We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in Fernie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spend a week here every year with a couple fishing buddies. Very nice rooms. Clean, large. Free wireless that's fairly fast, laundry facilities ($2 wash, $2 dry). Nice touch was they gave us free soap and bounce sheets at the front desk. As a "plus" version of Best Western, it was a little spendy. It's at the far edge of town, which is no real problem since the whole town takes about 3 minutes to drive across. Fernie is a beautiful town, and not many hotels have this great a view from the front step. Get a north facing, upper story room if you can. My one gripe about the hotel is the breakfast, which is included with the room. It's a buffet style with eggs, bacon, potatoes, etc, all of which tasted like they'd been in the pan too long. Fernie in general needs some better breakfast options. Best one we found was Smittys. Pool and hot tub are very nice. They also have a complete spa with massages, etc, but I've never used it. The attached restaurant is Boston Pizza, which had good food and great service.

Room Tip: North facing, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thanks for the outstanding review! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It makes us happy to hear you liked our rooms, amenities and breakfast. Thanks for telling us about it here and we look forward to having you again soon!
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 479 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Greeted very warmly and professionally upon arrival by the front desk staff.

Newer hotel, yet charming. Excellent amenities. Extremely comfortable beds.

Free hot breakfast was fantastic!

Only downside was people smoking directly outside the front door of the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again when back in Fernie.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpfischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Driving into Fernie is beautiful. It's a quaint Alpine town with lots of character. The hotel fits right in. It was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our trip to Canada. The staff is excellent very polite and friendly. I didn't see any dirty areas the hotel was spotless from the lobby breakfast area to our room. The breakfast was great. Waffles, pancakes and french toast.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank mdelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we knew what to expect. The location is great..near a Tim Horton's, McDonald's and even a liquor store. A Boston Pizza is also attached to the hotel which serves your basic pizza restaurant fare.
The bed is one of the more comfortable ones we encountered on our 2 week holiday thru the States and Canada. Very clean modern hotel and the wifi worked great. A hot breakfast was included in the price. However, this was the most expensive Best Western we would stay in for the next 10 days...and it was in Fernie! Didn't expect that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed in a "Scandanavin Suite". Lots of room, though the decor doesn't remind me of what I saw in Sweden or Denmark. No big deal. Though for almost $250 a noght it was not cheap. Great pool and hot tubs.

The location in central Fernie is nice. I found it loud thought. Between the single pane glass and throught-the-wall a/c units, although we were not on the highway side, trains are loud and horn through every crossing in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We hope you enjoyed your stay in the Scandinavian Suite and are glad to hear you enjoyed our location and pool/hot tub. Our location is one of the things guests enjoy the most about our hotel, among all our many amenities, so we’re glad you enjoyed it as well! We apologize for any noise you experienced. We are looking at any improvements we can make for our guests to be even more comfortable while staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit.
Sincerely,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fernie was our last stop on our way home after a long holiday. 10 days of driving across alberta and saskatchewan had taken its toll and we decided to stop for the night in Fernie. The hotel was the best we had stayed at during our vacation. Nice clean room, comfortable beds, and the hot breakfast was great! One word of advice though, don't order your dinner from the Boston Pizza thats attached to the hotel. Our meal was absolutely terrible!! We called from our room, and were told that it would take an hour and a half to have our meal delivered to our room!! We decided to walk down and pick up our food, which saved us 45 minutes of wait time. I would strongly advise looking elsewhere to find something to eat, I won't be eating at that place again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My daughter, grandson and I stopped on our way through to Nelson, BC and were very pleasantly surprised. Excellent breakfast was included and the pool was great after a long day's drive. the staff ere friendly and the location was good.I would highly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enseul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
3.6 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
390 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge

Address: 1622 7th Avenue | PO Box 2680, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fernie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: $146 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fernie Mountain Hotel Fernie
Fernie Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing