We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time for all”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun time for all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Every year, our family has a family reunion. For the past three or four years, we have all descended on the Park Place Lodge for this 3 day gathering. We really enjoy our time in Fernie and at the Lodge. The rooms are great, the balcony that joins many of the rooms provides get-together space for family. The pool and hot tub are centrally located with easy access and easy viewing from many of the rooms in the hotel. We have enjoyed this location in the past and hope to go again next year. The staff is very helpful, the facilities are clean and comfortable, It just works great for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Elaine C,

Wow! Thank you for your very kind words – hearing praise like that really makes us want to try harder than ever. We have shared your comments with all our staff and you made a whole bunch of people beam with smiles of pleasure. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    56
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
32
45
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St.Albert
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

During a recent overnighter my wife and I had my favourite mother-in-law along so wanted to have a decent experience as other motels in town had been quite 'average'. We had a very spacious room for three which had two queen beds and was in immaculate condition. The bathroom was also quite large and very well appointed. A balcony opened up onto the highway which while had a nice view was a bit noisy with the traffic going through town. Even the WiFi worked fine which was much appreciated. The lobby is well appointed and opens onto a good sized pool and hot tub in the central part of the building. Lots of places to sit and enjoy the ambience which was quite impressive. Also a pub and a well stocked liquor store which can be accessed from inside the motel. While personally was not that happy with a very average meal in the restaurant in all fairness my wife and mil were happy with what they had. It seemed like they were having some issues in the kitchen as it wasn't that busy and we waited quite a while for our meals. Needless to say it was a Sunday night and am sure that the regular chefs wouldn't have been working. We loved our waitress who was just starting out and was quite charming! The girls on the front desk were also quite personable and accommodating. The cost was a bit more than some other offerings in town <$190 including taxes for the three of us> but was certainly worth it. Would definitely recommend this motel to others and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room that doesn't front the highway - but not a major issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TajanderStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear TajanderStAlbert,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay and we will pass on your kind comments to our staff. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations in our restaurant. We continue to work with our kitchen team to provide exceptional meal service to all of our guests and will share your feedback with them. We thank you again for your generous comments and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

They are replacing the carpets here so it is like a construction site. Piled up old caroet and bare floors and associated noise. The rooms are hot. Thermostat in room not working so have to use air con which sounds like a train. If you turn it off and open the window the traffic noise is horrendous. The breakfast is good but service is very slow and servers seem more interested in socializing than serving.

Room Tip: Stay at Best Western. If you have to stay here, don't stay on front side facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear JudyM:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are very disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and that noise had a negative impact on your stay. We are pleased to announce that the new carpet installation is complete. We have shared your concerns with our maintenance team and restaurant staff.
We apologize again for your inconvenience and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The room was clean, large and the bed was comfortable. The room was very quiet; we did not hear anything from our fellow travellers. We were in a room in the back of the hotel, so did not have a mountain view, but you only have to step outside to see the beautiful scenery that Fernie has to offer. It is only a few blocks from the downtown core, and there are restaurants close by if you chose to eat elsewhere. The ski hill is a short drive away, so everything is close at hand. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BcSunluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Enjoyed the Fish & Chips and a Big Caboose. The fish was good enough to have been poached. But the batter was almost worth having to work off the extra calories - very crisp and made from scratch I believe. The Big Caboose is a draft beer from their local brewery http://www.ferniebrewing.com/big-caboose-red-ale named in tribute to their rail-side heritage. Our server was attentive and good humored. The worst (minor) thing was the room lacked some freshness and ventilation. I had a good Greek Salad here the time before, and possibly the same server, so they have some continuity and consistency. Summary: Food second only to http://www.tripadvisor.ca/Hotel_Review-g182167-d611043-Reviews-Fernie_Stanford_Resort-Fernie_Kootenay_Rockies_British_Columbia.html which is where I usually stay, and the taps and service as good as any in Fernie.

Room Tip: Remember the front is the Highway 3 (big trucks through the night) side, and the rear the railroad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear darryh,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Pub Bar & Grill. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our food and drinks and we have advised our service team of your kind words. We brought your concerns to the attention of our maintenance team. We look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I prefer to stay in town rather than on mountain, and this place works well. It's a short walk to the town center and an easy drive to the resort. Staff are friendly and the pool is always popular, which gives it a good family friendly feel.

The room we had was 2 queen beds and it was massive, with a nice balcony. The Pub attached to the lodge is busy during the ski season and provides good pub food. A very short walk to Fernie Memorial Arena for catching a Ghostriders game.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Jarrod S.

Thank you for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the amenities in our facility. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you took advantage of our location. We look forward to being of service to you and your family on your next Fernie Vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Park Place Lodge for a few days over new years. The location is great. A short drive to the hill, close to restaurants and grocery stores. Our room was nice. Fairly big, was clean had a fridge, microwave and dishes/ utensils. The hot tub was a fair size and a nice size pool as well. Our room was a little noisy. We booked last minute so had a room right off the pool/hot tub so heard everything. Also was noisy after the bar shut down and people were walking through main pool area. We booked late and it was NYE so we didn’t find it too big of a deal. Would suggest a different room away from the pool though if you have the option.

We liked the convenience of having a liquor board, lounge and restaurant right in the hotel. Our only real complaint is we had REALLY long waits for our food. We tried the lounge a couple times and went to the restaurant but when told it was a 45 minute wait we decided to get it sent to our room instead of sitting and waiting. We waited over 1.5 hours for it to get to our room (we didn’t order anything fancy) and were not happy with what we got however we were tired, hungry and didn’t want to have to send it back. We always got the same excuse that they were busy and the kitchen was backed up. There was never more than 2 other tables in the restaurant when we were there. The lounge was full but if people were eating it was usually just finger food/deep fried type things. Unfortunately had to send food back twice in lounge. Once because it was ice cold and the other because they brought me the wrong thing. They did rectify things quickly both times though.

Overall the hotel was good and we would stay again. Just might venture out a bit more for meals.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmc484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear wmc484:

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Park Place Lodge and appreciated the value of our location. We are very sorry that your experience with our Food and Beverage department did not meet your expectations. While it is no excuse we would like you to know that our restaurant, pub and room service are all serviced by the same kitchen. We experienced staff shortages this winter and while our small team tried to keep up they were unfortunately not always able to do so. We continue to work hard to build a larger and stronger team so that we can ensure more prompt service. Again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Property: Park Place Lodge
Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing