We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yeah, not so great”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beijing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yeah, not so great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Reviewed well, but wondered whether people were looking past the new front. Some new touches in the rooms and at the front desk didn't cover the rucked carpet, the side door lock that didn't open easily, the toilet that rocked and lifted on its feet, the mattress with the side that collapsed as you sit on it, the tickly sleep, the feel that it's still an old motel. Seems like these guys are trying, and sorry for being blunt, but I'd choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HinBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello HinBeijing,

Thanks for your feedback. I appreciate a chance to address any concerns identified by our guests. I'll be sure to pass on the issues you've identified to our maintenance department to be rectified immediately. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't live up to your expectations - while we do offer a basic "no-frills" choice in our economy rooms, we have a broad range of other choices, including our well-appointed superior rooms, as well as our suite and king rooms. I like to think we have something for everyone!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    105
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
73
114
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staff were all super friendly. Huge full common shared kitchen would be great for those wanting to cook but not wanting the cost of a condo. Rooms weren't fancy but clean and spacious with large Fridge, TV and small microwave. Free use of bikes, etc. was a surprise. Quality of free continental breakfast was also nice.
Only drawbacks: on site restaurant only open for short winter season but other restaurants are near-by, no elevator to 2nd floor but if you had a major problem they likely would carry them for you?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23chuck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Chuck!

Thanks for your great review! I'm glad you liked all our amenities - the guest kitchen has been a popular addition for some time now but the bikes are a new addition this summer. As you noted we don't have a restaurant currently (I hope to change that soon!) but I was happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. I hope we see you again next time you're in Fernie.

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, OH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Was expecting a little bit more, but it was clean and basic. No frills. There are no elevators, so we had to drag our luggage up the stairs. We left before "breakfast", so I don't know what they serve. There was no one at the front desk when we checked out. Luckily Tim Horton,s is just down the street.

Room Tip: Get on the first floor if you have a large piece of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyHamilton_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Kathy,

Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on your recent visit. As you noted, we don't have an elevator, however with just the two floors we're happy to not have to ask anyone to take the their bags up too many stairs. Our complimentary breakfast snack includes fruit, muffins, yogurt, coffee, and tea, but if our guests would like something more substantial, we'd be happy to point out some great local restaurants. If you visit Fernie again I hope you have a chance to try it out!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Despite of the location (it's right on the highway) this hotel was very quiet. Friendly and helpful staff, clean room. Nothing fancy. Hotel looks pretty old, but it has everything you need. It's close to downtown and shopping. Breakfast is simple (they call it "breakfast snack" and it's correct) - muffins, tea, coffee, yogurt, fruit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maranax77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Maranax77,

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you chose the Red Tree Lodge for you visit to Fernie and that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. We'll look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The lodge needs to be upgraded. The decor needs to be redone,painting of interior needs to be upgraded, rugs were well used, interior and exterior doors had seen a better day, pool was unavailable. Restaurant was closed. Rooms had a fridge and microwave. Beds were comfortable. It was quiet but not sure if that was due to it been a quiet time of the year. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Continential breakfast limited selection, may have been due to the number if guests.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Larry W

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that it sounds like we didn't live up to your expectations. Our pool is currently closed for repairs but we're on schedule to re-open it by the end of the month. The hot tub and sauna will remain open throughout this period as well, along with all our other amenities. Unfortunately our restaurant is currently closed to the public; hopefully a new tenant will be found soon. In the meantime as you noted, we are offering our "breakfast snack" designed to provide fruit, muffins, yogurt, and coffee to start your day. If anyone would prefer something more substantial we would be happy to recommend another of Fernie's excellent restaurants for a full breakfast. I'm glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

2nd stopover driving from business trip in Seatlle over to Alberta, Canada visiting family...very convenient, clean & welcoming. Arriving Sunday late afternoon, info of where to eat that evening was very helpful, just happened to suit us. Shame they used to have an attached restaurant now closed, may open again, as eating places in small ski-resort close same days- espec. Sundays. Breakfast didn't cater for my special dietary needs.

Room Tip: all rooms on one floor & all seemed good. If at the back of the lodge, possible to park round th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Maggie

Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you found us to be clean and welcoming! I hope our restaurant re-opens as well, but until it does we'll be happy to recommend a local eatery to suit. I hope we'll see you again for another visit, and until then I wish you good travels.

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The lobby appearance and staff are very welcoming. The room was large, clean and had nice wood furnishings. The only disappointment was the small 14" TV. With the large room, sitting on the bed to view was very difficult. They have a movie room downstairs, however, we did not use it. The continental breakfast with yogurt, fresh fruit and muffins was plentiful. Very good value.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SJMbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hello SJMbab,

Thanks for your very nice review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests find us to be so welcoming and I hope you'll visit us again. Our return guests qualify for our 10% repeat guest discount, and perhaps you'll try one of our Standard or Superior rooms next time instead of the Economy room, where you'll find a larger TV (as well as other upgraded amenities). Also maybe you'll get a chance to watch a movie next time!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.4 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tree Lodge

Property: Red Tree Lodge
Address: 1101 7th Avenue | PO Box 2294, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
#2 Family Hotel in Fernie
#3 Green Hotel in Fernie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable and friendly family-run Red Tree Lodge is centrally located and has many hostel-like features including a fully equipped guest kitchen, sauna, hot tub, indoor kids pool, 24 seat movie room (free movie rentals), laundry facilities and a games room with pool table, foozeball, poker table and lots more board games. We have a ski tuning room, heated boot room, and ski lock-up for winter guests and a bike storage, bike and boot wash station and BBQ area for summer guests. Free high-speed internet is available throughout the lodge and parking (with winter hook-ups) is also free. All rooms are en-suites and have coffee/tea, mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. Stay & play for discounts on winter and summer packages including rafting, hiking, mountain biking, fly-fishing, golf or cat-skiing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, first tracks or ski lift tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tree Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing