We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B I've Stayed At”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blackstone Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Fernie B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best B&B I've Stayed At”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I recently stayed here a few nights as part of a Sacred Rides mountain biking tour. If I could give them 10 stars I would. The lodge was beautiful, warm, inviting and thoughtfully designed...everything that everyone else has said. The food was delicious and Charlotte makes an *amazing* eggs benedict!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
87
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Ian and Charlotte Willis are charming and experienced hosts, greeting their guests as friends. The massive logs used in the construction of their large and airy Lodge are entirely appropriate for the setting among the dramatic mountains surrounding Fernie. The bedrooms are well equipped, the beds are comfortable, the public rooms are large and well furnished. Everything is new and crisp, the Lodge having just been completed in January 2011. A handsomely equipped kitchen is continuously available for the exclusive use of guests. Ian and Charlotte cook and serve ample and delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here unexpectedly on a drive through to Nelson. We used trip advisor and this was the first B&B to come up and for obvious reasons. I don't even know where to start. First off, they were extremely accommodating to find a cozy place to sleep for my dog as they do not allow pets in the main house (again once inside you would see why). They recommended an amazing restaurant for us to grab dinner, the bed was the comfiest bed we've ever laid in, our view was amazing, our sleep was like none other and our breakfast was delicious. We had a chance to talk to Ian in the morning and found out this place can also be turned in to a self catered house. We will definitely be coming back in the future!!! Ps. If you want an amazing meal while you're in Fernie....go to Picnic!!

Room Tip: Any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

I visited blackstone lodge in June and was simply amazed. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. There was a warm and friendly welcome from our hosts. I was travelling with a sacred rides tour who booked the lodge on our behalf. As I was mountain biking for the duration of the stay, the cooked breakfasts were made to suit. The breakfast was of very high standard and plentiful. The amenities for our group were fantastic, washing machine, tumble drier and a 'mud room' for us to store our bikes. The rooms were large and comfortable as well as clean. The lounge and tv room were comfortable, great for chilling out post ride.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrasherCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed with Ian and Charlotte within a Sacred Rides tour.
An absolutely gorgeous B&B by far one of the best you could ever stay at! Exceeded my expectations completely!
Both Ian and Charlotte are extremely accommodating, down to earth and very helpful and great cooks!
Fantastic people!
Will definitely bring my wife here for a Fernie getaway very soon!
Thank you so much Ian and Charlotte you made wonderful impression and memory of Fernie for me and im sure the rest of the Sacred Ride riders!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddgonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just stayed one night on route from Calgary to Nelson but would loved to have stayed longer. Fully support the 5* rating given in other reviews.Everything about this place was superb from the quality of the accomodation (including 6ft , 4 poster beds), the fabulous views from our bedroom, 60 inch TV in lounge,outdoor hot tub, great breakfast & warm welcome by hosts. Lots of interesting shops to explore in the village & a range of restaurants make this a great place for a break or longer stay. Blackstone Lodge receives our strongest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterwilliamsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

I travelled with my boyfriend and another couple, and it was really the accommodation that made our trip. The skiing was really fun and we had an awesome time on the hill, but we will never forget staying a Blackstone. Everything was beautiful, there was no detail of the room and our stay that wasn't impeccable. The beds were extremely comfortable, the decor was breathtaking, and the kitchen was stocked up with everything you would need including coffee and tea you could make at any hour of the day. We felt completely at home there and Ian and Charlotte are very nice and fun people. They made a delicious breakfast with great variety. The highlight was the awesome hot tub! But make sure you bring sandals to wear out to it, and a few cold beers! Can't wait to stay here again in the summer and winter. I would go back to Fernie over another mountain destination just to stay at Blackstone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
2.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Birch Meadows Lodge B&B
Birch Meadows Lodge B&B
#3 of 11 in Fernie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Lodge

Property: Blackstone Lodge
Address: 7 Cedar Bowl Pl, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury Bed and Breakfast. A large log home located in a quiet part of Fernie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Blackstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing