We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Stay Again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Place Lodge
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Would Stay Again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Park Place Lodge for a few days over new years. The location is great. A short drive to the hill, close to restaurants and grocery stores. Our room was nice. Fairly big, was clean had a fridge, microwave and dishes/ utensils. The hot tub was a fair size and a nice size pool as well. Our room was a little noisy. We booked last minute so had a room right off the pool/hot tub so heard everything. Also was noisy after the bar shut down and people were walking through main pool area. We booked late and it was NYE so we didn’t find it too big of a deal. Would suggest a different room away from the pool though if you have the option.

We liked the convenience of having a liquor board, lounge and restaurant right in the hotel. Our only real complaint is we had REALLY long waits for our food. We tried the lounge a couple times and went to the restaurant but when told it was a 45 minute wait we decided to get it sent to our room instead of sitting and waiting. We waited over 1.5 hours for it to get to our room (we didn’t order anything fancy) and were not happy with what we got however we were tired, hungry and didn’t want to have to send it back. We always got the same excuse that they were busy and the kitchen was backed up. There was never more than 2 other tables in the restaurant when we were there. The lounge was full but if people were eating it was usually just finger food/deep fried type things. Unfortunately had to send food back twice in lounge. Once because it was ice cold and the other because they brought me the wrong thing. They did rectify things quickly both times though.

Overall the hotel was good and we would stay again. Just might venture out a bit more for meals.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmc484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear wmc484:

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Park Place Lodge and appreciated the value of our location. We are very sorry that your experience with our Food and Beverage department did not meet your expectations. While it is no excuse we would like you to know that our restaurant, pub and room service are all serviced by the same kitchen. We experienced staff shortages this winter and while our small team tried to keep up they were unfortunately not always able to do so. We continue to work hard to build a larger and stronger team so that we can ensure more prompt service. Again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
44
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was in town for work and i stayed at park Place Lodge for 4 days. This hotel will make you feel as though you have come home. The bed was very comfortable with excellent quality bed linen. Large flat screen tv ,comfortable chairs. It's very clean. Lots of windows so it was all very bright. The facilities like the Hot Tubs and indoor pools are great, the hotel is exceptionally beautiful, and the service is superb.I ordered room service every morning which was delivered quickly and food is very good.

They took care of every details that you need to make your stay as comfy and convenient as it can be.They go extra mile with the services that they provided.

In all honesty, I couldn't ask for more. I had an awesome experience and I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye_owfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Kaye_Owfg:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding our facilities. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt that our customer service team provided an excellent guest experience. We do look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at Park Place Lodge on a recent staff trip to Fernie. The service was exceptional, and the staff were extremely friendly. I received many comments from members of the group about the quality of the rooms & facilities. The breakfast buffet was delicious and there was plenty of food to ensure that everyone left for a day riding with plenty of energy! We really felt looked after and at home during our stay, and I will definitely be recommending that future staff groups also stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyJeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear traceyjeffery:

We are so happy that your group returned to Fernie and the Park Place Lodge for another successful event. Thank you so much for your gracious comments regarding our staff and facilities. We are very happy to see that you would recommend our property. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Hi,

I stayed at this hotel in late November and found a needle (used?) tucked behind the light fixture in my washroom. I went down and reported it to the front desk and they offered me a new room. I told the girl that this was not acceptable that it wasn't observed when cleaning the room (all I did was look up at the light and there it was) and that this was a pretty serious thing. (I remember when West Edm Mall made the Edm Sun over a similar situation.) No manager was on duty, so I called to speak to one a few days later. She apologized and said that she'd send me a gift certificate in the mail. That was 4 weeks ago...and I still have no gift certificate. I go down to Fernie quite often for work and this was the first time I'd stayed at the Park Place Lodge...I will only be staying at the Best Western from now on. I wasn't going to post anything on here about the negative experience, however I was very disappointed at the fact that they lied about the gift certificate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Megan 737:
We too are extremely disappointed that such a situation occurred and agree that this should have been noticed by our housekeeping staff and have discussed this with them. We are very happy to see that our guest services team offered to upgrade you to another room on a complimentary basis. We are very sorry that the follow thru on this did not happen the way it should have. As you are aware we have now rectified the situation and hope that you are happy with the solution. We have implemented a further check system to ensure that follow thru happens properly in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We ended up in Fernie late with no reservations thinking it was "off season" so therefore not a problem...however it was busy. Disney was filming a movie. Hotels were booked. We managed to get a room here and although the room is small it was very comfortable. It had a sink/counter
area outside the bathroom which made it good for getting ready in the morning. Beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Suzi_mom:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Park Place Lodge. Yes, it is currently a very busy time in Fernie and at the Park Place Lodge due to the Film Crew. We are very happy that we were able to accommodate you and that you would recommend our facilities. We hope we can be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just hosted a multi-day work seminar at this place. The staff were very professional, responsive, and easy to work with. We had breakfasts, lunches, and dinners there, and my guests were pleased with the quality of the food from the lodge's kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilthxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Lilthxi:

Thank you so much for your recent review regarding your company seminar at the Park Place Lodge and your kind comments regarding our staff. We are very pleased that your guests were happy with the meals supplied by our Max Restaurant. We do hope you will consider the Park Place Lodge for any future events your company may be hosting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on the September long weekend for 16 years. I've watched it go through several renovations and always am impressed with the amazing long time staff. I have never had a bad visit. The lounge attached to the hotel is a great lace to catch up with friends after a day of golf or skiing.

Room Tip: If you can justify the costs go for luxury suites. Really good value or ask for a room with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FootsaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear FootsaCalgary:

We are very happy to see that after 16 years of staying with us that you were kind enough to take the time to write a review on trip advisor. Thank you for your kind words regarding our facilities and staff. We do hope that your yearly visits to the Park Place Lodge will continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.0 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Property: Park Place Lodge
Address: 742 3 Hwy | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing