We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Lake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Park Place Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Fernie(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tree Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powder Mountain Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lizard Creek Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$111
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$99
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow Valley Motel(Fernie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
153
23
8
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
23
8
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscat skiinggravel roadred eaglemountain rangecooked perfectlyold growth forestgreat lunchthe main dining roomskiing experiencehiking and mountain bikingincluded in the packagesnowcat rideleft feelingreubenwonderful trailsdinner serviceworld class skiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 194 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My boyfriend took me on a mystery weekend August 10th, 2007 and we ended up staying at Island Lake Resort for two nights. He had purchased this weekend package via some auction site, so neither one of us had ever heard of this place or been here. The 10 km windy dirt road definitely made it seem like you were in the middle of nowhere. Once we got to the lodge, we were very impressed. Beautiful log buildings greeted us with a marvellous view of the mountain range on all sides. You were indeed in a remote location, situated in a bowl overlooking a small but tranquil lake with an island in the middle.

That first evening, we went for dinner in the Tamarack Lodge (main lodge) and again we were impressed with the ambiance and the dinner menu. The wine selection was extensive and wonderful. Our meal was fantastic, hot and fresh. The prices are not that outrageous. Average meal cost for dinner was roughly $25.00 per person. Cheap, compared to Calgary prices.

Afterwards, we walked down to the lake and they have numerous trails branching off from the lake side. Well marked and the trails well maintained. For giggles, we walked over to the “I DO” point, the lodge’s wedding site. It was beautiful there, with the fish jumping in the lake to the babbling brook and fields of daisies everywhere. This site holds a special memory for me now as my boyfriend proposed to me there, so I maybe a bit bias now.

The next morning we went on a guided hiking trip (free of charge). It was great and the guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. There are miles and miles of trails including an old growth Giant Red Cedar trail. This is a must see if you have never seen 800 year old trees before. If you’re an avid hiker, you will love it here. That afternoon we went to the resort’s spa. It was absolutely wonderful and since we were the last people there that afternoon, the staff let us stay in their Japanese soaker tub for as long as we wished.

The accommodations were wonderful, and we stayed in the Cedar Lodge (their newest building). Our room had a king size bed, with a balcony, fantastic bathroom with a huge soaker tub and large stand up shower. Everything is “green”. They will only change out towels if needed; all the soaps and shampoos are biodegradable. The resort apparently is self sufficient with its own generator and water supply. They thrive on being environmentally friendly and to not intrude on its surroundings. You can see this everywhere. There is no TV or phones which makes this place so tranquil.

I can go on and on about this place. It is fantastic!! You must go if this is your kind of thing. We had never heard of this place before and that is because it used to be, and still is, an exclusive Cat Skiing resort only open in the winter. Now it’s open year round. It’s a wonderful place and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LauraDan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2005

Husband & I stayed at Island Lake for 2 nights. Stayed in a lovely room at the Cedar Lodge bldg at Island Lake Lodge. Room was comfortable, very clean and quiet. A private balcony w/ 2 chairs provided view of the lake and mountains. Resort is off the beaten path which was a plus for us as we enjoyed the isolation and serenity.
Hiking on well marked trails around lake and in mountains plus paddling a canoe around the lake looking for moose kept us busy each day.
The food at breakfast and dinner was very good. We were too busy hiking to eat lunch in.
We were impressed by the quality of the resort and the service. The employees were young, enthusiastic and fun. The resort is a little pricey but we enjoyed the food and the relaxing mountain experience. We had a great time and would return to Island Lake in Fernie.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 500hp_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2005

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend at Island Lake Lodge just outside of Fernie, B.C. and I've come back with mixed feelings.

Let's start with all the good stuff. The 10 km windy gravel road really makes you feel like you're getting to a remote location. And the setting is quite picturesque, small green lake with island surrounded by trees and backdropped by a mountain range. We stayed in the newest lodge, the Tamarack, and the room decor was really nice. Especially liked the shuttered window that let the view and light into the bathroom. We hiked the Baldy Loop trail one day, and the view off the other side of the ridge is amazing. Also enjoyed the gentler trails around the lake and through the forest.

On the downside, our room was beastly hot when we arrived and there's no A/C, not even a ceiling fan. While I'm sure this isn't a problem most of the time, the weekend we were there was very hot - over 30 degrees C. The roof overhang was not enough to provide shade for the room or our deck and as a result, we were only able to enjoy the views from there first thing in the morning and later in the evening after the sun sank behind the mountains. A deck umbrella would have been really nice. Also, our bed was not made one day.

The Tamarack rooms are above the check-in and dining room and as a result, there is general background noise most of the day until about 11:00 p.m. when the dining room patio emptied out. We happened to have someone in the room next door who came and went rather noisily between 1:30 - 2:30 a.m. disrupting our sleep. I mentioned this the next morning and that evening our 2 glasses of wine for dinner were free, so that was kind of them. However, the bag lunch we requested for our hike was outrageously priced. For a tuna sandwich, chocolate bar, apple, moldy peach - $15!!!! I was expecting a very gourmet sandwich for that price.

One day we decided to have a late tapas at the bistro instead of another dinner in the dining room. The employees at the reception desk said the bistro was open until 5:30 p.m. and we arrived at 4:30. We made our decision from the menu and only then were informed they were out of that item. So we made another choice. Then about 5:10 or so we wanted to order dessert, but were informed the kitchen closed at 5:00. After I mentioned we had been told it was open till 5:30, the waitress said she'd ask the chef if we could have dessert and he obliged. Still, for a resort that prides itself in serving an "affluent and elite clientele" (as stated in the resort info binder in our room) I would expect appropriate service. Surely this includes informing guests before they make the menu selections what items are not available, and if it's close to closing time, inquire if there's anything else they would like before the kitchen closes.

Generally, I would say the food was good, but not excellent. Each evening you could choose between a table d'hote menu or a la carte. Although the resort also prides itself on its extensive wine collection, the wait staff did not seem any more knowledgable about wines than any other restaurant we've been to.

They could also use more benches spaced around the lake as the two chairs and one bench just below the lodges were quite inadequate the weekend we were there. A few more scattered along the other side of the lake and in shady locations would be great.

So, I'm rating this 4 out 5 for the incredible natural setting, but wishing the service was as high-end as the resort claims to be and as the prices are.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sombrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2004

There couldn't be a better fresh water fishing spot in North America. Not only is the fishing great but so are the staff. They are friendly and are doing whatever they can to help you. I make annual trips, and each one gets better. Worth every penny spent. The lake is beautiful and the fish bug, make sure to check it out.
Greg Glenn

2  Thank gglenn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews