We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We did a quick stop for one night as part of our honeymoon two weeks ago. It was very clean and had an updated, modern feel to it. The rooms were vary spacious and we loved the complimentary soaps and shampoo- they were divine! I loved that the rooms surrounded the pool and hot tub area, made it very accessible to take a quick dip. We had a chance to dine at the Pub and have a few drinks as well, which was very convenient as it is attached to the hotel. All around really great stay, I will be staying here again when we visit Fernie!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Ash T
Thank you for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge. It is always wonderful to hear our guests are able to enjoy so many of the amenities we have to offer, especially during such a short stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Park Place Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are going to welcome hockey teams into your hotel, then expect kids to be there! Also, we are responsible adults in our 30's and 40's who don't appreciate being told to go to our rooms when we are paying customers! We understand there is quiet time, which we all can appreciate, but there is a right and a wrong way of telling your paying customers to "GO TO BED!" The wrong way is when you tell customers that they are being too loud and disrespectful and to go to bed or you are calling the cops! The hotel was full of hockey teams and you should expect a little team bonding to occur!

If you want a good time as a family or with a team, DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!

You can be sure that those involved with OUR Minor Hockey club will be choosing ANY other hotel over yours in the future!

And PS, the hot tub water is brown!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear mlferris

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations.

With respect to your concern about our hotel policies, I think it is fair to share with you and our TripAdvisor viewers what our policies are. We simply ask sport teams staying at the hotel to respect the same policies that all guests are expected to adhere to. These include:

- No excessive noise in guest rooms or public areas.
- No consumption of alcohol in public, un-licensed areas including the lobby, pool and atrium.
- Should the hotel receive a complaint from other guests regarding a guest’s behavior, our staff will advise the guest of the complaint. If there is a second complaint made, the guest will be asked to leave the premises.

As a courtesy, these policies are communicated to all groups prior to check-in, at check-in and, if necessary, during their stay. In this particular incident, the policy was communicated to members of your group a number of times during the night in question. It is unfortunate that you do not approve of our hotel policies but in order for us to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay, we are obligated to enforce such policies.

Your concerns regarding our staff communications and the hot tub condition have been shared with our guest services staff and maintenance team. Steps have already been taken address these items.

Once again thank you for your input. We strive to operate a facility where all guests, including sports teams, will have an enjoyable stay. We will use your feedback to help ensure guests have a positive experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

There was a nice valued place to stay that was a short drive from the mountain. Stayed for two nights in March. All the staff were super friendly and the room was nice and clean. Stay on the backside of the hotel on the top floor as it is quieter. The rooms are away from the main street and the 1 st and 2nd floor rooms have doorways that overlook the pool area. Had an LCD TV and a comfy bed. If you're looking for some good eats, check out the pub in the hotel. Found that little gem our second night there. Good food, even better atmosphere. Plus they were having Trivia night. It was a blast. The liquor store there also had a really good wine selection.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top (3rd) floor on the backside. It's quieter in those rooms plus the hall do...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jreuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear jreuto,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be clean and comfortable. The Pub Bar & Grill hosts Trivia weekly if you are interested in entering during your next visit! Our Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop proudly stocks over 350 different wines to satisfy any palette, we hope you found something you enjoyed. Thank you once again, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here last weekend on a fishing trip. The Lodge is well located, modern and well appointed. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, as we arrived late. Our room was clean, with 2 queen beds, good closet and storage space, large TV, well equipped bathroom, coffee maker and small fridge. It also had real glasses-not plastic! The room was quiet, the staff very pleasant and helpful, and we will stay here again on our next trip to Fernie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlew1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Curlew1978,
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Whether it is a simple overnight stay or an extended stay, we want every guest to feel as though we are their home away from home, and we believe it is the small things (like glass’) that can make all the difference. We look forward to your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is locally owned and does not feel like your standard hotel experience. The staff at the front desk is friendly knowledgeable and tries to accommodate all of your requests. I would recommend this hotel it has a good restaurant in it with friendly service. It also has a wine and beer store attached to the hotel as well as a Pub. Parking is good and very centrally located. although it has all the amenities it is just a quick walk uptown if you want to dine out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaandclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear lindaandclyde,
Thank you so much for reviewing our property and your kind words. We are pleased you appreciated all of the amenities our hotel offers, including the close proximity to our beautiful downtown. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been staying here for 10yrs while fishing in Fernie. The rooms are nice, staff is friendly and helpful. For some reason I've never really done much with the pool and hot tube but being connected to The Pub is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony and see the Ghostrider at dusk!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your continued patronage to the Park Place Lodge. We are thrilled that you have made The Park Place Lodge your home away from home during your yearly fly fishing trip, and that our staff take care of you. We can completely understand that you have not enjoyed the luxury of our pool and hot tub after being on the water all day, maybe a winter holiday will change that. The Pub has always been a favorite of locals and travellers alike, we are pleased you agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here in July and had a great time. We ate breakfast there before we left and it was good. Our room was clean and had a lcd tv. We also went into the Pub which had a nice menu and comfortable chairs. Overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie G, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Gerry,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge. We are thrilled that you had the time to experience and enjoy both our Max Restaurant and The Pub Bar & Grill. We look forward to your next visit to Fernie and The Park Place Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: $131 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing