We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Toque Diner

Blue Toque Diner
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Good eats and a cup of joe. Established in 2000. World flavours, fusion and cross-cultural cuisine for the omnivore, plant-based, vegan, vegetarian or eco-conscious diner.
Fernie
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Food with a bit of a different twist to it. They make regular restaurant food and put their spin on it. Gotta try it and you will like it!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimmerFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friendly Staff, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Family friendly, great selection on the menu-and willing to be flexible in their menu for dietary reasons/portions. Great little spot by the Train Station, inside an art Gallery. WOnderful!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High quality food in a fun setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

When you first walk in, there is a sign that tells you that the food is made fresh, and you might have to wait. With that information, we were prepared to wait the 30 mins, but our food arrived approximately 15 mins later. And well worth the (short) wait it was! My "Holy Goat" omelette was so good. Light and fluffy with just enough goat cheese, as not to overpower, and seasoned perfectly. The fresh fruit was super fresh and generous. My hubby`s eggs were cooked as ordered (softed poached) on his benidict dish and his potatoes were beautifully golden. We also took an egg sandwich to go, and the seasonings and bread combo were delish!
The Blue Toque Diner will definately be a stop for us whenever we are in Fernie.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MonicaH222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a gem. Small, cozy diner sharing space with an art gallery in the old train station. An eclectic menu and great, friendly service. The French toast with peaches and almonds was superb. If you are ever in Fernie, don't miss this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeCaigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

It's clearly run by ski bums (which isn't all bad). On the Saturday morning of Labour Day weekend, they didn't open until about 9:15. We were outside waiting. Ambiance is fun, and although the menu sure sounded good and the food even looked good, the taste was underwhelming. My herb and goat cheese omlette was completly underseasoned, and for all the beautiful herbs and leeks it had zero flavor until I was smacked with a huge dollop of goat cheese right in the center. And it was very over cooked. My husband had a spicy dish and it was almost more spice than he could take - so an interesting juxtaposition for sure! And here was a funny kicker - we wanted to sit outside, but they told us outside seating wouldn't happen until 10:30 - say wha??

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bussess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Toque Diner also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Blue Toque Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing