We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, grumpy rude staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Toque Diner

Blue Toque Diner
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Good eats and a cup of joe. Established in 2000. World flavours, fusion and cross-cultural cuisine for the omnivore, plant-based, vegan, vegetarian or eco-conscious diner.
Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent food, grumpy rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

As a local Fernie girl, I've been to the blue toque many times. It's unfortunate to see their manners slowly decline. I was shocked to see that they refused to let people sit in their dining room on a rather cold morning, claiming it will be open in an hour. What's the difference? Other then you prevent people from having to grab blankets out of their vehicles in order to withstand the temperatures outside. On this particular visit, our food was good but luke warm... After waiting in the cold I was lookin forward to eating something hot. I later asked and was given a to-go cup for my unfinished drink. I went back two days later and was greeted with a frown and an extremely rude waitress. I asked for a coffee to-go as I was merely dropping off a group and she said 'we don't do that.' I told her they did two days ago so she went back to who I assume was the manager. The woman made an awful face when the waitress said what I had asked. She referred us to another coffee shop that is regularly closed that day. We left after receiving nothing but grumpy unhappy interactions. It's sad to see a great restaurant turn sour with the employees and managers attitude. Businesses in Fernie need to remember they are in a small town, and people in small towns remember your face and attitude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebabyFernie, Owner at Blue Toque Diner, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I have responded to this reviewer personally.

Please refer to scjt309's review to better understand our seating policy.

Thanks for reading my response

Tanya Carre owner/operator The Blue Toque Diner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fruitvale BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

unique setting, we had the stuffed French toast, my husband just couldn't get enough, mmmm...
I had a good old fashions sausage and (perfectly poached)eggs, farm fresh eggs, locally made breakfast sausage,mmm. Not overwhelming amount of food on your plate, and the Waitress was very pleasant and efficient..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coopdepoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Blue Toque has amazing food and great staff-sadly the manager has no manners and for that reason I will not be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Lunch at Blue Toque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ate lunch with my wife and two boys on the veranda of the the old Fernie train station, now known as the Blue Toque restaurant. My lamb burger was juicy and delicious, the fresh fruit salad was awesome. My eldest son had a turkey quesadilla prepared special for him and he loved it. My wife and 9 year old split a back bacon BLT and strawberry spinach salad. The portions were large, and we all enjoyed our meals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dslower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food was fine, but nothing to write home about.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The setting of the restaurant is unique and the waitress was excellent. The dishes that we ordered were just average, though. We had high expectations, based on other reviews, but were unimpressed. Next time we will try somewhere else.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Toque Diner also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Blue Toque Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing