We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, catered to allergies, beautiful scenery and hikes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, catered to allergies, beautiful scenery and hikes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were here for a wedding in July 2012 and were very impressed. I am gluten intolerant and my girlfriend is lactose intolerant. The staff catered to our restrictions and made some amazing meals. I was very impressed with the food, the service and the helpfulness of the staff.

Nearby hiking trails are maintained and very nice. The lodges have a lovely rustic feel but with hot tubs! Scenery from the lodge is great but the lake is very questionable up close. Would have been nice to do some of the longer hikes but didn't have time for them.

One downside is the road to get to the lodge, which is a little precarious with cars going both directions and a shear drop on one side. This could be dicey in winter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    19
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
65
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had such a great time on our wedding weekend, the staff was so friendly felt like we were family, the food was amazing all our guests didn't want to leave. it couldn't have been a more perfect weekend, can't wait to go back. So much fun.

Room Tip: Tamerack rooms 3 and 4 offer the best balcony views there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were very impressed with size, decor and cleanliness of the rooms. We appreciated the friendly and helpful staff. The food both in presentation and in quality was superb. If you have a balcony room you have magnificent views of the mountains and the lake.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the lawn and the lake are sunny and offer the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by everyone we met between the parking lot and the front desk, especially Riley. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is so very fresh and tasty. Words cannot describe the scenery; you will just have to experience it yourself. The hiking trails are well groomed which made climbing up to Spineback incredible and fairly easy to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYLemoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was there for a wedding weekend and had a fantastic time. From the great food and service to relaxing at night in a hot tub, to waking up in the mountains with canoeing or hiking at our fingertips, it was all around such an enjoyable weekend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tupp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Thank you for being open! The last time I visited Island Lake Lodge, the restaurant was closed for a private function, which was very disappointing. This time, we persevered, travelled up the mountain to this little piece of heaven at the top, and we were not disappointed. The lodge has a beautiful outdoor patio where you can have a drink, eat great food, and enjoy the beautiful mountains. No trip to Fernie is complete without a trek up to Island Lake Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent a night mid week up at Island Lake lodge and it was absolutely stunning. I had always assumed that the prices would be out of my range but now I know that they are on par with most restaurants in Fernie. Our server told us that the chef seeks out locally grown food wherever possible. They even bought a head of cow from a farmer only 10 kms away. When our food came out everyone took photos of each plate as it looked like a work of art, complete with an edible flower that has a peppery flavour (I wish I would have asked the name of the flower). Our server for dinner was incredible. She made our experience outstanding and had great recommendations for wine within our budget. I have two small children and when we asked the reservations staff if we could have a room between us and the next guest she went even further and arranged for us to be in one of the older lodges in order for us to be by ourselves. We were in a room that was adjacent to the “common area” and it felt as though we had an entire living space to ourselves. The common area opens to a large deck with great views of the wild mountain range that the lodge sits adjacent to. Our 2 year old thought that it would be fun to wake up at 6 am (argh), so dad took him for a little hike down to the lake. The photos we got from that early morning jaunt are spectacular. Breakfast was delicious, we experimented with food that we didn’t even know the names of it and it was absolutely delicious and fresh. I’ve always thought of Island Lake as a great place to go for a special occasion but I’m going to make a point to go more often now that I have done a little price comparing. Being surrounded by that nature and enjoying that lovingly prepared food is good for the soul. And there’s nothing like enjoying a post-dinner coffee sitting on the deck and watching the sun set on that mountain range. Stunning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeartMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernie
5.1 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
5.0 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
5.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Lake Lodge

Property: Island Lake Lodge
Address: 602A 2nd Ave. | Box 1229, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Fernie
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Lake Lodge is a multi-season property located in Fernie BC. The main focus is Catskiing in the winter. Summer includes: dining, hiking, spa, mountain biking, fly fishing, corporate retreats and a spectacular wedding venue. Experience this gem of the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Lake Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing