We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Stay in Fernie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The actual hotel was nice with fine amenities, but the absolutely terrible service ruined the experience. For some reason the staff found it necessary to confiscate any drinks by the hot tub every ten minutes - regardless of alcohol or not. This is a mountain hotel where 90% of the guest just spent the day outside skiing or sledding and to restrict any drinks by the hot tub is unbelievable. One of the reasons given was that it was a "family hotel" - although the TV main menu advertises the adult videos available for rent. Also all the TVs are modified so you can't plug your laptop in to watch videos or pictures from the hill.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregzx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 463 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2010

I have always found the Front Desk staff very competent.
Rooms clean and very comfortable for business or leisure
Busy with business travelers and skiers and summer vacationers
Independent restaurant attached, liquor store across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WML57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

This Best Western is just the second one we have stayed in, but like the first (in Hood River, OR) this one was very beautifully built and decorated. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in some time, and that's saying a lot with the sensitive back that I have. We were on the 3rd floor in the front of the building, and the highway noise didn't bother us at all up there. The AC unit was quiet enough that it did not bother our sleep, but yet muffled the outside traffic noise.
One thing that I've noticed with both our Best Western stays is the air-quality in the rooms. Most of the other motels we've stayed in have noisy ceiling-exhaust fans in the bathrooms, but Best Western has a circulating air system that takes out all excess moisture generated in the shower and you don't hear a thing or even know the system is operating. Air in the western USA and Canada can sometimes become very dry in motels. So much so that you often wake up in the middle of the night with your mouth so dried out that you can hardly open it. This air circulating system must add just the correct amount of humidity to the air, because in this hotel I did not seem to have that problem when I awoke during the night. The one negative thing about this motel is that there is no complementary breakfast served. Thanks for a great stay Best Western.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdahoCamerabuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This hotel is worthy of the high praises from the previous reviews. Not only it's located in beautiful Fernie, British Columbia in the Canadian Rockies, it's fits the mountain theme. You see it in the hotel lobby with the fireplace and the architecture. I stayed in the standard king suite with a single bed, and an electric fireplace which is a first for my hotel stay. This is a standard room, but this hotel features many themed rooms. I would consider staying in the Canadian Wilderness room for a future stay in Fernie. It's a matter of when, not if I return to Fernie and the Best Western. It's location is centralized, and within walking distance to everything. Near the Ghost Rider shopping centre, and downtown where you see the Victoria Avenue shopping strip. I also walked to the James White Park in the Elk River valley, so the location is perfect. It's attached to the Boston Pizza which is great if there's a big game on in the sports bar. I only stayed 2 nights, but it also boasts a massage parlor, pool, fitness centres, and meeting rooms. There's many activities to do in this hotel and around Fernie. Mountain cafe provides a healthy breakfast which you can charge to your room when checking out. It's reasonably priced for the breakfast you get. The only snag that I had with this hotel was access to the high speed internet to my laptop. I had hiccups with that, but it was only a 2 night leisure stay and used my smartphone. Just get that fixed, and this hotel is a perfect 10 for a 3 star stay. I mostly stay in 2 star hotels off the highway, but the few extra dollars I spend here makes the upgrade worth while in this town. If you enjoy getting away in the mountains, this hotel compliments it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I frequent this hotel a lot and my experience has always been positive; friendly helpful staff, quiet rooms and pet friendly (if you book ahead); the breakfast area offers limited choices but is sufficient for my purposes, fast and always friendly; the hotel's gym is small but clean

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Datschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stayed one night at this hotel. Free parking. Small swimming pool. Choice of indoor and outdoor hot tubs. Quiet when room faces the back road. Down comforters. Very clean and new looking even though 10 years old.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slowdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Despite the seemingly high room rate this hotel was well kept. The lobby was warm and inviting with a fireplace. I was greeted promptly by the evening manager and checked in. My room was comfortable and clean though I could hear my neighbors. I visited the Boston Pizza that was attached to the hotel for a late dinner and the service and quality was good there as well. The scenery surrounding the hotel is picturesque and there are many services conveniently close by.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RecessTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge

Address: 1622 7th Avenue | PO Box 2680, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#1 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: $143 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fernie Mountain Hotel Fernie
Fernie Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing