We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not do it for us” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yamagoya

Yamagoya
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brazil
Level Contributor
1 review
“Did not do it for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had read about this restaurant in an article on Ski magazine, then heard all about it in town. All I can think about is that this place is the only Japanese in Fernie, and thus, there is not much competition or comparison. But that it is "the best Japanese restaurant in Calgary" seems a bit of a stretch, or makes you wonder what you would eat in Calgary... nothing was exceptional, the fish was not superbly tasty, the house roll was not special- various locations in Vancouver were far more impressive than here. It was a GREAT ambience, though, with a busy atmosphere and excellent service. Also, having women prepare the sushis was something we had not yet seen, and we loved witnessing this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    66
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great little sushi restaurant across the street from the hotel. Prices were surprisingly affordable, service good and the Lobster Roll was delicious. Small place so make a reservation if going on a weekend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank riverganges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The very best Japanese restaurant to eat in in Calgary is in Fernie bc.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are not familiar with this cuisiune staff is very helpful love to eat on the deck in the summer and very good if you r alone or would like a really lively meal in the bar. Best ever

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindaandclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I ate here this week and we enjoyed the Unagi, Surf and Turf and gyoza. We had a great meal and then were very grateful when another guest there paid our bill. Very friendly and fun restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank smacg908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

a little gem, well worth the walk. the food was amazing the atmospher great. Can't wait to come back :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuliyHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamagoya also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Yamagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing