We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birch Meadows Lodge B&B
Ranked #3 of 11 Fernie B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay ...”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Beautiful clean comfortable cabins, delicious breakfasts, peaceful scenic location, friendly accommodating hosts, sled dogs on site ... adds up to wonderful vacation spot. I will be back ...

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This place is located about a 10 minute drive outside of Fernie in a beautiful mountain meadow. It has two detached cabins and three rooms inside the main lodge. I stayed in the largest room in the main lodge -- the room has a queen bed, an ensuite bathroom (the only room in the main lodge with an ensuite) and a small private deck overlooking the mountains. The room I stayed in was absolutely lovely: spacious, spotless, full of light and nicely decorated. The hosts are very friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

A truly wonderful B& B. A fantastic location and Sonya is a really great hostess. The breakfasts were wonderful and we loved meeting your gentle dogs. We will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerlilythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Our family spent a most enjoyable week at this wonderful bed & breakfast. We stayed in one of four log chalet suites which are a 30 second walk from the main lodge. Our chalet was perfectly suited to our needs with a separate bedroom (with a very comfortable queen bed), main room with gas "wood" stove, couch (hide-a-bed), arm chair, small TV with VCR, mini fridge, microwave and dishes. Our chalet as well as the main lodge facilities were immaculately maintained and absolutely spotless.
Our hosts, Sonya and Marcel, were most gracious and made us feel very much at home. Sonya prepared excellent breakfasts including granola, yogurt, fresh fruits, cold meats, cheeses, and a variety of breads followed up with a delicious entree. We sampled omelets, eggs with back bacon, eggs Benedict, crepes, and more, during our stay. Beverages included orange juice and excellent coffee, cafe au lait, or espresso.
The B&B is nestled at the base of mountains on 58 private acres a short drive south of Fernie. The grounds were snow covered during our stay, but we plan to return this summer to enjoy the large flower covered meadow.
We strongly recommend this B&B for couples or small families looking to get away for some tranquility, enjoy the mountain beauty and relaxation.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, scenery, food, friendly hosts
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BT_Shutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2007

We had a wonderful Xmas at Birch Meadows! The surroundings are magical, the breakfasts were delicious, and the hospitality abounds.

Life could not have been better with great people, the peaceful call of nature (58 acres of it), and the prestine setting at Birch Meadows.

Santa could not have brought us anything to make it more perfect. We love the Birch Meadow hosts Sonya and Marcel! Thanks for everything!

  • Liked — The setting, the clean rooms, and the wonderful hosts!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

This is an OUTSTANDING B&B, and an excellent value. We booked a log chalet at $120 CDN. It had a living room with fireplace, microwave and small fridge (and TV that plays only tapes - no broadcast TV), and a bedroom with queen bed. The chalets are very new, clean airy and beautiful. Out your front window is a grand mountain view. In the main house is a living room open to guests, but we never used it. Breakfast is great -- eggs, good coffee and assortment of cereals & bread. The manager, Sonya, is very pleasant and helpful. It is about 10 minutes from downtown Fernie. This is one of the best B&Bs we've stayed in, and probably #1 in value.

  • Liked — spacious suite at bargain price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Foodiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2006

The B&B is a gorgeous 10 minute drive along the Elk River south of town and perhaps a 1/4 mile drive off the highway and up a faily steep incline. It feels like you are a million miles from everywhere else in your own comfortable mountain getaway. The two duplex log cabins face onto a flower strewn meadow (in July) with spectacular mountain peaks beyond. The ski resort is between the B&B and Fernie, as is Island Lake Lodge and the old growth Cedar forest on the road leading to that lodge.
We stayed in one of the cabins which had a comfortable living room, bedroom with queen bed, and bath with tub/shower. In the living room there is a cabinet with a small fridge and microwave along with a basket of coffee, tea and popcorn, as well as dishes glasses and flatware.
Breakfast is served in a large country kitchen and consisted of a buffet of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, and a selection of breads. Sonya, the friendly, helpful owner, cooks hot dishes to order. One day we had delicious omelets, another blueberry pancakes, and another French toast. Plus Sonya will prepare an excellent espresso for you on her commercial machine.
Guests are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare meals if they wish, Beyond the kitchen is a large living room, and off that a gazebo, all for the enjoyment of guests. We did not see the lodge rooms, so I cannot comment on them.
Everything about the B&B is immaculate, reflecting the Swiss background of Sonya and Marcel, her husband.
Birch Meadows is the perfect place to soak up the experience of the unbelieveably spectacular scenery of the Canadian Rockies.

  • Liked — Spectacular scenery
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.4 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fernie Stanford Resort
Fernie Stanford Resort
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Meadows Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Meadows Lodge B&B

Property: Birch Meadows Lodge B&B
Address: 4485 3 Hwy S, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Birch Meadows Lodge B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Birch Meadows Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing