We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small details add up to a great experience.”
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Kalispell, Montana
226
Reviewed January 24, 2006

I notice all the details in a hotel experience and all details were wonderful on our 2-night visit to The Park Place Lodge. We stayed in a studio unit on the front side of the hotel. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the views from the deck were spectacular. My husband decided not to ski on the Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed lounging around in the hotel. The Breakfast buffet was great especially on the Sunday when they had Eggs Benedict on the buffet. We also had a fantastic dinner Saturday night at the Old Elevator Restaurant, which apparently is also owned by the same family who own the hotel. The biggest plus to the entire stay was the staff. They were very friendly and when you ask for anything, they genuinely wanted to help you. If you are looking for a hotel who makes you feel like you’re the only ones there, this is it. I would definitely go back to the same hotel on a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 174 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2006

We stayed one night at the Park Place Lodge. We had reserved for two nights,in order to ski @ Fernie, but cancelled the second night's stay after seeing the room.

The hotel is very clean and well maintained, with nice furnishings and friendly staff. The also accept small pets, which is a bonus for pet lovers.

However, the room we were given was rather odd. The large window fronted onto an interior corridor, which ran around the perimeter of the atrium housing the pool and hottub. The curtains had to remain shut so that people walking around couldn't see into the room. The only other window was tiny and high up in the rear wall--very little sunlight/daylight or fresh air! There was also a track light that ran around the ceiling for additional light. It was strange--we felt like we were in an arena change room or something similar. In addition, our room was directly over the very popular pub. While the pub is great, we did enjoy the food and beer, it closes at 01:00 so we were unable to sleep until about 02:00.

This was not a good place for a peaceful night's sleep and we were very thankful that we had cancelled the second night. (We had to stay the one night due to the 7 day cancellation policy.) When this was mentioned at checkout, the clerk was surprised that we didn't know that we had a room over the pub. Apparently, the noise levels in these rooms is well known.

We did pay a premium to stay here during the holiday season and were very disappointed. In addition we were charged extra for a third person who didn't accompany us and was specifically mentioned as not being with us at check in.

It is not likely that we would ever stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Love2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2005

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel while on a business trip. I was very impressed by the friendliness and courtesy of all staff. The spacious room was very clean and comfortable with good quality amenities. I have stayed at many hotels on many business trips in B.C. and this rates as the best I have stayed in except for a couple of 4 stars in Vancouver at considerably higher price. As for the staff, I have never seen better anywhere and rarely their equal. I can't comment on the restaurant except for the Sunday breakfast buffet which was the only meal taken there. I would skip it and order from the menu - the buffet was lacking in selection and quality. I would certainly stay here on a return trip to beautiful Fernie.

Stayed: April 2005
5  Thank Okanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2005

We had an excellent stay at the Park Place lodge. The hotel is in a very good location with the ski bus picking up and dropping off right outside the door (approx 10 mins to ski area) and only a 5 minute walk into the town with a great snowbording shop just over the road (Edge of the World) The hotel was very clean with good facilities & the staff were really friendly & helpful. The pub that is also part of the hotel was also very good and probably one of the liveliest places in Fernie. Will definately stay here again when we return to Fernie

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Medicine Hat, AB
112
Reviewed January 7, 2004

Headed to Fernie for the weekend. Stayed at the Park Place Lodge because it was in the centre of town and could walk to downtown, local restaurants, bars, etc. We stayed in a Junior Studio which was awesome!
King Bed, kitchenette, tons of room. Staff at the hotel were very friendly, especially the staff at the Pub. They ROCK! Had an incedibly fun Saturday night there. Overall, a first class hotel to stay at and because it is in town, a very fair price for what you get. Shuttle to ski hill was very convenient as well.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiara o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schludervogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
390 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: $123 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing