We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4-50-TD trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast

Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Fernie B&B and Inns
Wheatland, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4-50-TD trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a wonderful place with great hosts. They were welcoming and accomidating. They were fun to visit with. The Inn is fantastic, the rooms are beautiful. It was fun to look at all the antiques. Breakfast was delicious. It was a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

For a Londoner, this is how I imagined the quintessential small town Canadian town house to look like - a beautiful wooden-clad, wraparound decked house with loads of character. In fact, it is so picturesque that Disney chose it as a key location for a film.

The rooms are spacious, the lounge is perfect for watching films on the large TV and the BBQ on the deck is perfect for a relaxing afternoon in the sun.

I had a thoroughly great time here- so much so, that I hope one day to return to Fernie and to stay here. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just stayed with a friend over the christmas break. The owners we very accommodating with our late (10:00 pm) arrival schedule. They were willing to make herbal tea late at night as requested. Breakfast was at 8:00 am and was very good both days, although I prefer eating earlier to get to the hill earlier. The other guests had requested an 8:00 breakfast so that's when we all ate.

Overall the house, cleanliness, and quality were very good and made for a very enjoyable stay. Next time I would stay in one of the individual rooms as I don't like to make a bunch of noise when I use the washroom at night. The family suite (two rooms at the end of the hall that have access to the main bath) requires you to put some clothes on and exit your room to use the facility.

A very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Family suite is good for groups of 3-4 people with two of them being a couple. The other rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronP929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and son had stayed at The Old Nurses Residence 12 years ago when they visited Fernie on a ski trip and my husband wanted to return as they had really enjoyed Patrick and Jo Ann's hospitality. I was definitely not disappointed, the 'Buttercup' room was gorgeous, the residence was superbly decorated and the breakfast was sumptuous. Our hosts were great company and happy to give us heaps of advice on what to do in the area. This is a beautiful 'home away from home' and we would recommend staying in this wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Well appointed and a typically very comfortable guest house....

Check out the size of the bath rooms, before signing.

The location is wonderful, two block walk to the picnic restaurant.

The true test - yes I would go back.

.....an if you want to watch TV, there are none in the rooms and the one in the lounge is poor....this did not concern me, but to some it matters

Room Tip: Check out the size of the bath rooms, before signing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

The owners have done a wonderful job on this classic old residence. The house is decorated with at wide variety of lovely antiques. The owners certainly know how to tie all the pieces together. Patrick and Jo Ann are sincerely warm hosts- very welcoming and treating us truly as if we were special guests in their home. Wonderful bed (I'm really fussy about not having a mushy bed), great breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

The only thing I can say in any way negative is that I like to have a cup of coffee while I'm waiting for breakfast and none was offered until breakfast was served.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We arrived very late at night (1 am), Patrick was waiting up for us, he offered us hot beverages on arrival. The bed was very comfortable, in a charming room filled with antique furniture. Shower and WC were compact and bijou - but more than adequate for a building of this age. Breakfast was a family affair, we ate with Patrick and Jo-Anne and they also invited our son and his girlfriend to join us for breakfast. Patrick directed us to places of scenic beauty.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ice-hockey-fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Raging Elk Adventure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Nurses Residence Bed and Breakfast
Address: 802 4th Avenue, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing