We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Griz Inn Sport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Griz Inn Sport
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at the Griz over the Christmas break. The location is excellent, right at the base of the lifts and the ski shop in the basement made renting very convenient. The ski shop staff really took their time to make sure the boots would be a good fit. Desk staff and general staff were also very friendly and helpful. I also enjoyed the pool and hot tub with my grandson.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzq60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grizinn, General Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Suzq60

Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding our facilities and staff. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas Break at the Griz Inn. We look forward to being of service to you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Whilst it is by no means the newest accommodation on the hill the Griz offers great value and great location. Genuine ski in, ski out withouit a major price tag. The rooms are comforatble and well appointed. The ski shop in the basement is great - the guys know there stuff especially when it comes to boot fitting.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grizinn, General Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Litigate:

We appreciate that you have taken the time to state your feelings in regards to the Griz Inn. We truly do have one of the best ski-in, ski-out locations with the best value on the Mountain. We will be sure to advise the Ski Shop staff of your kind words.

We hope that we may be of service to you and your friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

The room/suite we chose was more that adaquate for our needs for 4 people. It gave us plenty of room to stretch out and for large travel bags.
The room could sleep more than double our number, easily.
Management was very accommodating and friendly. They did not bother us.

Room Tip: The suite was quite functional, fully outfitted for a kitchen. If there were anything that was missi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grizinn, General Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Roland P

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Griz Inn and we thank you for
submitting your review. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

You can't beat the griz. We've stayed at the griz approx 12 times in the past 8 years. It is no big deal walking a very short distance to get our lift tickets. The ski rental in the basement is excellent and the guys there really know their stuff. Literally a few steps out the front door and you put your skis on---- a few strides later you are at Elk Chair. Nice pool. 2 hot tubs are outside. The rooms come in all sizes and decor as many are privately owned it seems so there are some better decorated than others. Would not stay anywhere else as the other on hill hotels are much more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahwinter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grizinn, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear sarahwinter_11

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the location and facilities of the Griz Inn. We are very glad to see that you are a return visitor as repeat business is what our guest services team strives to achieve. We are very happy to see that you would recommend our Lodge and we look forward to your continued visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Right on the hill, ski up to the door, fantastic! Staff was very friendly, had a great time. Pool, hot tub, even a photo gallery! Highly recommend the Griz!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grizinn, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear lirvine

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Griz Inn. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and for taking the time to review our facilities.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We've stayed there for many years and always enjoy coming back to see our Fernie friends and for the awesome Fernie snow.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saganski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grizinn, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear Saganski

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Griz Inn. We are always thrilled when a repeat visitor gives us a review. We will share your words with our staff and look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Our family just finished a great spring ski trip to Fernie. We had originally planned to stay in town but the hotel we stayed in last time was full and they recommended their other property they run up at the ski area. The Griz Inn was offering a spring special rate so it wasn’t that much more money to book plus we thoght the kids would enjoy staying right at the ski hill. We stayed in a one bedroom unit which also had a loft. The unit was a bit older but it was clean, the beds were quite comfortable and having a full kitchen was a nice bonus. The highlight for the kids was the pool and being able to ski right to the hotel. The highlight for us parents was not having to use our car for four days! We literally parked the SUV behind the hotel, unloaded our gear into the room and forgot about it. Skiing was right out the door and we walked to get our tickets, ski rentals as well as a few meals up on the mountain. We also used the shuttle bus to go into town for shopping as well as a movie and dinner one night. Overall, we were quite pleased with the Griz Inn, the staff were very friendly, the room was comfortable, the restaurant was quite good (try the Goulash), and the guy in the ski shop downstairs (Brian?) sold me the first pair of ski boots that didn’t hurt my feet. Although we didn’t ski any famous Fernie powder, the sun was out the whole time and conditions on the mountain were great.. Still our favourite ski area!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grizinn, manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review the Griz Inn. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our amenities and we have advised both the Restaurant and Ski Shop of your comments.

We are happy to note that you would recommend the Griz Inn and we look forward to being of service to you and your family on your next Fernie Vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.1 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#12 of 22 in Fernie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.4 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griz Inn Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griz Inn Sport

Property: Griz Inn Sport
Address: 5369 Fernie Ski Hill Rd, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Griz Inn Sport 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Griz Inn is your family's first choice for quality accommodations on the mountain at Fernie Alpine Resort. The facility offers a full range of lodging options ranging from comfortable hotel rooms to fully equipped one-to-three bedroom suites, including loft units. Amenities include the Corner Pocket Restaurant, Top Shelf Bootfitters & Rentals (winter), indoor pool & outdoor whirlpools. The Griz Inn also offers a ski-in/ski-out location in the center of the ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griz Inn Sport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griz Hotel Sport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing