We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD MOTEL TO STAY IN FERNIE BC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Fernie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Fernie
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
edmonton ab
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GOOD MOTEL TO STAY IN FERNIE BC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The motel was clean well kept the clerk was friendly, the only problem no food place to eat

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywander04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hi HappyWander04

Many thanks for staying with us at the Fernie Super 8 and also for taking the time to review us. We were glad to see you found your room clean and the staff friendly. Its unfortunate the the Smitty's next door close at 5pm, I hope you found another restaurant in town that worked for you as they are all just a 2-3 minute drive from the Fernie Super 8.

We look forward to welcoming you again should you be coming through Fernie
Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    227
    83
    16
    6
See reviews for
197
153
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We picked this hotel because of all the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we walked in we were greated at the front desk. We asked for a quiet room as we have a baby and they gave us a room on the top floor at the end of the hall which was greatly appreciated. The room was very clean. We didn't have the free breakfast the next morning but I noticed staff cleaning the tables and keeping the area nice and tidy. When we go through Fernie again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadian Travel Bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi Canadian Travel Bugs

Thank your for staying with us at Fernie Super 8 and for taking the time to review us. We were glad you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Super 8 Hotel next time you are visiting Fernie

Kind regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had our two small mutts and got a really nice room with new everything. Lobby was new and service was terrific, breakfast very good, clean and well stocked. I would definitely come back here on our trips through southern BC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hi there PJDM

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us at Fernie Super 8.

We were glad that you found everything as it should be and look forward to welcoming you and your dogs on your next trip through Fernie

Kind regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were attracted to the Super8 in Fernie by the reviews on Tripadvisor and the low prices. We were overawed by the standards of service and cleanliness. This hotel is spotless, both in public areas and rooms. The price we paid was outstanding for the area.

The breakfast was basic,but adequate and tasty; great coffee. Food items and coffee were replenished as soon as they were out.

The staff could stop be more polite and attentive. The lady on the front desk rushed to serve me as soon as I rang the bell. She heard it, even though she was outside, under the awning.

The property appears to have undergone a recent renovation. Beds were very comfortable, with pillow top mattresses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snorrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi Snorrer,

Many thanks for your review of us, Fernie Super 8. We were glad to see you had a good stay with us and appreciated the cleanliness that we endevour to maintain throughout the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Super 8 on your next trip to Fernie

Regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba CANADA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This Super 8 location is reasonably priced, adequate and clean, air conditioner works. However, make sure you get to the breakfast area early or you too will be disappointed. No eggs, no oatmeal, no yogurt, no wheat bread, no orange juice, and now no plates either. Apparently the desk clerk is 'trying to get some out'. People are ringing the bell at the front desk for assistance...I guess she's in the back washing dishes. Your breakfast choice at 9am (breakfast is 6-10) is: cereal (one of the two varieties is almost gone), apples, oranges, white bread, assorted generic muffins, bagels, pop tarts and pre-made eggo-type pancakes you put in the toaster to warm. There's still a bit of red juice (?) but you'd best hurry! I'm eyeing the Smitty's restaurant next door...
Also, Girls: bring your own hair dryers! The one in my room is hot but barely blows...husband is watching his watch because I'm taking so long...
Stay here for the price but keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drakemallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi there drakemallard

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Super 8 Fernie. We strive to make every guest experience a pleasurable one and are disappointed to hear that you didn't have a good experience of our breakfast. I was glad to see that you found our hotel to be reasonably priced & clean.

Please call me directly should you be coming into Fernie again and I will personally handle your booking.

Regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the Fernie Super 8 for the last night of a 10 day road trip. This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in on our trip. The rooms were clean, quiet & comfortable. Great value for money, the staff were friendly & efficient. My only complaint would be the juice at breakfast. It wasn't fresh juice, it was more like a cordial. That didn't ruin our stay & I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. We will return for sure!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Hi Louise L,

Many thanks for your review of us at the Fernie Super 8. We were glad you had a comfortable, quiet stay. I'll certainly look into the possibility of changing to juice for our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Fernie Super 8 on your next trip our way.

Kind regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is one of the best hotels we stayed in on our 4 week trip out west and up north to Canada. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and extremely comfy. The hotel was 100% smokefree and that was a great perk! The lobbies were quiet and recently updated. We don't stay in 4 star hotels, we look for clean and comfy and reasonably priced--this more than met our expectations. The laundry facilities were very clean and the dryer actually dried for 45 mintues! The hotel offered a continental breakfast that had fresh juice, lots of choices for food items. Check this one out if you are ever in Fernie, BC Canada!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi there Holly K,

Many thanks for your review of the Fernie Super 8. We were happy to see that you had a super stay with us. It is our aim that all guests have a great experience & a good nights whilst here.

We look forward to welcoming you again should you be coming to Fernie.
Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#11 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fernie

Property: Super 8 Fernie
Address: 2021 3 Hwy S, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
#4 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Fernie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Super Start Breakfast, awesome hot tub and encloser. A must try!!!Exercise room and meeting room Strong reliable WI-FI though out hotel. Free Guest laundry Machines, Kids under 16 stay free Wyndham Rewards loyalty programSun deck and barbeque area All rooms are 100% NON-SMOKINGSki shuttle Business Center (word processing, printing, faxing, internet)Ski and bike storage Smitty's restaurant, Husky Gas and Dairy Queen on same property Minutes away from Fernie Alpine Resort.10 % Discount for all Super 8 Guests at Dairy Queen.With all these amenities included in all Super 8 Fernie's rates, you'll start your day full and save money at the same time! That's value and convenience, exclusively offered only by Super 8 Fernie. Our business is conveniently situated on the bank of the Elk River on Hwy #3. Guests at our hotel can expect to enjoy a Super start breakfast(R), complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms as well as an awesome large outdoor hot tub, meeting and exercise room. There's even a sun deck with barbeque and a ski locker room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Fernie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fernie Hotel Fernie
Super Eight Fernie
Fernie Super Eight
Fernie Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing