We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel with great service in Fernie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality hotel with great service in Fernie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2006

My wife and I enjoyed a comfortable stay at the Park Place Lodge in Fernie BC. The hotel is located along the highway in the middle of town. It was an easy walk to reach main street downtown where most of the shops are. We had booked a room with a balcony and when we checked in, I asked if a unit with a king bed was available. They upgraded us to the king at no cost and it was great feature of the room. The hotel staff are friendly and we enjoyed dinner in the restuarant. There is also a great sushi restaurant across the srteet from the hotel. Certainly a positive experience and we plan to come back and stay at the hotel with our kids on a ski trip in March.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask to upgrade to a room with a king size bed
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MYAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
45
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maui
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2006

After reading all the glowing reviews I looked forward to our trip to Fernie. We found the Tripadvisor reviews to be less than helpful or accurate. We booked a deluxe suite for 3 nights. The first room they put us in was right beside the highway. I mean right beside- the roar of trucks and other traffic was extrememly loud. We called the front desk and asked to be moved to a room at the back. They did move us to a much smaller room (at a reduced rate) that was away from the highway but on top of a residential road. There was less traffic but street noise (boombox cars, people walking by talking etc) travelled easily and was very disruptive at night. The room decor is cheery but very cheap. The sheets were polyester or something (certainly not cotton or comfortable). The bedding was scratchy the bed was lumpy and I slept very poorly. The bed really grossed me out. The couch was dirty-my husband had dirt on his shirt from sitting on the couch. Overall, the hotel is a 2 trying to dress up as a 9. If you are expecting semi luxurious, clean accomadations you will be very disapointed.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grossedoutbycarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2006

This is one of the best hotels in Fernie. It is in the most central location on the main road through Fernie, and is approximately a 10 minute walk into the main high street of the town and is approx 15 mins to the slopes on the ski bus (about the 2nd/3rd pick up so you always get a seat).
The rooms were large and clean and the beds really comfortable. Our room was at the back of the hotel which was quieter and had a balcony with great views of the mountains however,we didnt use it much as it was too cold! Our room also had a kitchen area with a fridge and microwave which was really useful.
The hotel has a swimming pool and jacuzzi and a restaurant (which we didnt eat at). Best of all there is an off license at the back of the hotel and a pub attached to the hotel which is really nice with a good atmosphere and serves good quality food at a reasonable price. We would have eaten in there every night but felt that we should get out and explore the town. Didnt find many other restaurants that appealed to us on the main high street but there is a boston pizza about a 15 minute walk away, and a indian and a sushi restaurant across the main road. If you get the chance would definately recommend the dog sledding trip and also going to an ice hockey game at the local ice rink.

Helpful?
3 Thank CatIrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2006

WE arrived 22 Feb not knowing what to expect,how pleasantly surprised we were.
Fantastic staff and management team, nothing was too much trouble for any of them they really did go the extra mile.
Even during an emergency when a coach caught fire out side and it was necessary to evacuate the hotel the staff were brilliant. Once the hotel was reopened each of us was escorted to our rooms by a member of the management team to ensure it was safe and that our property had not been smoke damaged or that our rooms did not smell of smoke and were un-inhabitable.

Our room was a standard room with two double beds lots of space T.V. microwave tea/coffee making equipment/supplies.

Well done you played an important part in making our holiday the brilliant experience it was.
Thank you all we shall return to Fernie and The Park Place Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2006

I notice all the details in a hotel experience and all details were wonderful on our 2-night visit to The Park Place Lodge. We stayed in a studio unit on the front side of the hotel. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the views from the deck were spectacular. My husband decided not to ski on the Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed lounging around in the hotel. The Breakfast buffet was great especially on the Sunday when they had Eggs Benedict on the buffet. We also had a fantastic dinner Saturday night at the Old Elevator Restaurant, which apparently is also owned by the same family who own the hotel. The biggest plus to the entire stay was the staff. They were very friendly and when you ask for anything, they genuinely wanted to help you. If you are looking for a hotel who makes you feel like you’re the only ones there, this is it. I would definitely go back to the same hotel on a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2006

We stayed one night at the Park Place Lodge. We had reserved for two nights,in order to ski @ Fernie, but cancelled the second night's stay after seeing the room.

The hotel is very clean and well maintained, with nice furnishings and friendly staff. The also accept small pets, which is a bonus for pet lovers.

However, the room we were given was rather odd. The large window fronted onto an interior corridor, which ran around the perimeter of the atrium housing the pool and hottub. The curtains had to remain shut so that people walking around couldn't see into the room. The only other window was tiny and high up in the rear wall--very little sunlight/daylight or fresh air! There was also a track light that ran around the ceiling for additional light. It was strange--we felt like we were in an arena change room or something similar. In addition, our room was directly over the very popular pub. While the pub is great, we did enjoy the food and beer, it closes at 01:00 so we were unable to sleep until about 02:00.

This was not a good place for a peaceful night's sleep and we were very thankful that we had cancelled the second night. (We had to stay the one night due to the 7 day cancellation policy.) When this was mentioned at checkout, the clerk was surprised that we didn't know that we had a room over the pub. Apparently, the noise levels in these rooms is well known.

We did pay a premium to stay here during the holiday season and were very disappointed. In addition we were charged extra for a third person who didn't accompany us and was specifically mentioned as not being with us at check in.

It is not likely that we would ever stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Love2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2005

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel while on a business trip. I was very impressed by the friendliness and courtesy of all staff. The spacious room was very clean and comfortable with good quality amenities. I have stayed at many hotels on many business trips in B.C. and this rates as the best I have stayed in except for a couple of 4 stars in Vancouver at considerably higher price. As for the staff, I have never seen better anywhere and rarely their equal. I can't comment on the restaurant except for the Sunday breakfast buffet which was the only meal taken there. I would skip it and order from the menu - the buffet was lacking in selection and quality. I would certainly stay here on a return trip to beautiful Fernie.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Okanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.0 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Property: Park Place Lodge
Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing