We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop on our way to the coast.”
Review of Super 8 Fernie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Fernie
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Just passing through Fernie and stopped at this motel. The room was nice and spacious. Very clean. Good serice at the front desk and very friendly staff. Good breakfast provided with room. Outdoor hottub was nice and clean. Laundry facilities are excellent and products are available. Beware, don't use the sink or flush the toilet while someone is in the shower as they could get scalded.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Fernie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 571 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

Very nice hotel well maintained by friendly helpful staff. We only stayed one night but would have liked to have stayed longer. Rooms were bright, spacious and comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeandTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

The front desk staff were efficient and checked us in and out quickly. The room itself was clean and in good repair. I believe in water conservation too but the shower head was so low flow that it was impossible to rinse all of the shampoo out of my hair. The only other negative I encountered was the free breakfast. They offered a few donuts that appeared to have seen better days, a couple of slices of strudel and some grocery store muffins that they had cut into pieces. It was a free breakfast but in my opinion it was a sad affair and you would be better off getting your own elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

This motel was clean & very accomodating. Smoking outside the motel is allowed also know there are many dry (no alcoholic beverages) counties in Canada, but not this one. This is where I was introduced to Clamato. ACK! never again! The Titan is awsome. A must see!

Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
1  Thank itwasakaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

A much better town than I expected. I will be back for a longer stay.

The hotel was typical Super 8 in design, quality.

Breakfast was bread and colored water called coffee. Toaster was out, it was burning everything placed in it.

Boston Pizza was good for dinner, and it was fun walking around the old townsite.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Stayed in the Super 8 in fernie in January this year as part of a last minute booking - allocation on arrival with a well know ski holiday operator.

If you are looking for basic, budget accomodation, look no further! Its a clean and tidy hotel with good service and located not too far from the mountain - unlike alot of other Canadian resort hotels. You even get complementary coffee, juice, pastries and toast every morning!

The hotel has an outdoor hot-tub, which is very popular at the weekend! On the first Saturday night of our two week stay, we discovered that the local ice hockey team, Fernie Ghostriders were playing at home, and the away side fans stayed at this hotel, and did we know about it! After travelling all day from the UK, we didn't welcome the roudy revellers who were up drinking and shouting in the corridors until 3am Sunday morning. Thank the lord they only stayed that night! That was the only problem we encountered throughout our stay. There is also a locker facility and a coin-operated laundrette facility.

The ski bus from Fernie town to F.A.R stops outside the hotel and is $3 each way for a 10 minute bus ride. The buses are every 30 mins. We bought our lift passes from our tour operator and the ski bus was free.

Accross from the hotel is Domino's pizza and Smitty's- a diner restaurant, open from 7.30am. Does good breakfasts at reasonable prices. There is also a Dairy Queen - burger bar less than 5 mins walk away.

We took a taxi into Fernie every night as there was 6 of us in our group and this cost approx $15 each way, if you want to walk it takes approx 20mins along the highway, but htis isn't recommended at night as there are no footpaths.

After seeing some of the other hotels, especially the base of the mountain hotels, I'm not too sure whether I would stay at this hotel again, but if you're loooking for value for money and not luxury, this is an ideal base.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gillyblue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
356 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
169 reviews
2.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fernie

Address: 2021 3 Hwy S, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#4 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: $91 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Fernie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Super Start Breakfast, awesome hot tub and encloser. A must try!!!Exercise room and meeting room Strong reliable WI-FI though out hotel. Free Guest laundry Machines, Kids under 16 stay free Wyndham Rewards loyalty programSun deck and barbeque area All rooms are 100% NON-SMOKINGSki shuttle Business Center (word processing, printing, faxing, internet)Ski and bike storage Smitty's restaurant, Husky Gas and Dairy Queen on same property Minutes away from Fernie Alpine Resort.10 % Discount for all Super 8 Guests at Dairy Queen.With all these amenities included in all Super 8 Fernie's rates, you'll start your day full and save money at the same time! That's value and convenience, exclusively offered only by Super 8 Fernie. Our business is conveniently situated on the bank of the Elk River on Hwy #3. Guests at our hotel can expect to enjoy a Super start breakfast(R), complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms as well as an awesome large outdoor hot tub, meeting and exercise room. There's even a sun deck with barbeque and a ski locker room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Fernie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fernie Hotel Fernie
Super Eight Fernie
Fernie Super Eight
Fernie Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing