We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anotehr good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a few previous ski vacations. The hotel is clean, comfortable and has a good complimentary breakfast. The hotel does not offer any special service or amenities over any other similar Best Western but it is a step above most other hotels in Fernie. As I stayed here over the New Year period (4 night) it was certainly more expensive than their normal rate.
There is a pool and indoor and outdoor hot tub that are well maintained and the temperature of the hot tub is perfect.
There is a liquor store across the parking lot and it is close to a grocery store and has a Boston Pizza attached. We ate at the Boston Pizza one night and that was a mistake.
Most other restaurants are walkable but can take as much as 20 minutes.
I will stay at this hotel again on future ski trips, just wish it was a little more economical.
The only gripe we had was our room backed to the elevator and it was very noisy. We asked to move but this was never accommodated.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the room backing the elevator as it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hearing that we are a step above the other hotels is very rewarding to hear. We are thrilled that you continue to be a loyal guest. I apologize we weren’t able to move you rooms. Please let us know about your room preference at check in and we’ll be sure to accommodate you when you stay with us next time.
Sincerely,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 470 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and were very pleased. On the rooms, there is not much to add to the other reviews except to say that the standard rooms are contemporarily decorated, not in the slightly old-school looking style that some of the photos suggest (I think these are some of the suites rather than the standard rooms).

If you are thinking anything like we were when we tentatively booked our room, you will have been attracted by the solid reviews, the reliable brand and the up to date looking facilities, but you may be put off by the seemingly remote location away at the end of town. Don't be put off by the location. If you like a location within walking distance to some bars and restaurants then don't worry. It isn't close but it is a pleasant 20 min stretch of the legs into the centre of town. We walked there and back every night of our stay.

There is nothing else to say other than the hot breakfast was better than expected with more selection than the usual grab and go affair that seems to be the trend in this style of hotel.

It is definitely one of the better Best Western hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve_randomno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us in Fernie. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with the staff and your room.Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

All was well except for the Hot Breakfast lack of natural selection and selection of eggs poor. For the room price of 238.04 taxes included should have been better food and selection or lower the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Drrolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your breakfast. Our free hot breakfast every morning tends to be one our guests’ favorite amenities. Our rates are compared to the local market regularly to ensure you are getting the best bang for your buck. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you’ll come again.
Respectfully,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Got a free stay through Best Western rewards program so we chose to check out this hotel. We were on a romantic weekend trip and was it ever a pleasant surprise start to trip. From the excellent greeting at front desk, the well decorated lobby, the beautiful room (with fireplace), outdoor hot tub to the excellent breakfast it just couldn't have been any better. Thanks Fernie BW.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

“Wow” is exactly what we want our guests to say when they leave our hotel! Thank you sharing your experience and for letting us make your romantic getaway special. We look forward to your next visit!
Best wishes,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fernie is a small town anyway so how far would you have to go to get anywhere. It was priced quite High but it is getting to ski season. I could walk right there to Boston Pizza because it was attached to the hotel. you can charge your meal. The lady at the desk gave me a goody bag because I am a diamond member. Unexpected treat. The morning breakfast was a super spread. Nothing sensational but the hotel is clean and clearly a vacation place. I stayed on October 16, 2013. It has a pool area which is kind of weird because it looks out to the lobby and people standing at the elevator stare at you while you are there. weird

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Glad you enjoyed the goody bag! We know that it’s the little things that make your stay enjoyable. You can always count on a clean room and great amenities when you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll stay with us again.
Many thanks,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely modern hotel. Squeaky clean well appointed room. The bed was excellent to sleep on. The shower was a bit of a disappointment but there was little else to find that was negative. Breakfast was quite good for being served cafeteria style. The breakfast was included and when they say full breakfast it definitely was. The breakfast attendant/waitress was excellent. She was personable, energetic and efficient. This a a newer modern hotel with what appears to be good management and well trained staff. Another great addition to the hotel is a Boston Pizza attached. We ate there in an another overnight stay a year or two ago. It was excellent.This hotel is worth a visit and at least an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Book early for best selection. King side bed comes with Jacuzzi in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhstocks188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Glad we could impress you for the second time! We take pride in not only our delicious breakfast and clean rooms, but our excellent staff. Our team works extra hard to make your stay special. I will be sure to pass on your compliments during our next training meeting. Thank you for staying with us!
Respectfully,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Prices are over the top in comparison to what is available in a small and average tourist town. Fernie is not "all that". Beds and bedding nice. Breakfast closes to early for the perk to be included in the room price. Nothing Wow. Front Desk associates need more customer service training. Welcome was non existent.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyjudyjudy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We’re sorry some things fell short of your expectations during your stay. Our staff is trained regularly to make sure every guest feels welcomed and taken care of. I will bring your experience to their attention during our next meeting, and hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us otherwise. Thank you for your feedback.
Respectfully,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge

Address: 1622 7th Avenue | PO Box 2680, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#1 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: $143 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fernie Mountain Hotel Fernie
Fernie Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing