge for a number of consecutive years. In the past we all have been happy to be the recipient of exceptional service, cleanliness and value which had our families returning every year. On numerous occasions I have given a very good recommendation to friends and family but I must rescind any and all positive recommendations and advise to go elsewhere.

A list of substandard items:
- We were met at the front desk by two gentlemen with questionable English language skills and no ability to find our reservation. They shuffled papers for 15 minutes and I finally showed them my reservation lying on the top of the pile he searched 10 times.
- Entered the underground parking to be met by a dirty parking area with garbage piled up outside the elevator exit door and in parking spaces.
- Hot Tub/Pool in main complex, dirty, generally no maintenance in recent months, never any towels, when asked front desk for towels the answer was “they must be in the wash” and that was the end of the conversation. Had to find and go into laundry room and get them.
- Hot Tub/Pool in main complex with numerous tiles missing and in fact my son left with a significantly large gouge out of his foot after swimming due to a missing tile and sharp surface in the pool. A huge safety issue.
- Hot Tub in Building 2 was the most disgusting, dirty, unmaintained and disgraceful place and could be used for chemical warfare testing. I realized the water was so disgustingly dirty after I jumped in with brown scummy bubbles on the top of the water surface and could not see the bottom of the tub. SICK.
- Hot Tub in Building 2 again with no towels and tiles missing from deck and tub with numerous sharp edges.
- Poor maintenance in the hallways and rooms with dirty rooms, cracked walls and very poor room cleaning services.
- General cleanliness and room maintenance is certainly below Canadian standards and certainly well below the previous years standards. One cannot get new towels in the room and we put towels in the bathtub for exchange for two days in a row and they were not replaced. We snuck them from the service cart for use in room and at the pool as no towels there either. Must be a world towel shortage.

All the families loved the skiing but were very disappointed by the service provided by Lizard Creek Lodge especially with a $100 per day increase in room cost from the previous year. One could almost see the lodge falling apart before our eyes. I hope the new management does not let this poor service continue. I may try again next year and will advise of any changes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
310 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#14 of 22 in Fernie
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Creek Lodge

Property: Lizard Creek Lodge
Address: 5346 Highline Dr | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
#3 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lizard Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Creek Lodge is in the perfect ski-in/ski-out position at Fernie Alpine Resort. The outdoor pool and hot tubs overlook the mountains. There are 14 units in the main lodge and 85 residential style condos in two other buildings. Each of our luxurious suites has differing configurations from tudios, one, two and three bedroom suites. They all feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace and private balcony. You'll enjoy coming home and putting your feet up after a great day on the hill. We offer the only full service property on the mountain, with on-site restaurant and day spa. If you are looking for more than just accommodation, we can provide you and your family with the ultimate resort experience. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lizard Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Creek Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing