We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Fernie, BC”
Review of Super 8 Fernie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Fernie
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    237
    87
    16
    7
See reviews for
202
164
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CALGARY
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently spent a weekend in Fernie and opted to stay at the Super 8. Most of our time was spent out of the hotel (we attended a weekend long wedding) but when we were there, we found the staff to be very accomodating (over and above), the rooms clean, the beds comfotable, and the hotel quiet. Great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank LESLIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi there LESLIE H

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at Fernie Super 8 and for taking the time to review us too.

We were glad to see you found everything to be clean, the beds comfortable and the staff to be doing a good job too.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Fernie Super 8 should you be travelling to Fernie again.

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

With its location at the end of town and really close to the highway, we thought that the Super 8 might be a miserable time. We were very wrong, however. We were lucky enough to get a room on the back, quiet side and had no neighbours, so the night was supremely quiet and restful. Check-in was quick and painless; the girl at the counter friendly and competent, and, all in all, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Breakfast, however, was very minimal, though there were no problems.

Room Tip: For sure, ask for the back side, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riderfan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi there riderfan23

Many thanks for staying with us at Fernie Super 8 and for taking the time to review us too.

We are glad you had a good stay with us and that you were pleasantly surprised by us too!! We strive to maintain a clean and happy atmosphere and we glad you found us to be both.

Our breakfast is a free continental one but I think we offer a good selection with a minimum of 3 types of muffins, waffles, pancakes, pop tarts, english muffins, bagels, 2 types of cereal, yogurt, fruit pots, fresh fruit and boiled eggs as well as juices, 2 types of coffee, tea and hot chocolate - we have all of these out every morning and depending on our occupancy put out larger volumes of each as necessary.

I will also pass on your comments to our Front Desk staff as its always nice to hear that they are doing a good job.

Again, thanks for the review, we look forward to welcoming you to Fernie Super 8 on your next trip to Fernie

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at the Super 8 In Fernie while skiing for a week.
The hotel is average at best. I didn't find the staff friendly or accommodating.
While on a ski vacation, I look for a place with a good hot tub. Unfortunate the hot tub was not working the entire week.
The complementarity breakfast is toast, cereal and the odd piece of fruit. They were out of peanut butter the entire week and ever time I asked when they were getting a resupply they made some excuse. I drive to the store and bought a small jar of peanut butter (which I am sure they could have done).
On the positive side, the hotel is good value for a ski town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stantheman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi there stantheman99

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us at Fernie Super 8

We were glad to see that you found us to be good value for Fernie. Unfortunately just prior to your stay we had a part break on our hot-tub which we had to specially order from Vancouver and then when it arrived await a repair man to fit the part as it wasn't something we could do ourselves - please accept our sincere apologies.

Our Peanut Butter order was placed in what would normally be plenty of time but our supplier was also sold out - Fernie being a small town a few hours from major cities does have the odd issue with getting deliveries in a timely manor - we could have brought a jar but within a days use the jar looks grubby and full of crumbs which guests then are not happy with.

We hope to welcome you back to Super 8 Fernie soon - please call me directly on 250-423-6788 should you be coming into town and I will personally handle your booking.

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

stayed one night -rooms clean quiet and comfortable. I particularly liked the fact that notices throughout requested consideration for other guests. It shouldnt need to be said but often does, and its nice to see someone prepared to demand courtesy from their guests. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamSpongeCustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi there JamSpongeCustard

Many thanks for staying with us at Fernie Super 8 and for taking the time to review us.

We were glad you found our rooms clean and quiet - we pride ourselves on cleanliness and we appreciate that you liked our quiet policy - we understand that each guest deserves a good nights sleep.

We thank you again and hope to welcome you again to Fernie Super 8 should you ever be travelling our way whilst visiting Canada again

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager

p.s your tripadvisor name is now making me hungry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
310 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
162 reviews
2.4 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fernie

Property: Super 8 Fernie
Address: 2021 3 Hwy S, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#4 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Fernie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Super Start Breakfast, awesome hot tub and encloser. A must try!!!Exercise room and meeting room Strong reliable WI-FI though out hotel. Free Guest laundry Machines, Kids under 16 stay free Wyndham Rewards loyalty programSun deck and barbeque area All rooms are 100% NON-SMOKINGSki shuttle Business Center (word processing, printing, faxing, internet)Ski and bike storage Smitty's restaurant, Husky Gas and Dairy Queen on same property Minutes away from Fernie Alpine Resort.10 % Discount for all Super 8 Guests at Dairy Queen.With all these amenities included in all Super 8 Fernie's rates, you'll start your day full and save money at the same time! That's value and convenience, exclusively offered only by Super 8 Fernie. Our business is conveniently situated on the bank of the Elk River on Hwy #3. Guests at our hotel can expect to enjoy a Super start breakfast(R), complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms as well as an awesome large outdoor hot tub, meeting and exercise room. There's even a sun deck with barbeque and a ski locker room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Fernie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fernie Hotel Fernie
Super Eight Fernie
Fernie Super Eight
Fernie Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing