We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Northern

Northern
Ranked #26 of 54 Restaurants in Fernie
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sherwood Park
Level Contributor
185 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great wings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Have eaten here a couple of times and found the wings and burgers to be quite good, everything else seems somewhat plain. The place is small and can get quite crowded. Service was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wolfden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fernie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heart attack...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Was warned before coming here, but thought we would give it a try anyway. Worst meal ever. Can I just say one thing, it's not necessary to dump salt all over a meal for seasoning. My steak was so incredibly salty I could barely eat it. The fries were none the better. My partner didn't finish his meal due to the same reason. Find a different seasoning! For $77 we left disappointed and incredibly bloated. We won't be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pebbles2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Delicious food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ate dinner here with group of friends on a Saturday night, was a little busy but the service was awesome. Tasty food and friendly staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Selina621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service is poor and food is horrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Took over an hour to get our food even although there were a few people in restaurant.. Their excuse was that the computer was not working and the kitchen did not get our order.

We ordered steak sandwiches and the meat was fatty and very though. Clearly not grade A meat. Very disappointing meal

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MVR154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good bar. Average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Visited for burger and beer. Not as good as last couple of years.
Burger was decidedly average and overcooked and plate seemed to be missing something. Didn't it used to have a dish of beans or something with it? Was ok but that's the best I could say.
Atmosphere of bar was busy and lively enough staff seemed friendly.
In terms of value for money I'd rather have paid a couple of dollars more for a better plate of food.
Will maybe try again next week as this could have just been an off night!

Helpful?
Thank alibongobaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Northern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing